We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay in Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Ranked #47 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great staff all around the resort with quiet public places in the hart of Key West. Close to Sunset celebration and Duval.
Stay on my time-share week in May, allways a great experiance.
Would like to congratulate manager and staff specially Sahara in the front desk for being so helpfull in finding our Sunset Cruise.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivianrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Vivianrod,

Thank you so much for your review of Hyatt Sunset Harbor! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. I have forwarded your kind words to our entire team and shared your compliments with Sahara. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had a ball while staying at this property. Only 48 units so you could always grab a lounge chair to lay out on. The pool was amazing, so were the guests. Everyone was so friendly; several people exchanged names and numbers!
Every Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday the hotel had events planned in the afternoon. Every one them were so interesting! Our favorite of all was when The scientists came in from The Science Marine Camp. Not only did we hear about the sea life here, but we got to see and touch the live critters! You could hear a pin drop - everyone was waiting for the next sea creature to come around!
The pool was great, the talks were good, and the restaurants and nightlife were superb! You are only 3 short blocks from the heart of Duval. You have your choice of a zillion fabulous restaurants. Our favorite was Two Friends - lobster tail for just $19.99! We ate there three times. They also serve breakfast and lunch. Another fave was Red Fish, Blue Fish. Both of these are within 6 Blocks so we walked. We did rent bikes for $55/week but found it was easier to walk.
Don't miss Mallory Square for the sunsets. They also have street performers and great vendors!
We will definitely be back for more around the Holidays!

Room Tip: Grab any of them! All have a view of the pool or harbor. We stayed on the second floor and could b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovethatwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Lovethatwater,

Thank you so much for such genuine, detailed comments about your recent visit! I'm so glad you enjoyed our new Marine Scientist Guided Talk. Many thanks for Sherri Paris and her knowledgeable, enthusiastic team for bringing the Eco Resort Series to the Hyatt Residence Clubs here in Key West! Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor travelers. We hope to welcome you back to Sunset Harbor again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

It's a great place to stay and relax and enjoy the activities at the Sunset each night. Also, enjoy the laid back time......relax. Lots to do and lots to enjoy. It is fun fun fun!!!! Take a Trolly ride or enjoy a sunset cruise. Eat, drink and be merry.

Room Tip: Do not take one on the West side since the activities with boats going out and people walking and pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolb737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Carol B,

I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay here at Sunset Harbor and I want to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and recent experience at Sunset Harbor. I'm sure your fellow travelers will find your room tips extremely helpful as well. Please come back and see us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I must say, while it wasn't the most opulent room we stayed in ever, it was one of the best experiences. The staff were ridiculously friendly, amazingly accommodating, and great resources. Even though we had an issue with Amex travel, Derek the General Manager was very accommodating and helped us tremendously. It was a beautiful view, great location, and while a bit pricey, worth it.

Room Tip: Great hotel, just try to get one by the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank padredelosninos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NINA D, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Padredelosninos,
Thank you for taking time to write such a kind review. I am glad you enjoyed your encounters with our staff and that we were able to assist you with your needs. We appreciate you sharing your experience and hope to welcome you back to Hyatt Sunset Harbor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is the smallest Hyatt in the US forty rooms, it is on the harbor and has a beautiful view of the Sunset. It is a two minute walk to Duval Street where all the action is and the place is well maintained and had a wonderful pool area. It could use a full length mirror in every room, and trucks make deliveries to the nearby Westin property at 6:00 in the morning. Being a light sleeper this was a problem. If they could stop delivers until 8:00 am the problem will be solved. It is a wonderful property and as an owner we are satisfied, but we can always strive to be better.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank m1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek N, General Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

m1006,

Thank you so much for your kind words. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hyatt Sunset Harbor and were able to enjoy the pool area. I do apologize for any deliveries in the area and the subsequent noise they might make. I will reach out to management at the nearby resort and see if there is anything we can do to push back any early deliveries. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts on Sunset Harbor and I hope we see you again very soon!

Regards,
Derek

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Sunset Harbor is a 40 unit Hyatt timeshare with 17 different floor plans so I can only speak to our unit which was 432. It is a 2 story, 2 bedroom and 3 full bath townhouse. There are 2 balconies. The floor plan is huge to the point of there being wasted space. The furniture certainly needs updating and the kitchen sure could use a major remodeling. The staff at the front desk is the best that we have come across in our travels. The pool is small but by Key West standards, it is huge. One problem is that half the chairs have towels on them by 9 am (shades of Aruba!) and people don't show till 11 or 12. Another problem is that the cruise ships dock very close by but they typically are gone by 5 pm. The location is ideal to walk to EVERYTHING that Key West has to offer. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely return some day.

Room Tip: Our stay was through an Interval International exchange so we got the unit that the owners had depos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gofishnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NINA D, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Gofishnj,
I'd first like to so say thank you for your review, and I am very happy you enjoy your stay. We are currently in the design phase for the living room sofa beds and area rugs. We do have several major projects that are scheduled, in efforts to continue improving Sunset Harbor. We look forward to your next stay at Hyatt Sunset Harbor!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We make this a yearly event. We generally go with friends. We have a long list of places to go and things to do but often enjoy the pool the most.

Fun to watch the cruise ships come and go. Occasionally, we get to hear Mickey Mouse.

Going to spend one night there again Saturday. Have the Resturants for dinner down to three.

Hope the airplanes cooperate.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MSGTEgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NINA D, Front Office Manager at Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

MSGTEgon,
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hyatt Sunset Harbor. We enjoy seeing familiar faces and welcoming you back to the property. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.2 mi away
The Weatherstation Inn
The Weatherstation Inn
#50 of 77 in Key West
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Margaritaville Key West Resort & Marina
3.7 mi away
Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House
0.3 mi away
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
Ocean Key Resort & Spa
#12 of 51 in Key West
2,615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort

Address: 200 Sunset Way, Key West, FL 33040-8312
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £294 - £806 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Condominium Resort with Victorian styling; situated in the heart of Old Town, overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing