We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a great place!! Everything we wanted and more.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Its a great place!! Everything we wanted and more.”
Reviewed 15 January 2010

Very friendly\helpful staff, great location, clean rooms. they don't tell you you can use the pools and beach at the other southern most hotels that are right across the street so a heads up there because some pools are much nicer then others.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ks-lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,613 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,967
    1,094
    344
    135
    73
See reviews for
1,098
3,360
86
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,183)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We booked a room in the Southernmost hotel, but we ended in a room on the parking lot of the hotel, with no balcony or terrace (1st floor) and at the end of the building, so on a street corner. The room was beautiful though, very clean and tastefully decorated.
The day after we visited the whole site; Southernmost hotel where we were, Southernmost Beach hotel, and the 2 mansions. We asked the reception if they had available rooms on the beach, or with a view on the Ocean, as the weather was not exceptional (cold wave), so we wanted to spend good rest in our room. We were transferred in an amazing room, huge and luxury, with an great Ocean view on the balcony. We just upgraded our holidays for peanuts! They've been helpful and really nice. The concierge helped us booking para sail (so cool!) and a car to visit around.
The staff in this hotel is very nice, and the rooms are great. Ask for the Southernmost Beach hotel, between the beach and the street, rather than the Southernmost hotel, between 2 streets.
The location is great too, at the end of Duval street, close enough to nice restaurants, but far enough from the noise of the bars.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RafiCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
iowa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We just got back from staying at SMOTB and can I say spectacular!!! From the moment we got there until we left we had suberb service. We stayed in the newer part, one king bed. Our room had a distant ocean view and private baclony, it was gorgeous. In my opinion with the beach, the access to all the pools, the private pier, and the hidden hammocks we were staying at the best place in key west. The bed and the bedding were so comfortable, the cafe on the beach had great food, great ambiance , and was reasonable priced. The reason you stay here is location , location, and the views!!! Right across the street you have a little conveince store with a great cuban food stand!!! This place in my opinion is the place to stay when you are in the Keys, we will be back!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zoeyaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas and were dissapointed in general.

Yes, the location is ideal and the rooms are well appointed with a sea view and most of the extras. But the accomodation is overpriced for what you get. We had a look at the Oceanview Hotel and thought it was much better value for money.

But what really got us was the incredibly rude reception staff, especially one recepcionist called Wally. When we checked out he was impressively rude to me simply because I asked for a modification to my details on the invoice.

The room service was also pretty bad considering the category of the hotel. One morning we found a HUGE cockroach in the bathroom and when I phoned reception to ask them to remove it all I got was "Oh yeah, Ok." No apology, no interest whatsoever.

Another day I tried to get the configuration for the WiFi connection and was told by another recepcionist "We don´t do that here, you´ll have to wait for the IT guy." Again, really rude.

So if you can put up with rudeness and indifference, as I said, the location is ideal but personally I would look elsewhere as there is lots to choose from in Key West and this hotel is a big contrast to the generally friendly people you meet in other places.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jcmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizpat55, Property Manager at Southernmost Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 January 2010
I would first like to thank you for reviewing your stay at the Southernmost on the Beach Hotel. Your opions are very important to us. I would also like to apologize for your less than perfect experience here at the Southernmost on the Beach Hotel. We strive to excel in customer service. Your honest reviews highlight certain areas that need improvement. We hope that you will allow us an opportunity in the future to better serve you. Thank you and Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2010

It said partciall ocean veiw but it was full ocean veiw they didn't give themselves enough credit for the wonderful veiw of the sun rise and sunset from the balcony and walkway.Rooms where designer quaility .make up mirror a real plus and not bolted to the wall.Service immediate beyond clean ,crown molding, soft duvets, large flat screen T/V which spoiled me am now looking to buy one.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trimurti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
München
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We stayed at the Southernmost during our honeymoon-trip and enjoyed every minute! The room was exactly as described in the reservation-form.
The staff was very helpful and friendly, the room perfectly equipped. Especially I want to mention, that the shower-gel, shampoo etc. was not the terrible stuff you usually find in hotel bath rooms.
The restaurant served great food and the winelist is very well choosen.
Thanks for this wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Kroppenstedt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
221 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Nice spot, good parking. Front desk not as informative as should be. Rooms a little small for price. The bathroom was a washout--no room for amenities--no counterspace or plug-ins
Beach front cafe was good.
I have had better for one quarter of the price. It is however one of the better places in town

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zr9000x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing