We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
North Buffalo
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The two of us went March 9-14 of this year, and we were blown away by the amenities. This is a very large resort indeed.
The grounds are expansive, well-maintained, with plenty of oceanfront. There is a large pier that extends out in the ocean with several reclining beach chairs and umbrellas; perfect for watching the sunrise with a book and a cup of coffee. The pool is large and very clean, situated right next to the outdoor bar and adjacent to a small public beach. A large cafe (Southermost Beach Cafe) boasts an extensive menu that serves all meals of the day. The food is fresh and very well-prepared, and the bar is bustling at all hours. There is a sand bar, also beachfront, with hammocks and more chairs if one prefers a quieter place to relax. We stayed in a King Bed with a view of the parking lot, which was fine for us, as it wasn't worth the extra expenditure to pay for a (partial or full) ocean-view when there is so much beachfront property to partake of. All rooms have a balcony and the rooms are all smoke-free. Ours was clean, beautiful, and very comfortable. The only inconvenience was having to keep one of your room keys plugged into a special outlet near the main door in order to work the eco-friendly air conditioning unit, but again no complaints. The staff were likewise friendly and accommodating.
This hotel comes strongly recommended. Bear in mind this is a family hotel, so there are always children in and around the pool in the event that one imagines a quiet couples getaway. There is also daily afternoon entertainment around the pool in the form of either live music or games orchestrated by the activities director. (We could have gone without the "games" portion, as the director was determined to drum up participation in whatever game was being played when it was apparent many of the patrons around the pool simply wanted to lounge with a drink rather than be bothered - **sorry**, but their effort was laudable). Granted, room fare is not cheap (and we opted to go Monday through Friday to stave off the weekend rate increases), but you definitely get what you pay for and we enjoyed our stay immensely.

Room Tip: Book well in advance, and avoid paying extra for an ocean-view room. The entire resort is on the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthBuffaloLocavore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are very pleased you had a wonderful time with us enjoying our rooms, pools and our award winning Southernmost Beach Cafe. We strive to provide exceptional customer service for every guest every day and we are very pleased to know we could do this for you. Thank you again for writing your review and we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,967
    1,094
    344
    135
    73
See reviews for
1,098
3,360
86
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
256 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay for a spring break/delayed special anniversary first trip to Key West. The staff was great, especially Dexter at the desk, Anthony as a bellhop, Megan at the bar, and Don in the cafe as our waiter. The hotel provided a nice bottle of champagne to enjoy, which was a special touch. The resort is ideally located on the Atlantic tip of the southern end of the island. We enjoyed the water views (in the West Lawn building); yet the sand on the adjacent public beach does have seaweed & the hotel sand is along a breakwall next to the wonderful tanning pier. It was lovely to be within walking distance of island sights and great restaurants & galleries, yet removed from the hustle/bustle of the nightlife. The Cafe is a great dining option with wonderful views, food, service, and atmosphere. A few negatives for others to consider- we truly appreciated having the Tranquility Pool and Pineapple Pool options at the sister hotel across the street when the live afternoon music and pool games were not our choices and it was sometimes difficult to find chairs poolside. Although we had an ocean view room, the shared balcony seating was not as private for use with neighboring guests. Also the price of this resort was quite steep so while we really enjoyed our stay, we will consider the Southernmost Hotel and other KW hotel options when we return to the island. These couple of factors made it a 'very good', rather than an excellent option for us.

Room Tip: West Lawn building - second floor. We had 612 mid-building location in between the pool & ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kattriprevus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. While we are sorry that your experience with some facilities did not meet your expectations, we are happy that you enjoyed our friendly staff and award winning Southernmost Beach Cafe. We hope you will consider staying with us again so we have another opportunity to make your next visit exceptional. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishopton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We had our 'family honeymoon' for a week in April. Larry checked us in and assigned us a great room in block A - room 650. The balcony was angled towards the sea view and we had sun most of the day and all evening. The facilities were fantastic, and Michael who managed the entertainment was great. Hannah and Megan looked after guests at the pool and they all worked so hard to make our holiday perfect. This truly was one of the best experiences we have had staying at a hotel and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. We used the hotel beach bar for many meals and the food was well priced and of a high standard. To top it off, the hotel provided us with a chilled bottle of champagne on arrival & a lovely congratulations card. Thank you Southernmost for a fab holiday!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaygee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We are so happy that you had such a nice time during your “family honeymoon”! Congratulations! Your kind comments regarding our staff members Larry, Michael, Hannah and Megan are greatly appreciated and will certainly be shared. We hope to welcome you and your family back for another wonderful vacation! Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We have enjoyed many years vacationing at SMH and SMOB. The hotel has recently sold and the dramatic increase in room rates has us making alternate plans when we visit KW. We will miss staying at this incredible hotel collection. We plan to contine coming to the Cafê when we revisit KW.
Pam and Jay

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pami4747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We truly appreciate your kind words and your decision to stay with us over the years. We have always appreciated our guests desire to return year after year and seeing their familiar faces is always a pleasure. If we are unable to be a part of your future visits to Key West we would like you to know we are grateful for the time we have been able to host you and we look forward to the continued pleasure of serving you at the Southernmost Beach Café.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

From the people at the front desk to the cleanliness of the whole resort and everything you could want or think of in between this hotel has it.
Expensive but wonderful.
You can walk in the sand on the beach or swim in the pool. Have drinks by the water.
You can take a walk down Duval St, for the shops and galleries.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are very pleased you had a wonderful time with us enjoying our lovely rooms and convenient location. Thank you again for writing your review and we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williston, North Dakota
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We were married in Key West and stayed here. What a warm welcome. They knew it was our marriage/honeymoon, so they had a bottle of champagne and a congratulations card waiting in our room when we checked in. Room was amazing. Staff was wonderful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the junior penthouse facing the water/pool. Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We are so happy that you had such a nice time during your honeymoon. Congratulations and we hope to welcome you back, hopefully for your anniversary! Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I should have written a review for this hotel much earlier than this, simply because we love it so much! We first stayed here in early 2013 and came back for New Year's this year. Location is great (quiet end of Duval St., but still within walking distance of everything), and we love the view! Service is also very good. The only downside is the spa, which doesn't offer the level of service I would expect from a property of this quality. We'll be back next year for our 3rd stay in a row!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrenchGirl152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing