We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night on a trip to Key West. We got married on Smather's Beach last year and wanted to return. This is the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. The location was fabulous, right around the corner from the buoy, and the ambience was perfect. We paid for a "distant" ocean view but were right across from it. Amazing! The Shores Bar was great, Brookey is an amazing bartender! Dexter at the front desk was super nice and very helpful as well! Our room was beautiful, reminded me of a master bedroom instead of a hotel room. The bed and pillows were amazingly comfortable. Lots of little touches like bottles of water and Wolfgang Puck coffee pods. My only regret is that we didn't stay longer! Will be back in the future for sure. Thank you for making our overnight stay wonderful!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Holly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m happy to read that we were able to make your one night with us so memorable! We look forward to having you with us again and hopefully it will be for a much longer stay. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review, your compliments are greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,807
    1,051
    326
    124
    69
See reviews for
1,048
3,214
76
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,156)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Our family of four stayed in one of the partial ocean views. The proximity to the beach was excellent, just a few steps. As well as the pool. We were within walking distance of many attractions in Key West. The pool area was very nice and the staff was attentive, handing out popsicles on a hot afternoon. Beautiful grounds.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravelLite4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very pleased you and your family had such a nice time with us. We certainly try to make sure our guests have the time of their life and I’m happy to learn we succeeded. Thank you for your kind words for our staff members who helped make your visit a memorable one. We look forward to hosting you and your family again. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Southernmost Hotel was lovely. It's a very big "campus", but broken into different property plots. We were right in front of the "Tranquility" pool, which is only for adults 21 and over and we enjoyed it every day. We were even visited by a huge iguana on our first day at the pool and I hoped he would come back every day, but we never saw him again. The hotel room was lovely. The mattresses were excellent and the feather pillows divine. The air conditioner worked like a champ and we were never hot in our room. The rooms were wonderfully "sound proof". If someone was standing outside your door having a conversation, you could hear them and you could hear the door close, but once they were inside their room, you never heard a sound.

No reflection on the hotel, but the public beach, which is spitting distance from the hotel, is horrible. Not only is it small, covered in seaweed or some such other sea substance, but it stinks like a paper mill. A tractor has to come several times a day to clean the crap off of the beach. I wouldn't have gone in the ocean from that beach on a bet and was shocked to see anyone else using it. Nasty doesn't describe it. The Southernmost Café overlooks the beach, which is a shame. The Café is good and the staff is wonderful, but it is overpriced, as is everything in Key West. They are quite proud of their stuff. The house wine at the hotel pool bar was $8.00 a glass for the same wine we buy for less than $8.00 a bottle at home. I don't mind paying a little extra, but damn.

Don't even think about bringing your kids to Key West, because there is literally nothing for them to do. Trust me, they won't enjoy touring the Hemmingway House. The Butterfly Conservatory is worth the price of admission, but it's not going to keep the kids happy.

Room Tip: I wish we had been in a room overlooking the ocean, but the Gingerbread section was off the beaten p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is very gratifying to know that we were the best part of your trip! I do apologize for the conditions of the public beach. We try to maintain it to the best of our capabilities but when the winds pick up and the storms start blowing in there is very little that can be done to stop the sea grass. We try to combat this by cleaning the beach twice a day however, we certainly don’t want to displace any guests enjoying the beach so we clean it in the early mornings and later in the evenings. I hope you will be able to return to us, hopefully not during our windy season. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We decided to stay at this resort while looking for a wedding location and ended up loving the resort so much that we decided to have our wedding there! The staff is so friendly and accommodating and this resort has the BEST pool in Key West! The rooms are amazing and the ambiance is outstanding. Every where you look there are hammocks and chairs to lounge in. I can not wait to go back! Our wedding was magnificent as well!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillVarner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. We are honored that you chose to stay with us for your wedding (congratulations!) and so pleased you were happy with your decision! I really appreciate all of the kind words you have for our resort and staff. I know that our staff members genuinely want our guests to have a fantastic time while visiting; your praise is much appreciated. We certainly look forward to seeing you again for another special occasion, perhaps your 1st anniversary?. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We loved our Southernmost experience! We stayed the 1st night at the Dewey House which offered a beautiful room which was very cozy. The complimentary continental breakfast the next morning was excellent. We stayed the rest of our time at the Southernmost Hotel. It was very clean, the pool was fun and you're so close to the water and surrounding attractions such as the butterfly reserve across the street and fantastic bars and restaurants. Plus, the south part of Duval where Southernmost is located is a lot more quiet and family-oriented compared to the northern part of Duval Street. We really liked that aspect. Every staff member we interacted with was polite and helpful. When we go back to Key West, we're staying at Southernmost!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I spent one night at the Southernmost on the Beach. The room was spacious, clean, comfy and very lovely. The location of the hotel is great - easy to walk to attractions and right on the water. Staff was great. We would certainly stay here again and recommend to family and friends.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah_R_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very pleased that you had such a nice time with us. Thank you for your words of recommendation; this means a lot to us and we certainly hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Everyone is SO extremely over the top nice! Very very clean. Perfect view, great entertainment, and great food! The manager of the pool is such a nice guy and Meg, the bartender remembers our names after being there just once! We became friendly with all the staff members there. We have been back 5times in 8 months and go back to SMOTB every time! It's breathtaking. We are headed back there next week! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thibaultae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen M, Guest Relations Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our property. I really appreciate all of the kind words you have for our resort and staff. I know that our staff members genuinely want our guests to have a fantastic time while visiting. Your praise is much appreciated. Thank you again for writing your review and we look forward to seeing you very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing