We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST GUESTHOUSE EVER!”
Review of Wicker Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wicker Guesthouse
Ranked #53 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We booked 2 nights (2 adults + 2 small childern). When we arrived the office was already closed. The room was super-small, no real (bright) lights inside, the Baby-Crib had not even a blanket/linen or something alike to cover the flat matress and - even more important - the Baby. In short words: We were shocked and really not happy. We tried to call the number (shown on the office) and had to call their "emergency-hotline". Unfortunately the lady on the phone could (or would) not help us - we had to pay for this night anyway. So we ended up with all the kids in the bed...and almost no sleep! Besides the lack of space there was so much noise in the night (as if there would be constructions going on somewhere near-by). Breakfast was next to the pool-outside. With only few chairs, few sun/rain-umbrellas and no high-chair for the Baby. No Chance to enjoy.
The only positive experience we made there is that the manager accepted our cancellation for the 2nd night without charging extra-fees. Nevertheless we will never go back there or recommend that place to other families. It's simply not worth the Money!
(For a little more [money] we found ourself a super-cool hotel-room - with unspeakable more to offer to their guest...)

Room Tip: sorry - what "good room"?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Aksiznarf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (672)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 672 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

Absolutely love everything about the Wicker Guest House! Rooms, staff, pool and location! It is a quaint little tropical paradise hide-a-way right on Duval Street. It's nice because you can walk anywhere in town from here. We have stayed a few times. The rooms are always clean and comfortable. You can't ask for more.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trixy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Just got home from 4 days in Key West. We stayed at The Wicker House and loved it. The rooms were very clean, the staff was most helpful, and the pool area was tropical in every way. We used the pool several times throughout the day to offset the heat and made some great new friends from Denmark. The breakfast was exceptional and we will definitely stay here on our next visit.

Room Tip: Choose a room off Duval for less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed one night at the wicker guesthouse. Great location. Rooms are clean and well equipped. Breakfast was a great bonus. Only cons were parking a block away (which isn't a big deal) and lugging your luggage up steps if you have a second floor room. I didn't mind because the property was worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I thought this place would be very inviting from the pictures, but I guess they are pros at Photo Shop... Upon arriving there was no where to park for check in, then they said that I had not paid my deposit (which I was able to pull up check on phone that had been cashed/deposited) After checking in they wanted the keys to my car in case they had to move it and was told that If I needed my car after hours that I needed to get keys before they leave and then return them back to them the next morning(headache).
Room was filthy and small enough for a child, not accomadating for 2 adults.
Walls in room are very thin, ac unit needs to be serviced(room very warm), water pressure very poor.
Huge bugs coming in room at night from a door that obviously was not installed by an expert.
Breakfast was horrible, they say continental breakfast but surely don't know the meaning of the word by what they are serving.
Office staff were RUDE, not welcoming or showing the least bit of hospitality.

After 1 night here we decided to take the lost on the rest of our stay, and went somewhere else (more affordable, better ammenities and staff that appreciated our buisness.

I do not recommend this place, however I would suggest to the owner to demolish this place and start over, hire new staff, lower your rates and last but not least; give people what they pay for...not an illusion of what you want this place to be.
WAY TO HIGH FOR A PLACE THAT NEEDS MAJOR RENOVATIONS.

FUTURE TRAVELERS, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED..........

Room Tip: Stay somewhere elsewith better accomadations, you will SAVE some money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DAVID J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very quaint little get away. Really enjoyed the location and the unique style of this B&B. Would suggest anyone to check out this little charm. Great location also!! Come and try it our for yourself!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathJoePA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed at the Wicker Guesthouse on Duval St last week for 4 nights...it was the most relaxing vacation we ever had. The property is beautiful. We were in a pool side room and absolutely loved our stay. If you enjoy bed & breakfast type vacation this is where you want to stay. Reasonable price, we booked on booking.com and received a decent rate for a studio room with a kitchenette. We were surprised when we looked in the bathroom and had a corner jacuzzi tub! That was a nice bonus since we were celebrating our recent engagement. The pool area was beautiful. The gardens & lay out of the outside common areas were spacious and very pretty. The poolside breakfast daily was awesome and saved us from eating breakfast out. Everything is expensive in Key West especially good meals.
The owner Mr Whitehead and his staff were the best on the island. We had friends staying in other hotels. They loved the place we chose and wished they had booked with us. There is a very nice Weber gas grill by the pool for guest to use. We did some grocery shopping and cooked several of our meals there and ate them poolside. Just like being home. I give this place 5 stars. We vacation in many bed & breakfast and live on the same island as Atlantic City NJ. We only stay in nice places and we will visit the Wicker Guesthouse again. Who knows we have decided to wait 4 yrs to get married since it is a second marriage for both of us, maybe we with exchange our vows at the Wicker Guesthouse one day. Thank you for a wonderful long weekend get away. Celebrating our engagement & my 50th birthday! We will visit the Wicker Guesthouse again in the future. Wouldn't stay anywhere else. If u like a smaller establishment with personal service this is where u want to stay. They also have a nice porch area to just sit in the shade and enjoy all the action on Duval...but when you are in the pool area/common areas you would never would know you are staying right in the middle of the Key West's busy Duval St
Marleis Plenus, Ventnor City, NJ

Room Tip: They have lots of room option even 2 private cottages. All located in the same block area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marleis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,369 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palms Hotel- Key West
The Palms Hotel- Key West
#45 of 77 in Key West
610 reviews
0.5 mi away
Island City House Hotel
Island City House Hotel
#16 of 77 in Key West
1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,017 reviews
0.7 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#34 of 77 in Key West
479 reviews
0.1 mi away
Merlin Guest House Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wicker Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wicker Guesthouse

Address: 913 Duval St, Key West, FL 33040-7407
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £139 - £398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wicker Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Key West Hospitality Inns is a family of Key West accommodations. Family-owned and operated since 2006, our properties suit a wide range of guests and families.Our four properties are meticulously maintained and located in the heart of historic Old Town Key West. Ideally located, our accommodations are within walking distance of countless restaurants, shops, art galleries, beaches, Mallory Square and mile-long Duval Street.Within our family of accommodations, we have four unique and distinct properties. Whether you are seeking a quiet, romantic, secluded stay, or vacation rentals for a family retreat, we have you covered. Our properties include a tropical bed and breakfast on Duval Street, a cozy inn near the beach and Southernmost Point, a historic “Conch” house, and quaint vacation cottages and studio apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Wicker Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wicker Guesthouse Hotel Key West
Wicker Guesthouse Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing