We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave”
Review of Almond Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Almond Tree Inn
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
bolton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We didn't want to leave”
Reviewed 20 October 2008

It would be difficult find fault with this wonderful little hotel. We stayed in the King Suite for 3 nights at the end of September 2008.
A great location in a strongly recommended area. The hotel is in old town, on Truman street which is just off Duval street and only a few blocks from the Hemingway house.
The continental breakfast was delightful and there was a good selection ranging from fruit, yogurt, bagels, French toast, cereals and danishes. There was a happy hour every night from 5pm to 7pm where drinks were free and snacks were served.
The gardens were beautiful with well established trees, plants and flowers. It is obvious that the owners and staff take great pride in working here and keeping it well managed.
The rooms were luxurious and the bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in. The air con was quiet and a perfect temperature.
We cannot wait to go back. Thank you to all for making our Key West experience perfect.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tracy8365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    208
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
282
967
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2008

My father and I stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed it immensely.

It is an older property that has been updated on the interior and exterior. The owners have gone the extra mile to make it as nice as they can given the space limitations.

It is right off Duval Street and all the hot spots but it is a nice quiet place.

Our only complaint was some noise from upstairs but that can happen on occasion in an older place.

We would stay again!

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Tennbidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islamorada FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2008

We have stayed at this property in the past & always loved it. This time it was our 20th anniversary & We had just a short time to get away. We looked at other places for about & hour & again returned to The lovely oasis of the Almond Tree. The manager Jose, was courteous and even remembered us from last fall. He gave us a beautiful romantic king room upstairs for our anniversary. They had added new luxury duvet bedding & a sexy shag rug right next to "his side of the bed" this year. We love the olde feel of the property,but every modern amenity is in place and does not clash with the elegant/decadent Keys feel the place exudes. The clean glassbrick shower, outside powder room With lighted Mag mirror really makes getting ready for a special night out easy on a couple of 20 years. They do a lovely happy hour from 5-7PM with varied nibbles & an "extras" style continental in the AM ( No stale box doughnuts here) it is fresh fruit, yogurt, hard boiled eggs & bagels to fresh raisin toast. The pool, hot tub, rooms & everything is immaculate. The landscaping had been redone since our last visit & we thought it looked even more beautiful and refined. The HK staff is friendly and non-intrusive, but will do everthing to accomodate a guest, including our little electric scooters we had to plug in thier area, or in our room. Don't miss the chance to shower up & don the spa style bathrobes they provide before you dress for the evening *wink* We will be back!

  • Liked — location, attention to detail, elegance for the price
  • Disliked — That my boss didn't pay for it!
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamigrrl46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

This is a great place! My family of 5 stayed here Aug. 12 and 13.
We had a 2 bedroom queen suite, rm 111. A sofa bed, table and chair and armoire with TV filled the room which was nicely decorated in a British Colonial scheme. The beds were on the firm side, but comfortable.
The gounds are very lush with a waterfall Koi pond, a spa, pool and a shaded sitting area. Fabulous colorful flora and cute little lizards which are fun to watch scurying about!
Internet service is provided free, but works best when sitting outside.

The inn is located less than 1 block from Duval St. on the quieter side, but withing walking distance to most things. Right next door on Truman St. is a drug store, pizza shop and a few other stores.

A breakfast with loads of choice including french toast is provided each morning and a happy hour at 5 pm with beer, wine, cheese and crackers and fresh fruits was nice too.

My only gripe would be the bathroom. It was just too small. The toilet and glass block shower are in one room. There was just no room to even turn around! A large person could have difficulty. There was a very large area with the granite top sink which could have been used as a dressing area except there was no door. It seems that the bathroom design wasn't laid out in the most optimal way. An accordian door could easily provide a private dressing area.
All in all it is a very comfortable, quiet and clean place to relax at after a long day of siteseeing or water adventure.

  • Liked — location, breakfast ,lush grounds
  • Disliked — bathroom is too small
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank likry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2008

After making a last minute decision to travel to Key West for the first time, my wife and I had no reservations and only an idea to stay in Key West for a couple nights. I walked off the street and through the front door, met Kim -who was wonderfully kind - and booked a room, and was unsure as to what we would find upon entering the room. We were thrilled once we opened the door to the king suite. The room was comfortable, clean, and cute. We loved it!

We strolled through the courtyard before heading a 1/4 block to Duval St. only to observe a number of the guests hanging out by the Pavillion Bar for a complimentary happy hour. People were friendly, relaxed, and happy. Why wouldn't they be so laid back? The setting of the courtyard seduces those who pass through.

We enjoyed our first two nights so much that we decided to extend our stay in Key West and our stay at the Almond Tree Inn. The only thing I would change is reserving a room for the Almond Tree instead of chancing it. It was pure luck that we pulled into the Almond Tree's lot and scored a room.

Pros: Close to all the major sites, private rooms, friendly staff, wonderful pool and courtyard, generous continental breakfasts and happy hours, coffee shop and ATM next door, and safe.

Cons: We've been home for a couple hours, and we still cannot think of any.

  • Liked — Proximaty
  • Disliked — --
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WISadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2008

The Almond Tree is in a fantastic location, just round the corner from Duval Street, and a 10 minute walk down Duval Street to Mallory Square.

The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The whole atmosphere is very chilled out. There is a great little pool and hot tub, and very pretty bijou grounds – we had a mini-waterfall and a pond with tropical fish right outside our room!

The staff are very friendly and helpful and provide very personalised, caring service. They provide a great continental breakfast free of charge, and there are free drinks and nibbles at happy hour each night. There is a car park (costs a very reasonable $7 per day). It is good value for money.

I just wish we had been able to stay longer! If we go back to Key West, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — location, rooms, relaxed atmosphere, happy hour, breakfast, service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kirkolam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2008

This place was great. Initially, I didn't want to stay here because it didn't seem as nice as some other places based on the pictures. Boy, was I wrong. This place was a wonderful respite from busy Duval, but smack in the middle of everything. It was great. Wonderful staff, happy hour, and breakfast. I would totally stay here again. It really was lovely and the parking was also great for only 7 bucks extra a day. No hidden fees, we just really loved this place. Last time we went to key west we stayed at little palm island for 1000 buck a night. This time, we wanted someplace nearly as nice, but without the cost. We found it -- this place was really great and I don't say that lightly.

  • Liked — The room was very nice!
  • Disliked — Everything was great -- but get to happy hour early to get a chair by the pool.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicky72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.6 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almond Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almond Tree Inn

Property: Almond Tree Inn
Address: 512 Truman Avenue, Key West, FL 33040-3141
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Almond Tree Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Almond Tree Inn came to life in 2013 when we pulled together beautiful, green minded, and Made in the USA products from the top manufactures and designers in the industry. The guest rooms feature custom made furnishings, amazing showers, the latest in technology, stunning wood floors, luxurious linens, and beautiful artwork by local artist.With the ambiance of a secluded resort you would never imagine Duval Street is just 50 steps outside our gates... "Ranked #1 Hotels & Resorts in Key West by TripAdvisor with over 700 five star ratings" Winner "Certificate of Excellence 2011,12,13,14,15". Travelers Choice Award #10 Small Hotel in the USA 2015. Give us a call to book your stay and join us in Celebrating a New Almond Tree Inn! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Almond Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almond Tree Hotel Key West
Almond Tree Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing