We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay in Key West”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our family had a wonderful stay at the Southernmost on the Beach hotel. Their services were excellent and the location of the hotel is perfect for walking around Key West. The rooms were large and well equipped, the pools were great and it was a nice add on to have the private beach at the hotel. Would recommend it for all my family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandrathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very pleased that you and your family had such a nice timer with us. Thank you for your words of recommendation, this means a lot to us and we certainly hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,733 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,048
    1,119
    353
    136
    77
See reviews for
1,145
3,419
89
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,216)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very comfortable bed and breakfast style rooms on hotel grounds that make you feel special. Close to pool and beach and Duval street. excellent food and a very pleasant staff. The only issue was the air conditioner in the room was on the noisy side but nothing that a few Rum Runners before bed time could not fix.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bikerj0e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Genova
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 242 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Cant really understand the many positive evaluations about this Hotel (which looks more to a Motel, instead). This is a quite big construction built around and on the top of a parking place. They pretend to offer you an ocean view while the view is surely on the parking. The rooms are ok, but the (small) terraces are one agains the other at a few centimeter distance. Forget the two beaches: the big one is very dirty (in the morning it was a truck removing the seaweeds) with a brown water; the second one is not a beach, while a beton terrace covered by sand. Furthermore the ac is extremely noisy and the reception at the arrival was ice cold. This place doesnt' merit at all the (big) money they charge you.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FabioDaGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I would like to apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort you experienced during your stay. Our property does offer our guests several different types of ocean views and I am sorry you did not enjoy the view from your balcony. The public beach can suffer from windy conditions and when the ocean becomes churned up debris can wash up on it. We try to combat these elements by cleaning the beach twice a day and it is unfortunate the weather was not more ideal while you were visiting. Your feedback holds value for us and we want to assure you that we are following up with all relevant departments so as to improve our services for all future stays. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My wife and I stayed from Friday-Monday for our nine year wedding anniversary. When we first arrived in our room, we were greeted with a bottle of champagne on ice. I had purchased a anniversary gift for my wife that I wanted delivered to the room with some fresh strawberries. I went to the front desk to make the arrangement. The gentleman at the desk advised that I needed to give 48 hours notice in order to get fresh strawberries. I found to be a little disturbing, however Miss Julie Rodriguez was standing close and overheard my conversation with the desk clerk. She she immediately came over and offered her assistance. Within 15 minutes Miss Rodrigues had made arrangements to have strawberries delivered for me from an outside store. She further arrange for a Bellman to deliver the strawberries and the gift that I had purchased to the room. This is exactly the type of service that is expected and she should be commended for her commitment to customer service.

On our second day we spent a couple hours pool side. We ordered nachos and chicken quesadillas. The nachos were soggy when they arrived. We also had dinner that evening in the café. The food was okay at best. And the service was lacking. Our waitress made the excuse that they were shorthanded for the evening. We did not go back.

As for our room, I think the room was perfect. On our last night the air-conditioner had broken in our room. upon calling the front desk maintenance arrived within 10 minutes and immediately replace the unit with a new one, total time was under 30 minutes.

The only real negative to the property location is that it is a moderate distance from all the action on the Duval st. If you are looking for a quiet place I would definitely recommend southernmost on the beach. I am giving it four stars and not five because of our experience with the food. To the office staff, maintenance staff and concierge (miss Rodriguez) you guys do a great job.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I'm pleased to read that our staff members surprised you with champagnen to help you and your wife celebrate your 9th anniversary! Your lovely compliments for our concierge Julie are greatly apprciated and I will be shure she knows of them; she does a fantastic job helping our guests with thier special requests. Thank you for sharing you expereince at our Southernmost Beach Cafe. I am sorry you expereince there was anything less than fantastic and I will be sure your comments are shared with thier management team. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed four nights. By friday night it was very expensive. But our room was pristine and new, beautifully groomed grounds and property right on the water. Nice little sandy private beach area. I felt the restaurant (serves breakfast, lunch and dinner) was really good. The prices were comparable to better restaurants in key west and the food didn't disappoint us. Private pier to sun on and steps right into the water to snorkel and swim.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m very pleased that you and your family had such a nice time lounging on our tanning pier and snorkeling in the beautiful Atlantic Ocean. We are very lucky to be situated at the Southernmost Point of the United States and surrounded by beautiful blue waters. We hope you will visit us again if your travels should ever bring you back to Key West. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The manager at reception was excellent-friendly, informative and relaxed. The room was lovely - clean, modern, and great facilities (microwave, kettle, fridge) which was great for having small children. Heated pool, fab buffet breakfast. Overall excellent - wish we could have stayed longer than 1 night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sussan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. I am very pleased that you and your family had such a nice time and our staff members were able to provide you with excellent service. Our award winning Southernmost Beach Café offers a wonderful breakfast options 7 days a week including lobster cake benedict, a crab and shrimp omelet or freshly baked quiche of the day just to name a few. We hope you and your family will come back to visit us again, hopefully when you spend a little more time with us. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san luis obispo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

looked at several hotels in key west and really happy we picked this one, super clean comfy beds and lovely balcony with a partial oceanview. hotel is so close to duval st. and all attractions. we would stay here on next trip. tip! try and avoid cruise ship days as its way too crowded in town.

Room Tip: ask for patio and partial view same price as no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailingjulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. I’m happy to read that you were so pleased with your decision to stay with us. Our location on the ocean certainly makes for some lovely mornings and evening and I’m glad you were able to enjoy them. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing