We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2014

So this place goes on the list of "What to do if you only have 24 hrs in Key West" because thanks to a blizzard in the NE my BFF and I only had a day and a half to enjoy this beautiful place. We totally maxed out the day and this place provided a comfy bed to rest in. Loved it! The people were so nice. The spa was great, the beach was nice and well kept. AAAAHHHHH! What more can I say. I just didn't want to leave, especially since we had to drive back to Fort Lauderdale at 3 AM.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jjc504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m very happy to read that you had such a great time with us during your quick trip to Key West last January. We love knowing when our guests have enjoyed themselves and wish you could have stayed longer as there is so much to do and see. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and I hope you will visit us again, hopefully when you have a little more time to relax, explore and enjoy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,866)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,959 - 2,965 of 5,866 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2014

The hotel was great and the staff are fantastic, especially by the pool. One thing to be aware of is that if you use one credit card to secure authorisation when you check in and then pay with another at check out, they keep the authorisation on there for 2 weeks after you check out. Unfortunately i originally used a debit card and now have £1k which i cannot access till they release it

Room Tip: Rooms over the side that are nearest to the sea, the other rooms are located across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank UKCitizen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I appreciate your compliments for our staff members and property, thank you. I would like to apologize that you have had any difficulty with the authorizations captured at check in. I would like to assure you that when a guest checks out our hotel releases any authorization secured immediately; we do not keep them because at check out we secure any remaining balance that may be due. Your financial institution or credit card provider is then responsible for releasing the authorization funds back to your account. If we can help speed this process up for you please do not hesitate to contact our property immediately at 1.800.354.4455 and ask to speak with one of our property managers, Todd or Elizabeth, who will be more than able to assist you. Thank you again for writing your review and alerting us to this issue, we look forward to being able to assist you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

The Southernmost Hotel on the Beach was excellent, ... but the "beach" which is next door, has some problems. When we were there we used the pool which was great, but could not use the beach next door since it was full of seaweed washed up from some storms. It also had this nasty stench, which did not bother really us while we were in the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobSanJuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I’m very happy to read that you found our resort excellent. I do apologize for the conditions of the public beach. We try to maintain it to the best of our capabilities but when the winds pick up and the storms start blowing in there is very little that can be done to stop the sea grass. We try to combat this by cleaning the beach a minimum of twice a day however, we certainly don’t want to displace any guests enjoying the beach so we clean it early in the mornings and then throughout the day when possible. I hope you will be able to return to us, hopefully not during our windy season. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here last week, and this hotel is by no means cheap..! But what you get is pure paradise in a beautiful place. The hotel is very quaint and the rooms are fantastic with ample space, large bathroom and a balcony. There is also a fridge in the room with free WiFi. The pool area is clean the shores bar is fantastic. The beach area could do with a little tidy up, but it is accessible to the locals. There is a private sunbathing pier with some steps that lead into the sea only accessible by hotel guests. Table tennis facility and pool games added that extra value for my 14 and 11 year olds. There are also some hammocks and beach chairs dotted around the gardens for some extra privacy. Duval street is minutes away and great in the evening with a wide choice of bars and restaurants. All in all a fantastic stay in a top location..!

Room Tip: All rooms have a balcony. Some are ocean facing, others face inland. However it is a good view reg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank npatel6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property and sharing your family’s great vacation with us. I’m very happy every member of your family found something to enjoy on our grounds and you all had a great time exploring Key West. Our goal is to make sure our guests are having the time of their life while visiting and I’m really glad you and your family experienced that. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and we really look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Cab ride to Mallory Square is $10.00 with tip to go a mile and a half. If you want a beach though, this is probably your place. There is a nice private beach with restaurant and bar there. If you want everything else, check out The Westin on the other (busier) end of Duval St.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. While I am sorry our convenient location to the center of the action down on Duval Street did not meet your expectations, I’m pleased you enjoyed our friendly staff, beachfront location and our award winning Southernmost Beach Cafe. I hope you will consider staying with us again so we have the opportunity to make your next visit exceptional. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

After spending a long weekend at the Southernmost with my husband last year we decided to go back with our 13 year old twins. It was great fun. We rented bicycles and explored Key West at our leisure. We had a great day at Fort Zachary where the snorkeling was great. Jet ski trip with Fury was super - thanks Suzanne and Kevin at Concierge for all their help. The hotel is clean, fun and so convenient. We wouldn't stay anywhere else. Thank you Southernmost for allowing us to bring our children to Key West for a fun, family vacation!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank 4palmtrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I’m very happy to read that you brought your family back with you this visit and everyone enjoyed your vacation. Your kind words for Suzanne and Kevin are greatly appreciated and I will be sure to share with both of them and the rest of our staff. There are so many wonderful sights to see in Key West, I’m glad you took the opportunity to explore and had a fun family vacation. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review and I hope we have an opportunity to host you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This hotel was amazing. Beautiful settings and surroundings. View from the room was outstanding. Most of the employees were extremely friendly and accommodating. It is very close to duval street, the beach area needs a little more TLC, but the view is beautiful. It is expensive!

Room Tip: Most rooms have a partial ocean view and it is awesome, But, I would not pay for anything more. it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Peg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Babich, General Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. I am very happy that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to apologize that the conditions at South Beach were not more ideal during your vacation. While the beach is cleaned several times a day the stronger winds in the summer months can make keeping up with the sea grass a challenge. I hope you will return to us for a future stay and provide us an opportunity to make your next visit exceptional. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#8 of 51 in Key West
229 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £236 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing