We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely a "Stay Again" Hotel”
Review of Almond Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Almond Tree Inn
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Definitely a "Stay Again" Hotel”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Like many other reviewers, my husband and I loved this hotel. Bill, Shea and Sean were wonderful hosts. The rooms are small but furnished to perfection. Pool and hot tub along with the KOI pond was great for relaxing. The proximity to Duval Street made all the Key West "attractions" within easy walking distance. We did not use our car until we drove out at the end of the stay. We were there over the holidays and the lights and decorations made the stay even more joyful.

Can't find anything bad to say about this place. If you want a giant room, this is not the place to be; but you will love it if you stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxTraveler832
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    213
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
294
983
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Marina, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed at Almond Tree Hotel for four nights over the Christmas holiday and we loved it.

The location is great, right next to Duval Street, but just tucked away enough from the noise at night.

Our room was fantastic, immaculately clean with beautiful furnishings. The large bed was like sleeping on a cloud, heavenly!

All the staff we met were fantastic, very professional, friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Sean/Shaun, who was great and nothing was too much trouble.

The hotel had been decorated out with Christmas lights and Christmas tree, and it was beautifully and tastefully done.

The inclusive continental breakfast was fabulous too, and we were looked after extremely well by Cindy and a young gentleman (sorry, didn't ask for name), who kept the breakfast area well stocked and tidy, and made breakfast a very enjoyable experience. It was a good way to meet other guests for an informal chat.

Pool area was nice and very clean, pool towels are placed on every lounger and used towels were constantly being taken away and replaced with freshly laundered ones. The chilled, cucumber flavoured water was a nice touch, available all day.

We would definitely recommend this hotel, the staff were first class, and the cleanliness and comfort of the hotel is second to none.

Thank you for a lovely holiday!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 104, right next to pool on ground floor, with no upper floor. Very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzymahem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel has all the amenities, great rooms and all the little things to make a perfect stay in Key West. Just a block off Duval, the location is perfect as well. The staff was friendly and provided as much guidance on attractions or restaurants as you wish.

I would definitely stay here again...and isn't that the most important fact?

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

I come down to Key West every year to visit friends and consequently have stayed in many places. Some big chains, others independently owned. And to be honest, they have all been interchangeable in my memory until the Almond Tree. The location is perfect -- right in the center of everything but quiet enough for a good night's sleep. The room, while small, was clean and the bed was soooo comfy. I really liked the artwork on the walls, too. (Better than your standard hotel fare.) It was nice to have my own little patio. I swam in the pool and enjoyed the coy in the outdoor pond. Best of all was the service. When little things went wrong -- room key demagnitized, no bathmat beside the tub -- Shawn was on it immediately and never, ever made me feel like a bother. Cindy was helpful, too, and came through with a meal coupon for my friends and I on Christmas Day. I've become accustomed to Key West front desk personnel who are overwhelmed by the holiday rush and don't have the time nor the inclination to be helpful. That was most emphatically NOT the Almond Tree. Service is most definitely their priority, and I appreciated it. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MsLaurie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

The staff and layout of the king suite was quite nice. However, the very loud noise from the walking around in the unit above for each of the 3 nights we were there (even with different guests) was most disturbing such that you cannot sleep as it sounds as if a herd of elephants were walking around above. I would not stay there again unless I were upstairs.

Room Tip: Do not stay in a downstairs room..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danbury, CT
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We were so happy to have found the Almond Tree Inn---a delicious respite in an otherwise crazy town. It was a little slice of heaven: so relaxing and well-kept with an amazingly friendly staff. How often can one say that about their hotel? We felt like the staff really cared about their guests. The extras of afternoon hors d'ouvres and drinks plus the attractively arranged breakfast was a feast for the eyes and the palate. We would definitely return and recommend this place to our friends.
The only improvement we would suggest is for a bit more lighting in the room (101) over the dresser so that you could see the make coffee better in the morning.
A side note---recommend the Square One restaurant for dinner right around the corner --an easy walk.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Wow. Simply wow. We stayed three nights and regret not spending our ENTIRE vacation here. A small inn, the grounds are lovely, the rooms modern and immaculate and the staff are wonderful. Special thanks to Sean for all the good suggestions on restaurants and outings. The breakfast and happy hour were great bonuses. Do not hesitate to stay. Worth every penny. Maybe more..... :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,156 reviews
0.2 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,032 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Tree Inn

Property: Almond Tree Inn
Address: 512 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-3141
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almond Tree Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Almond Tree Inn came to life in 2013 when we pulled together beautiful, green minded, and Made in the USA products from the top manufactures and designers in the industry. The guest rooms feature custom made furnishings, amazing showers, the latest in technology, stunning wood floors, luxurious linens, and beautiful artwork by local artist.With the ambiance of a secluded resort you would never imagine Duval Street is just 50 steps outside our gates... "Ranked #1 Hotels & Resorts in Key West by TripAdvisor with over 700 five star ratings" Winner "Certificate of Excellence 2011,12,13,14,15". Travelers Choice Award #10 Small Hotel in the USA 2015. Give us a call to book your stay and join us in Celebrating a New Almond Tree Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Almond Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Tree Hotel Key West
Almond Tree Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing