We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2009

Again from the experience of Trip Advisor, I decided to select this hotel for our stay on Key West, from check in until the front door of the room this looked like an average US Hotel/Motel, opening the room revealed something completely spectacular.

This is one of the nicest rooms I've stayed in, I think only a suite at the Venetian in Vegas even comes close, but the view was something else. With a balacony looking out over the sea, this place was brilliant.

The only real negative was the poor service and attitude of staff at the BeachFront Cafe who were rather brash.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt_from_nottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,005 - 5,011 of 5,833 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2009

We spent a week at Southernmost on the Beach toward the end of July, & while it was hot, we had a fabulous time. Our room was great. I fell in love with the large tiled shower. We had a great view from our balcony, and we loved hanging at the pool or the Beach Cafe during happy hour. If you're spending time on the beach, they bring around frozen strawberries, pineapple, and watermellon. We had considered a few more expensive hotels closer to Mallory Square, but we were glad we chose the Southernmost instead & will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KS-transplant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

The room and view were great. Located on the quiet side of Duval, but an easy walk. The poolside bar was nice, but a little pricey. The rooms were well designed and very clean. The staff was really nice and helpful. We only wished there were donuts and coffee in the lobby for breakfast. We think for the price that would have been an option, instead always getting dress going to the cafe across the sand, or out in the car. My husband and I will most certainly return. All in all it was great and I would and have recommended this hotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sage97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

WE stayed here for our 5 year anniversary. Beautiful hotel with a great pool and one of the few beaches. I couldn't ask for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeanGreenTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Our property was well maintained. Our room was recently renovated as the bed was huge, the bathroom was tiled and the shower was as big as my bathroom at home. You could fit 8 people in the shower. The comfy king sized bed had a direct view of the 50" flat panel TV and had high defination channels. Honestly i could have laid in bed and watched TV all day. The swimming pool had a pool side bar and you could order from the menu. Wait to book your activities until you arrive because the concierge, Amy, can suggest where to go, what to do, and she has great hook ups on the island. Everything was clean and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tschmaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Had a really good time, the staff was very nice. Could't ask for a better location! Very family friendly. The room was nice and clean. Very Relaxing! No hidden charges (always a plus)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Galaqtik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2009

What a location! Paradise! We were lucky enough to have a room on the pool and beach side, however we were in low season so if booking in high season and looking to save money go for the Southernmost hotel as you have the same pool and beach rights as their sister properties. The best thing is you can swim in the pool up to 2300 hours. However, when we booked in the receptionist told us that there was a wedding at the restaurant so we could not use that however what they failed to tell us was that they'd obviously given the wedding party permission to swim fully clothed until 0100 in the morning. Because the night receptionist would obviously have dealt with this.
Kevin the barman is welcoming and a good source of trips and has a goodlocal knowledge of things to do.
We had breakfast one morning at the hotel restaurant.....don't. The service is poor, expensive and all they want to do is to place you in the sun so the eggs aren't the only thing to be fried! Go to Camille's in nearby Simonton Street if high season or a weekend book in advance.
For eat's use the Hog's Breath Tavern, Sloppy Joe's or Guy Harvey's which are all at the Mallory Square end. To see the sunset then book into Fury cruises sunset snorkel and cruise, they have various stands along Duval Street including one right at the Mallory Square end. You get to snorkel North America's only natural reef and on the way back the Beer and Rum Punch never ends! The crew are also extremly friendly and welcoming. You also get to see the sunset without the crowds!
My top tip is leave the car at the hotel, you could rent one of the electric buggy's but you have to pay for parking so instead rent a moped for your time there, its a fantastic way to get around Key West day or night and reasonably safe as long as you don't ride around like Easy Rider! Also they are free to park. We rented from a place called sunshine rentals but shop around and use the avaiable coupon books most of the companies will deliver and I think the ones out of the old town are a lot cheaper.
A trip to this hotel would not be complete without usung the Ice Cream shop opposite which I think is a side line for a realtor's office!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sjc462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
715 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Reach Key West, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#3 Spa Hotel in Key West
#6 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £212 - £579 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing