We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!!”
Review of Almond Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Almond Tree Inn
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Carlton, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!!”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

By far the best place to stay in all of Key West! It was our second stay here and it's always perfect!
The rooms are very nice and clean. The beds are super comfy. They put on a very nice breakfast and happy hour in the evening. The staff rocks.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,407
    209
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
288
978
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (360)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswego, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the Almond Tree last week. Most everything positive about the Almond Tree has already been posted by past reviewers, and I agree with them.

Great Location
Super Clean
Breakfast/Happy Hour
Friendly Staff

From the moment we checked in, everything was perfect. We arrived during the evening happy hour, and after getting our things into the room and freshening up we went straight out for a drink near the pool. We met some of the other guest and talked to Cindy, whom was behind the front desk and in charge for the evening. Cindy was extremely helpful with dinner reservations and was just very nice and helpful about everything.

We had plans to just stay two nights, but it wasn't long before we knew we wanted to stay an additional evening. We did have to change rooms to stay, but the staff took care of everything. We went out after breakfast leaving one room, and returned after lunch finding all our things nicely taken care of and placed in our new room.

I'm not sure when we will get back to Key West, but when we do, will stay at the Almond Tree Inn

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WrigleyRegular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night in a King 'Suite,' wasn't really a suite, just a larger than average room with a pull out couch inconveniently located right in front of the door. We paid over $500 for this suite. I know it was Spring Break but please. This is hardly the Ritz. Loved the location, it was clean and comfortable and the people who worked there are lovely. Don't think we'll be back though, they allow kids (have them but don't want to be around them in KW) and it's overpriced.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 1KirstenV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had another great vacation stay at the Almond Tree. The hotel is beautiful ! Every detail is perfect. There is constant personal service and extreme cleanliness on the property.

The rooms have recently been redone and updated. The location is perfect for walking around Duval street. No need for a car, but plenty of parking if you have one.

Would certainly stay again and again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelissaSachs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We just returned from a 2 night stay at the Almond Tree Inn and had a very enjoyable time. The hotel is in a perfect location and appears to be an older style motel that the owners cleverly relandscaped and refurbished in order to turn it into an upscale inn. While I'm not sure if I can add anything that hasn't been said before, I'll pass along what made the biggest impressions on us:

Pro:
Very friendly, very attentive staff.
Wonderful location close to the fun of Duvall Street with none of the noise or associated crowds.
Well cared for pool and patio area.
Clean, beautifully decorated rooms.
Happy Hour with complimentary snacks and at least one drink.
Included continental breakfast with good selection of muffins, fruits and other breads.

Con:
Our room was on the small side, at least in relation to the king sized bed. I would have much preferred more room to maneuver and less unused bed space.
The limited room space meant only one of us could use a luggage rack - I was constantly taking out and putting away my suitcase.
The bathroom door was a heavy sliding semi-transparent panel - attractive but it let the bathroom light shine through to the bedroom. Not a problem during the day but at night it meant you pretty much were turning a bright light on in the bedroom.
The bathroom sink is located in the room, always a disappointment from a privacy perspective.
Due to the bright bathroom light and the sink situation anyone trying to get ready in the morning while others sleep is in a bind - my wife ended up using a flashlight one morning.
Parking is an additional 10 dollars - this seems unreasonable considering the price of the rooms and the apparently sufficient parking space the motel possesses.
The room 'refrigerator' appears to actually be a type of wine cooler - while very attractive it doesn't lend itself well to holding basic groceries.
Our room was on the end of a long first floor row - while 95% of the rooms looked out on the pool, our admittedly more private room looked out on a storage shed of some sort.
The free WiFi service worked well throughout the hotel grounds - except for our room, where the signal was too low to connect. Perhaps using some of the parking fees to get an extender should be considered.
The number of pool lounges is small in relation to the number of guests. While there are barstools and patio tables set up that can handle the overflow, if you really want to lie in the sun you can have an issue. While space constraints possibly prevent adding more, management should perhaps consider discouraging the use of reserving vacant lounges as some guests were doing with their reading materials and pool towels.

When all is said and done the importance of the Pros outweigh the more numerous annoyances of the Cons - we really enjoyed our stay, but some things could be improved.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaJoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Thank you to all the Trip Advisor contributors who rated this hotel! I chose it because of the great reviews and we were not a bit disappointed. Everything was perfect! The staff, the service, the spotlessly clean rooms, the location, the breakfast, the happy hour----what more can I say? The hotel is small enough that you are comfortable with the surroundings and the staff from the time of your arrival. We stayed five nights in March and if we return to Key West, we will definitely stay at the Almond Tree again. Thanks to Bill, Sean, and Jose----hope to see you again in a couple years!

Room Tip: We had a deluxe king room, ground level, right at the pool! #105....very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AandK07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan City, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Once again I was able to visit Key West my favorite place in the USA. Spent a week at the Almond Tree and it was again Awesome!!! The staff was so helpful and always went the extra mile. This hotel is in the heart of Key West and you feel like your in your own little world. The pool and hot tub are a very welcome treat, The beds are the best and I believe the pillow was made by an angle, some of the best sleep I have ever had. If your heading to Key West you really need to stop and stay awhile.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dmayer12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,741 reviews
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Tree Inn

Property: Almond Tree Inn
Address: 512 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-3141
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almond Tree Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Almond Tree Inn came to life in 2013 when we pulled together beautiful, green minded, and Made in the USA products from the top manufactures and designers in the industry. The guest rooms feature custom made furnishings, amazing showers, the latest in technology, stunning wood floors, luxurious linens, and beautiful artwork by local artist.With the ambiance of a secluded resort you would never imagine Duval Street is just 50 steps outside our gates... "Ranked #1 Hotels & Resorts in Key West by TripAdvisor with over 700 five star ratings" Winner "Certificate of Excellence 2011,12,13,14,15". Travelers Choice Award #10 Small Hotel in the USA 2015. Give us a call to book your stay and join us in Celebrating a New Almond Tree Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Almond Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Tree Hotel Key West
Almond Tree Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing