We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Indialantic, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, pool, ocean access, bar, views, and location. Far away enough from downtown for some seclusion but close enough to walk. My only criticism is the bed was not as comfortable as other hotels. Probably time to upgrade the mattress.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank madiolosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very pleased to read that you had a great stay with us. I do apologize if the mattress in you room was uncomfortable and I hope you will contact me so I can have the housekeeping department address this issue. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,664 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,001
    1,107
    347
    136
    73
See reviews for
1,110
3,389
88
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,197)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Dewey House has all the comforts of a B&B and all the amenities of a resort. The room/bathroom were beautiful, the AC was cold and the staff more than helpful. It is in walking distance of Duvall.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justloriar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is a lovely hotel with all the amenities you would expect. Our room was slightly smaller than the others we had stayed in but the view was superb. We were on the ground floor with a view across a lawn onto the ocean. We asked for rooms close to our friends, they were next door. We used to wait for them on a morning/evening sitting in chairs on the lawn looking at the beautiful view.
I haven't given the resort 5 stars because one of our cases missed our flight. The case was delivered to the hotel 4 hours after we arrived. The hotel didn't inform me. A day and a half afterwards I was telephoning the airline trying to locate my case when it was already at my hotel. The hotel did provide adequate recompense.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lawn facing the ocean. We didn't pay for a full sea view but we had one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KWDEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is always wonderful to know that our rooms, grounds and location please our guests. I apologize that the service from our front desk team was below our usually high standards and your expectations. Your thoughtful comments are appreciated and will certainly be shared with the appropriate personnel. We strive to make certain every guest has the time of their life and it is always helpful to know where we succeed and where we can improve. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we hope for a chance to make a future stay with us exceptional.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This was a beautiful hotel. The room are decoration were wonderful. All personal and services were great. The location it is extraordinary, very close from Duval which is the Main Street. Very much kid friendly but also with area for those adult that want that time away from kids.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaneca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m very pleased you had such a nice time with us. We certainly try to make sure our guests have the time of their life and I’m happy to learn we succeeded. I appreciate your kind comments for our staff members and am very pleased they provided you with exceptional service. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review of our property and I hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perry Hall, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I agree with all the other positive reviews. The grounds are lovely and rooms are clean. We had a partial side ocean view with balcony and we were very pleased. Just about everything you need is in walking distance. Duval Street is only a mile long which makes for a very nice walk. Bars, restaurants, stores, art galleries, and lets not forget the ice cream shops. We will stay here again on any return visit. It's a little pricey but everything in Key West is, so it's par for the course.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very pleased that you and your family had such a nice time with us. Thank you for all of your kind words; they mean a lot to us and we certainly hope you will visit us again in the future. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We’ve not long since returned from a stay at the Southernmost on the Beach as part of our honeymoon and I can honestly say that it’s one of the best hotels I’ve ever stayed at.

We absolutely loved our time in Key West and a big part of that was down to the Southernmost. From the moment we arrived the staff were all extremely friendly and helpful from the check-in desk, to the bar staff at Shores and the house-keepers.

The hotel itself is in a great spot, at the bottom of the quiet end of Duval Street and right next to a little strip of beach at which you get free sun loungers as part of staying at the hotel. There’s also a pier which you can sunbathe on which leads straight in to the ocean as well as the pool which is very well policed for people reserving sunbeds – only once during our entire stay, which spanned two weekends both of which featured weddings on the beach, could we not immediately get two sun loungers together and that was only for a couple of minutes.

You can also make the most of the facilities at the Southernmost hotel across the street, although we never did given how fantastic everything at on the Beach was.

We had an Ocean View room which had brilliant views of the beach and ocean and the room itself was very comfortable with plenty of storage and a very handy fridge.

We’re already planning our next trip to Key West and hopefully the Southernmost on the Beach will be part of that!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. I am very happy that you had such a nice time during your honeymoon! Congratulations! I truly appreciate knowing that our property was a big part of the reason why your time in Key West was so special. Our goal is to provide our guests with exceptional customer service and I am very happy to know we were able to do this for you. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and I hope we will see you the next time you are in Key West.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manheim
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was our 2nd stay at this hotel and it was fabulous. Three pools, beach access, and water sports! Bike rentals were great for riding the island. Omar was always happy and greeted you with a smile! Only complaint was the rock hard mattresses.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mamahipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very pleased to read that your 2nd stay with us was fabulous. I do apologize if the mattress in you room was uncomfortable and I hope you will contact me so I can have the housekeeping department address this issue. I appreciate your kind words for Omar; he is a Good Will Ambassador to be certain and we all feel very fortunate to have him on our team. I will be sure to share your comments with him. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to seeing you for a 3rd return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing