We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I want to stay here again!”
Review of The Gardens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gardens Hotel
Ranked #3 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 16 June 2014

There cannot be a better place to enjoy Key West's sights, sounds and pleasures. The Gardens' location and grounds are fabulous, and breakfasts were delicious. We enjoyed the wine bar, relaxed by the pool and were in easy walking distance to all of the attractions Key West offers. Our room was immaculate and ultra-comfortable. We will be returning to The Gardens when we return to KW.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keysk8e, Owner at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

Thank you So much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are indeed blessed to be able to share our island paradise with folks who "get" what we are trying to create at The Gardens!
We definitely want you back! Sooner rather than later..........
kate and crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,783)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Garden Hotel is a treasure for relaxing and enjoying Key West. We loved the tropical environment. Duval St., Mallory Square, Sloppy Joes and other activities & sights are in walking distance of the hotel. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated with luxurious linens. They offer a wine bar, pool bar and a piano player(couple nights a week) along with a continental breakfast. The owner is very involved with the happiness of her guests. The staff was always helpful, friendly, and courteous. A treasured retreat and memory. We loved our stay at the Garden Hotel and looking forward to our next trip there.

Room Tip: All rooms are GREAT!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keysk8e, Owner at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We Want you to stay here again! I must admit that I personally enjoy the wine bar! I call it my hurricane shelter. If we ever get a big wind, that's the place I want to be! Glad to hear that our housekeeping staff kept your room immaculate. Everyone should expect that! Happy that you are joining our family of repeat guests and hope your return is soon.
kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I have never understood why people come to Key West and stay in a chain hotel when there are guest houses and small hotels that offer more for the money. I have been to many of these smaller establishments and rank The Gardens at the top. Lovely, quiet, elegant. Center of town but you would never know that from the inside. Excellent service and attention to detail. Complimentary buffet breakfast offered better quality choices than most.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keysk8e, Owner at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2014

I think the reason that some people choose the bigger chain hotels in Key West is that it is their first time here and they want to have the safety of staying at a property that is consistent nationwide. Key West is indeed, different and we think we are as well. We have so many guests who discover The Gardens while exploring the island when they are staying at another property. We are always happy to give a tour of our property to people who may be staying elsewhere. There are many lovely properties in Key West. We thank you for ranking us at the top!

All of us at The Gardens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Gardens hotel is within walking distance of most of the popular sites in Key West, just a block off Duval St. The staff was wonderfully helpful and courteous. Our room was beautiful with luxurious linens on the bed and marble in the bath. Fresh coffee, cereal, meat, cheese, fruit and French pastries were available for breakfast each morning. I can't think of anything that would have made our stay better. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Onthego111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keysk8e, Owner at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thanks so much for the kind words. All of us work very hard to assure each and every one of our guests have a wonderful holiday. I always love meeting folks from the mid west (where I grew up). It was a pleasure getting to spend some time with you! Come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My experience at The Gardens was one I will remember forever! It was a very personal, friendly, clean, off the beaten path find. I slept like a baby and the bedding was luxurious. It's worth every penny that you will spend. The owner is extremely involved with the happiness of the guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keysk8e, Owner at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

HI Sharon C
Wow! You made our day with your glowing review. If a guest isn't happy, none of us is happy! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
All the best,

Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We just returned from yet another trip to our absolute favorite destination. The Gardens Hotel is an oasis located a minute from all the action of Duval Street, yet so isolated, quiet and peaceful, you'd think you were miles away from everything. We absolutely love the staff. They treat you like family and bend over backwards to accomodate your every request, tend to your every need. Our room was perfectly luxurious, as always. The complimentary breakfast is delicious and presented beautifully. And don't miss Sunday evening jazz! Listening to the live music, surrounded by the tropical landscaping, while sipping a glass of wine is a pleasure not to be missed. The d'vine Wine Gallery offers fine wines from all over the world with great selection, and very fair prices. Overall, The Gardens offers the highest level of luxury and we will return for our next vacation. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danamania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keysk8e, Owner at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Welcome back Danamania! Always happy to see our return guests have enjoyed another stay at The Gardens. You are what makes this job so fun and rewarding. Glad you enjoyed jazz while here on Sunday. Only two more weeks til we take our summer hiatus, but Jazz will start up again in October. Looking forward to your next visit.
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel, marred only by being dirty. My wife refused to touch the light-switches in the bathroom because they were so grimy. It doesn't look like anybody has done deep cleaning in a very long time. Grime on switches, ledges, and all the little places that need only occasional attention. This was especially ironic since they left an envelope in the room specifically begging for an additional tip for the housekeeper.

The hotel is in a good location, it's quite charming, the management is very nice, and it is decorated superbly. So, if you don't have a think about grime on all lightswitches and dust on windowsills and tile edges then this really is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: We had room #3 and it was good, aside from the lack of deep cleaning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kovanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keysk8e, Owner at The Gardens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Oh My! I am completely embarrassed that our housekeeping staff fell short and that there was dirt on the light switch. I immediately checked the room myself and you of course were correct. Please accept my sincere apology and be assured that this was addressed with our housekeepers and their supervisor. This WILL NOT happen again! We would certainly have liked to have been told this as soon as it was noticed. Our goal is to make sure everything is spotless. If we fall short of that goal, we could have immediately taken care of it for you. I am happy that the rest of your stay was great and thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Hope you will come back to visit and enjoy Everything about your stay!
Best to you both,
Kate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#5 of 51 in Key West
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
H2O Suites Hotel
H2O Suites Hotel
#1 of 51 in Key West
172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Santa Maria Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gardens Hotel

Address: 526 Angela St, Key West, FL 33040-7433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Key West
#1 Luxury Hotel in Key West
#5 Best Value Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £227 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gardens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the largest private estate in Key West, the expansive grounds of The Gardens Hotel house 20 luxurious guest suites, and comprise over an acre of lush, tropical landscaping just steps away from Key West's infamous Duval Street. The Gardens Hotel calls to mind the best of elegant boutique hotels,but with a decidedly Key West atmosphere. Start your day with a tropical complimentary breakfast and relax in our pool open 24 hours. Our d'Vine Wine Gallery is the first Enomatic wine tasting system in the Keys. Taste, Flight or full pour, you can enjoy up to 35 different wines from around the world. Every Sunday 'Live Jazz In The Gardens' starts at 5 and ends around 7:30pm. Live piano in our Cabaret, Wednesday through Saturday, 5-7pm. Now a tradition and a stop off for both locals and guests, world class entertainers all in the beautiful Gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gardens Hotel Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing