We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed & Welcoming !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Speakeasy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Speakeasy Inn
Ranked #6 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxed & Welcoming !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014 via mobile

We loved our room and the charm of this historic building. The staff made us feel at home and like family. Great drinks. Really enjoyed the patio looking over the quiet end of Duval St. Breakfast was meticulously prepared and scrumptiously delicious !! Coming Back for Sure !!! Greg & LeAnn.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GregoryMullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    47
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
37
272
20
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We recently spent a night here and were very pleased. The staff were helpful and very nice. The room was very clean. The bed was comfortable. The furnishings were pleasing to look at. The breakfast the next morning was excellent - they had homemade coffee cake, ham, cheese, boiled eggs, fresh squeezed orange juice, fruit that was delicious along with coffee, tea, and other assorted items. It was quiet and peaceful yet only a couple of blocks from restaurants, shops and bars...We will be returning here for sure

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaCowan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

The best margaritas in town for a very reasonable price with a great view of foot traffic along Duval street. Other special drinks are available and all are excellent. The bartender is a true professional and takes pride in every cocktail he makes.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

This review is well overdue, we actually stay at the Speakeasy back in October but have been slow in catching up on our reviews!
We stayed for 2 nights (a thurs/fri) had a brilliant time. We enjoyed Key West very much and staying here was just perfect - walkable into the lively bar area but far enough away to be somewhat peaceful as needed. The Southern Most Point, Butterfly Sanctuary and most key tourist points were an easy walk - well as easy as is possible such heat!!
We stayed in room 2 and thought it was really lovely. The bed was very comfortable, had a little sofa are and kitchenette. We never cook in these types of rooms but the fridge did its required job of making the beer cold!! There's a nice little seated veranda type area with chairs outside the door but we didn't get chance to make use of these. The staff were really friendly and welcomed us on arrival, sorting out our parking, helping with the luggage and showing us to our room. They were happy to make recommendations on eateries and provided money off vouchers for a few places.
We did drink in the rum bar and whilst the barman was a complete misery (clearly a different one and not the hospitable,cheery guy many other people describe) . To be fair though, he poured decent measures which only got bigger, the longer we drank.
A buffet type breakfast was included and this was excellent - basically a continental with extras and homemade cakes - we genuinely enjoyed this.
Other niceties included as much bottled water as you needed (they even offered us some for the drive when we left) and make up remover wipes in the rooms.
We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: We loved room 2 - very sweet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ziggy20007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights. From the minute we checked in until the minute we HAD TO leave we were treated like family. Bob and Jill who tend the bar are friendly while giving good tips on drinks/rum history and local customs. The rooms are sizeable with kitchenette's and comfy beds. Rooms are unique - not one is the same as the next - and they are very clean. Looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meehabunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My children live in Key West so I am lucky enough to visit every few months. Although I stay with my daughter I often have friends meet me in KW and so I have had friends stay in many of the B&B's in KW. All the B&B's that I have either stayed in or had friends stay in were very good.
But one of the things that set the Speakeasy apart was the very large size of the room. My 2 friends stayed in rm 3D which had a large bathroom/sleeping area and kitchenette. The linens were slightly better then some of the others and no complaints about the comfort of the beds. Best part, no musty smell when we first entered the room. Due to the tropical weather and the need for AC to be turned off when a rm is not in use, all of the B&B's have had a musty smell. But the Speakeasy was the first one that did not have even a trace of musty smell. The Rum Barrel was a extra nice bonus. All of the staff were great and the price cheaper than most. Absolutely not a negative about this property. So if you don't need a pool but do want a great location and a great stay at a great price then try the Speakeasy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmeeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I have warm feelings about my stay at the Speakeasy. They have a good combination of things going for them. The staff was friendly, and they have a location on Duval street that is hard to beat. The accomodations were very clean and cozy and comfortable and charmingly decorated. The breakfast is quite good, with proteins, fruits, and good fresh-baked coffee cakes as well as the coffee and cereal you would expect. A very good way to start out the day. The lower level of the Speakeasy has the rum bar, with over 200 types of rum. They mix some great drinks - adults who stay there get a free Painkiller, which was pretty tasty. All of the drinks I tried at the bar were good - one of the best memories I have of Key West is sitting outside in the shade, being nicely toasted, and watching the people go by. The location is good: in my experience, the southern part of Duval Street isn’t as rowdy as the other end, and has a more laid back feeling. Yeah, I would stay here again if I was visiting Key West.

Room Tip: Room 1C was pretty quiet, a good retreat from the energy of Duval Street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,078 reviews
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speakeasy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speakeasy Inn

Property: Speakeasy Inn
Address: 1117 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-3156
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Speakeasy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speakeasy Inn is a landmark building located in the Boutique and Gallery District of Duval Street where you can shop or walk two blocks to the beach or a short stroll to world-famous Sunset Celebrations in Mallory Square! This landmark's recent renovation has preserved the original 19th century spirit of Old Town Key West. The decor in these spacious and airy suites is tropical and features hand-crafted queen beds and tables made from original 1876 pine recovered from our recent renovation. It has been restored to perfection, just for your pleasure. Each one, two, or three bedroom unit has a feeling of true Key West ambiance. You'll find collectibles taken from treasure hunts on our tropical island paradise and Havana, Cuba. Guests who require special consideration will find "accessible" units available. Amenities include kitchenettes equipped with a mini fridge, microwave and coffee maker, toaster, private bathrooms, a large screen HD T.V., free WiFi and outdoor seating areas. We also offer a complimentary continental breakfast, free samples of our famous Painkiller cocktail and discounts on drinks at The Rum Bar! The Speakeasy Inn was the home of Raul Vaquez, who was a cigar selector at the Gato cigar factory. Raul's true passion was rum-running between Key West and Cuba. It's in that spirit that our lobby features the Rum Bar open daily from 11am to 12pm (or later). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Speakeasy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speakeasy Inn And Rum Bar Hotel Key West
Speakeasy Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing