We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Get-Away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southernmost Beach Resort
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Get-Away”
Reviewed 18 February 2011

My new husband and I just returned from our Honeymoon to Key West, Florida. We stayed at the Southernmost on the Beach Hotel. One thing is for certain, we will most definitely stay there again the next time we visit Key West! We rented bikes and traveled around the island checking out a lot of other hotels. We were completely satisfied with our decision to stay at Southernmost on the Beach. The main reason? Location, location, location! This is one of the only (if not the only) hotel in Key West located on a sandy beach. We loved the view of the ocean from both the pool and the beach cafe restaurant. The fact that this hotel was not located in the busy atmosphere of Duval Street was the cherry on top of the wedding cake! We were able to walk to Duval Street and enjoy that atmosphere, but we wanted a more quiet, romantic location for our hotel, and we definitely found it at the Southernmost on the Beach Hotel.

Besides location, the staff at the hotel was extremely friendly, fun, and resourceful. Thanks to Dexter at the front desk, to Julie at the consierge desk, to all the awesome bartenders (or mixologists), to the activity director Boomer, we had the best honeymoon get-away we could have hoped for. We especially enjoyed "Wine School" by the beach with Boomer. Our only regret is that we missed "Beer School" because we were off enjoying the water. But, we will definitely make sure to attend class next time we return to Key West.

Finally, Southernmost on the Beach had some other very appealing features. The pool was clean and heated. We were always able to get a beach chair by the pool and on the beach. (Chairs on the beach are free to hotel quests... bonus!) Our favorite thing to do at night was sit by the beautifully lit pool at the bar. Our best meals were at the Beach Cafe restuarant. I could gush on and on and on....

In summary, we highly recommend staying at the Southernmost on the Beach Hotel! We cannot wait to go back again! :)

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GN1838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,978
    1,099
    344
    136
    73
See reviews for
1,101
3,369
87
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,188)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2011

The hotel is well positioned for easy walking trips. Our room was very pleasant, bright and airy. The concierge was helpful. The drinks at poolside were exorbitantly priced. Parking could be an issue. Although free, if the hotel was full I don't know if there would be sufficient spaces. Next time would fly into Key West rather than Miami. Only used the car to arrive and leave.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fbevel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

We just returned from a 4 night stay at La Mer and Dewey House. We were on the second floor of the Dewey House. The room was large with a brand-new flat screen TV. Two doors opened up to a large balcony overlooking the beach. There were fresh flowers in the bathroom! Everything was top-notch, beginning with our check-in and tour with Sam, breakfast (freshly sqeezed OJ, pastries from a local bakery, champagne on Sundays), afternoon tea with brewed ice tea and fresh fruit, cheeses and other treats), and turn-down service with chocolate. I never got tired of walking in the front gate of the house and seeing the flowers, plants, and ocean-view! The resort gives you access to 3 pools, 2 beach areas, countless lounge chairs, and hammocks. My favorite spot was a pier built out in the Atlantic lined with lounge chairs and steps leading down the water. Too bad the water was too cold for me this trip! There is a cafe on the beach also with great food! If the weather is good, it's all open to the ocean. Can't wait to go back to Key West and would only stay here!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTCOP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2011

My husband and stayed at the Le Mer for 4 nights including Valentine's night. We had never been to Key West before but we will certainly go again. Our room (#410) was a spacious end unit with an L-shaped balcony overlooking the beach and ocean. The room was furnished with a king-sized bed, two chairs flat screen tv, plenty of clothes storage, a small table with 2 chairs and an kitchenette with a microwave, mini fridge, sink and cabinets. The bathroom was also spacious and while it didn't have a tub, the shower was huge. An orchid in the bathroom was an extra nice touch. We even received a small box of Godiva chocalates on Valentine's Day. Each morning, we were treated to a delicious continental breakfast at Dewey House next door. I would highly recommned the waffles. The whole staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. They really catered to any need we had. If you are looking for a place close to Duval Street that is quiet, this is the place for you. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We spent three relaxing nights at this wonderful B & B. Staff (especially Sam) were extremely helpful and happy. Tracey in reservations was more than helpful and had great suggestions. The pool area and bar were very nice and excellent views of small beach. Pool was heated to a perfect temp. The B & B had complimentary continental breakfast and afternoon tea time. Selection was above average and very tasty. Happy hour every day. Complimentary lounge chairs and towels. Hotel in quiet area but easy to walk to bars and restaurants. Would definitely return again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJ710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We've been in that paradise for 3 days in February, the hotel was very relaxing, lots of hammocks and sun beds, just in front of the sea, access to the beach, close to shops and restaurants, great staff, super sunset and sunrise views. Only improvements could be addresses to the restaurant, which opens for the brekfast at 8:00 and it was late for us, and also once we could not have dinner there because it was full.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabio_Milano_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

We stayed here for three nights and really enjoyed it. We liked the location a lot, and found the rooms to be clean, beautiful, and large. We had an ocean view room that was right by both the beach and the heated pool. There is really nothing to complain about with this hotel. If you don't like to walk, you may find it a little far from the hustle and bustle of Duvall and Mallory Square, but we didn't mind. We walked when we wanted to and drove if we needed to. Parking can be expensive in Key West but no more so than what it costs to park at a ballgame! ($20 for the day or so...) but there are also bike and scooter rentals right across the street. I'm looking forward to going back and don't think I would stay anywhere else if I can help it. I really liked being on the ocean and having the beach so close by!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Marker Waterfront Resort
0.2 mi away
The Reach, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
1.1 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southernmost Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southernmost Beach Resort

Property: Southernmost Beach Resort
Address: 1319 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
#4 Spa Hotel in Key West
#7 Luxury Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Southernmost Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located where Duval street meets the Atlantic Ocean in historic old town, Southernmost Beach Resort stretches over 6 acres across 2 city blocks on the quieter end of Duval Street, away from the hustle of Key West activities, but close enough to the excitement when you want it. The resort offers many on-site amenities such as 3 pools, 4 bars, a private oceanfront beach with tanning pier, access to public South Beach, an oceanfront restaurant, fitness center and petite spa. Southernmost Beach Resort now encompasses the Southernmost on the Beach, Southernmost Hotel and La Mer Hotel and Dewey House all part of the former Southernmost Hotel Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Southernmost Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southernmost On The Beach Hotel Key West
Key West Southernmost Beach
Southernmost Beach Hotel
Southernmost Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing