We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“40 th birthday trip!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southernmost Beach Resort

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“40 th birthday trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My husband and I stayed here for my 40 th birthday and we loved it. We read some negative reveiws on here about the rooms and staff which almost caused us not to book, so glad we did anyway. We stayed in room 639 which had a beautiful panoramic veiw of the ocean. The room was clean, modern and the bedding/linens were top noctch. The staff was all very helpful. My only complaint would be that they only had one bartender on staff at the main pool bar and it took a while to get a drink. We did venture across the street at one of the less crowded pools and had the bar almost to ourselves. The bartender there, (John?) was so nice and told us his favorite places to eat. He was right on the money with all his suggestions. They were places we would of probably not have even found without him telling us about them. The beach is small but hey you are in the keys so you cant expect a huge beach, right? This beach actually exceeded what i was expecting. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We are so pleased to read that you had such a wonderful time with us. I would also like to thank you for letting us know that the negative reviews you had read did not deter you from staying with us and ultimately you were so glad you did! It is extremely gratifying to know that your experience at our hotel was so nice you would highly recommend us! Thank you again for taking the time to write such a nice review and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,705
    1,027
    312
    122
    68
See reviews for
1,004
3,140
71
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was my first stay in Key West but it was far from my first stay at fine hotels. From the moment I got my room key to the date of our departure, my entire stay at this hotel was five stars! Frank, the front desk manager helped me with an issue that happened during my booking (Expedia screwed up my rooms) but the management was able to correct the error and made my vacation as relaxing and stress free as possible! After a long. 5 hour road trip, walking into the elegantly appointed room was one of the most memorable aspects our trip. It immediately set the tone for the rest of our vacation. I want to give a big thank you to Frank and the rest of the staff at The Southernmost Hotel, I promise I will be back- specifically because of him and the amazing service I received during my stay! Thank You
Sincerely Dana Lieberman
And Jason Daughrity

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hunterd2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am so glad to read that your stay with us was 5 star! Your kind words regarding Frank are greatly appreciated and will be shared with him and our entire team. We strive to provide exceptional customer service and it's always wonderful to hear when we succeed. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we can't wait to make your next stay with us even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We just returned from a two night stay at Southernmost Hotel on the Beach and I cannot say enough nice things about this resort! We originally booked at Southernmost Hotel but we were pleasantly moved to Southernmost on the Beach. The properties are next to each other and both exceptional in appearance. Our room had a slight ocean view and was amazingly spacious for two adults and two teenagers. It was also very nicely appointed with tons of storage.

The concierge and resort staff were outstanding. They recommended renting bikes on premise and this proved to be a perfect way to get around quickly right from our room. The pool and beachside areas were very nice and there were plenty of chairs, towels, etc... . There are two outside bars and the staff was exceptional at both. The resort fee was worth paying to have such nice amenities.

The resort is at the quiet end of Duval and I would recommend this for families. There are a lot of great restaurants also at this end. We thoroughly enjoyed the Banana Café and Blue Heaven. They weren't as touristy as we would have expected and the staff was great at both!

There is so much to do Key West that my only complaint is that we didn't get to spend enough time at Southernmost on the Beach. Not a bad problem to have:)

Room Tip: Request a balcony with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cincinnatifamily2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Your kind words regarding our staff members are greatly appreciated and will certainly be shared. It is always wonderful to know that our rooms, amenities and location please our guests. We strive to provide exceptional customer service for every guest every day and it is always wonderful to hear when we succeed. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again when you can spend a little more time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Statesboro, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Love this place! We stayed here for a week for our 30th anniversary. I like that it is on the quiet end of Duval street but within walking distance of everything. The staff was always very helpful. It is also one of the few places I found that has beach access. You really don't have to leave the property for anything if you don't want to. they have everything you need right there! I highly recommend Southernmost on the Beach. I will be going back soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginabug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to wrtie a review of our resort. It is so wonderful to know we were able to exceed your expectations for your 30 Anniversary! I am delighted to learn that we were able to provide you with everything you needed. I will make sure to share all of your kind words with the entire team and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights on our first trip to Key West. We really enjoyed it!! They had every amenity you could imagine, but we really didn't use most of them. The hammocks on the ocean were wonderful both during the day and night. The happy hour drinks at the poolside bar were awesome!! Our bartenders were great and it was nice to see the same person daily. We walked everywhere without any issue, but they offered bike rentals on site. There is a small convenience store across the street for anything you might need. I will caution the room rate is a bit high here, especially when the taxes and $25/night fee are added.

Room Tip: We stayed in section B facing the ocean and pool and never had any noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff and the great service they gave you. We strive to provide exceptional customer service for every guest every day and it is always wonderful to hear when we succeed. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

My Wife and I had the pleasure of a week stay here recently having driven down from Miami. We found the location superb, the quiet end of Duval street on the beach. Easy walking distance to all restaurants & the marina (20 mins walk). This hotel offers multiple options for relaxing be it by the pool with daily entertainment and a good atmosphere with a poolside bar, or a quieter location on their tanning pier with access by steps to the sea. We chose the tanning pier daily, it offers ample sunbeds, great views and another quieter bar (The Sands Bar). Food is available throughout the day from their beach restaurant (The Beach Café) this can be ordered at the poolside bar (The Shore's Bar), good selection of very tasty bites. The staff are very friendly and happy to help, especially Kim at The Sands Bar, she's great fun and makes superb cocktails! The rooms are very clean & comfortable, make sure you book a room with a view, be it a private balcony room or one of the lawn view rooms that still has great views across the ocean. Parking is really easy, plenty of spaces and secure. This really is a perfect balance of relaxed, professional & quality service, the location can't be faulted. This is just what you need for a perfect stay in Key West. We wouldn't hesitate to return and highly recommend to anyone seeking a perfect base to enjoy, explore and indulge!

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MR9011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your amazing review! It is simply fantastic to know that you and your wife had such a wonderful time with us! Our goal is to provide each and every guest with an experience which exceeds expectations, and we are delighted to learn that we accomplished this goal during your stay. I will make sure to share all of your kind words with the entire team. Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back the next time you visit Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

Just returned from 6 wonderful days at Southernmost on the Beach. Our daughter was married in a beautiful ceremony on the beach with a fun, delicious reception, catered by the resort, held at the Tranquility pool across the street at the Southernmost Hotel. We had several rooms and lots of out-of-town guests and Southernmost on the Beach made for a perfect event! The concierge was always pleasant and was consistently able to get us transportation and dining reservations for 20-40 people with only 10 minutes notice!! The food at this resort is really great - everything from eggs benedict to chicken nachos to seafood. Dexter and Vitaly at the front desk were exceptionally helpful and Kim at the Sand Bar mixed up some perfect evenings. This resort is at the "quiet" end of Duval Street, very near the southernmost point of the United States monument. It's a good walk to Mallory square, but lots of great shops and pubs along the way. Southernmost on the Beach is a gorgeous, clean, idyllic retreat on Key West and we will definitely return. Perfect wedding venue, also!!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are nice - even the cheapest ones across the street from the ocean. The oceanview...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralFLchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are so happy to read that your daughter’s wedding was perfect! I will be sure to share your glowing review with our Sales Team as they will be so pleased they were able to make your daughter’s special day perfect. Your kind words for Dexter, Vitaly and Kim are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share them. We strive to make certain every guest has the time of their life and we are thrilled we were able to do this for you, your family and guests. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review of our property and we definitely look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,594 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#5 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing