We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Rum Bar and B&B in Key West”
Review of Speakeasy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Speakeasy Inn
Ranked #7 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I can't say enough about the Speakeasy Inn and Rum Bar. This was my 4th year in a row staying there while visiting Key West. From the second you arrive till the second you leave their staff is absolutely attentive. Chocolates on your pillow, water bottles in your room, $1 off every drink, and a great breakfast. I haven't had that much fresh fruit since my last trip. The rooms are the perfect size for people on the go and for people who want to hang out on site. I can't say enough about this place. The entire staff knows to expect me and my friends in May. Thanks again for an amazing trip!

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different rooms and haven't had a complaint. Room 4 is the smallest but...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sporttke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Speakeasy Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We had never stayed at a bed and breakfast but after checking out the over priced hotels in Key West we decided to try one! It was a great experience and we would definitely recommend this place!!! It was exceptionally clean and everything in the rooms was high quality. The price was great and the people where great! The rum bar was a plus, probably the best I have seen anywhere. It was also a great location. Definitely a great experience!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The1moreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Spent three nights at the Speakeasy Inn with my wife and two other couples. None of us had been to Key West before and the staff at the Speakeasy was great and helpful pointing out all the highlights of Key West and places to see. The rooms where excellent and the rum bar had a breakfast every morning with home made breads and fresh squeezed orange juice. We all liked our stay at the Speakeasy Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdhman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We were spoiled! It starts with chocolate on our pillows...cold bottles of water in the refrigerator...two free painkiller rum cocktails...a fantastic continental breakfast with homemade almond cake, fresh fruits, meat, eggs, cheese..on and on. Loved the atmosphere...sitting on the porch watching people walk by while you drink coffee or have a hurricane. Rooms spotless, bed comfortable. On top of it all - very reasonable. We will definitely be back!!! Can't say enough! Thank you Barb for a wonderful trip :-)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stopped by here for drinks on our last two visits to Key West. Last week "Bahama" Bob served up some "Dark & Stormy" cocktails, and we sampled his home made Bark Rum. De-lish. This B&B is very homey. The owner showed our friends around an unoccupied room.They loved it. We scored a room there for a few days around the Nov. Veterans Day celebrations. Can't wait to be a resident of the Speakeasy. After running around Duvall all day, the Rum Bar IS the place to relax (inside or out) and people watched while enjoying the great rum drinks.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Willyp832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here during the second half of our babymoon. It was our "splurge" after staying at a budget guesthouse, but in reality, the room rates at the Speakeasy Inn are still some of the most reasonable in Key West. Our room was large and decorated very nicely in a classic island style (not cheesy rental beach house style). Their photos online don't do the rooms justice. The rooms are located over the rum bar, but we never had any trouble with noise. The continental breakfast was a definite plus. There was plenty to get you going for the morning. We enjoyed talking with the staff and bartenders during breakfast and happy hour. They include two free cocktails with your room... which I could not drink, of course, but they were super nice about making me non-alcoholic punch drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuildingHugger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

....and to watch for cruise people coming in. That is, the Tall Girll and i got some some rum runners at 11am (yes I know that is early) and we were alone until 11 AM. Boat people coming in...yes, we hate, er, tourists. Jammed after that, so you need to watch your timing. Liked this place, all in all, but wanted to leave after the boat people showed up. So will you. Did not have lunch, but thinking it may be good. Just not with boat people around. They are as obnoxious as you may imagine. Unless you are a boat person which means you have not idea about what I am talking about. The bar tender was overwhelmed making drinks for boat people.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Larz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#8 of 51 in Key West
698 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Speakeasy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Speakeasy Inn

Address: 1117 Duval Street, Key West, FL 33040-3156
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £114 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Speakeasy Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Speakeasy Inn is a landmark building located in the Boutique and Gallery District of Duval Street where you can shop or walk two blocks to the beach or a short stroll to world-famous Sunset Celebrations in Mallory Square! This landmark's recent renovation has preserved the original 19th century spirit of Old Town Key West. The decor in these spacious and airy suites is tropical and features hand-crafted queen beds and tables made from original 1876 pine recovered from our recent renovation. It has been restored to perfection, just for your pleasure. Each one, two, or three bedroom unit has a feeling of true Key West ambiance. You'll find collectibles taken from treasure hunts on our tropical island paradise and Havana, Cuba. Guests who require special consideration will find "accessible" units available. Amenities include kitchenettes equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, private bathrooms, a large screen HD T.V., free WiFi and outdoor seating areas. We also offer a complimentary continental breakfast, free samples of our famous Painkiller cocktail and discounts on drinks at The Rum Bar! The Speakeasy Inn was the home of Raul Vaquez, who was a cigar selector at the Gato cigar factory. Raul's true passion was rum-running between Key West and Cuba. It's in that spirit that our lobby features the Rum Bar open daily from 11am to 12pm (or later). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Speakeasy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speakeasy Inn And Rum Bar Hotel Key West
Speakeasy Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing