We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the nights, but maybe not for the days.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Key West Bayside Inn & Suites
Ranked #49 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Huntington Woods, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great place for the nights, but maybe not for the days.”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This facility is "vintage," and everything that goes with it.

This is not the nicest hotel in Key West, nor is it the most convenient. But it is considerably less expensive than average, the rooms are clean, the parking and Internet are free, and the front desk is helpful. The breakfast is decent, too. But it's seen better days, and probably hasn't been updated since the 50's or 60's. The veneer on the table in our room was curling up at the edges, but we found it more amusing than annoying. The room was very small, but the two of us managed just fine. The valve on the shower required a phone call to the front desk to understand how it worked, but was fine to manipulate once explained.

I'd stay here again because it was pleasant enough, and took a very small part of our travel budget, leaving lots left for all the things we wanted to do in Key West. If we had wanted to spend a great deal of time at the hotel as a base for our vacation, however, it wouldn't have been adequate.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jdl50cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    196
    165
    81
    96
See reviews for
165
295
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

The worst ever!!!
I wish we had read the reviews before we booked it as we would have never checked in.
I swear the good reviews were written by the management there, not true!!
The rooms were not as portrayed on the website. It is very small and everything needs updating. The bed was old and completely worn out.
We paid $260 a night but would have paid $29 if it were elsewhere.
A one star at best...

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key West hotels

Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We found the staff to be very helpful. Mr. Jamie and the front desk staff arranged things for us and there was never an issue!!! They were extremely nice! They didn't have our room available when we decided to stay there another night, upgraded us with no problems and reasonable! If you want a big breakfast go a restaurant (I read complaints on this) the website said exactly what they had so no surprises to us...will be back

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TraciL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We paid almost $200/night for a very small room and a horrible bed. We will do our homework before we stay in Key West again. The room we had was not what we viewed on the website. It was tiny with just a small window on the parking area and no ocean view as expected. The daily breakfast was just enough for a snack. I travel and have stayed in many different hotels with a variety of nightly stay amounts. I understand that you get what you pay for but we got no where near what we paid for. As a diabetic there was no breakfast choice to meet my needs. I have spent less and had excellent breakfast at other locations that fit my needs.

The hotel was recommended to us and it is why we booked but now we wish we had viewed Tripadvisor before we booked. We will be sure to do so on further bookings.

Room Tip: Do not choose a room here if you value sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyMc44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Room is tiny and outdated, the bed was so uncomfortable and worn out,the breakfast wasn't very good i think the pastries were little Debbie that seem stale even when fresh, and they charge $200 a night,we stayed in a better motel on the way down to the Keys and only paid $30 for that which is about all the bay side inn and suites is worth

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We have traveled a lot and this was the worst hotel we have ever stayed. The room was a small, dark, window-less, right opposite to the elevator. The second when we walked into the room, the first thought came to our mind was that when was the last time they clean the room. The room has a strange smell. Even the bathroom looked better than the bedroom. For a two people bedroom, we only had two towel; when we called the front desk and asked for more towels and shampoo, we were told that we needed to go down to get it. And they ran out of shampoo too at 3 o'clock in the morning. They skipped cleaning our room for 3 days continuously out of a week. We saw them clean the two suites on both side of the room and then just simplily skip my room. When we went to the front desk and complained about the situation and asked for more shampoo and towels, she said because we stayed in a small two bedroom, so we only got two towel, and they didn't have any extra shampoo still. She had a strong attitude, and talked very rude. This hotel did not seek for solution but excuse. This hotel is definitely the worst hotel in the Key West. We don't know how they could charge almost 200 USD for one night. If you do not want to ruin your vacation, DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Just simply do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExcalliburAithusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, CO
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We stayed here from December 26 until the 31st this year. (2013) It was probably a cutting edge classy place 25 years ago and if you are looking for a reasonable price for a group it is okay. We stayed in one of the 4th floor 3 bedroom suites with our son and grandkids and the roominess was great. The furnishings, breakfasts, and internet service are not so great but were there. The McDonalds just a few hundred yards to the east will supply your internet needs and we were able to gather great stuff from the Publix grocery store just west of the hotel and cook fine breakfasts for ourselves in the suite's kitchen. The pool was nice and very few other guests used it. Compared to the lodging cost at this time for other facilities (which may or may not have been better) I was satisfied with the value. I wish they would finish the construction on North Franklin in front of the hotel though as it makes it very difficult to get downtown in periods of high traffic, which seemed to be the entire time we were there.

Room Tip: I would only stay here for the suites, not the regular hotel rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
895 reviews
0.3 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#31 of 51 in Key West
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Bayside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Bayside Inn & Suites

Property: Key West Bayside Inn & Suites
Address: 3444 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4224 (Formerly Travelodge & Suites Key West)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Key West Bayside Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mostly suite accommodations of 1200 Square feet with master bedrooms full size living areas, and full kitchens with washer and dryer in the suite. All suites have bay views from a double balcony, and the two and three bedroom suites 2300 square feet have a second level with a private sunning balcony overlooking the island community. For the value traveler we offer standard rooms. 110 Square feet, flat screen TV, clean and comfortable, but does not provide a view or a balcony. Perfect for overnight sightseeing trips, or overnight after a great fishing adventure. A free continental breakfast awaits you every morning. Parking, WIFI, and concierge services are all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Key West Bayside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge And Suites Key West
Travelodge & Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Travelodge Hotel Key West
Travel Lodge Key West
Travelodge Key West
Key West Travel Lodge
Key West Travelodge
Key West Bayside Inn & Suites Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing