We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Key West Bayside Inn & Suites
Ranked #49 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 19 March 2014

The rooms are old. Everything in them is old. If you plan on eating the breakfast they provide, I hope you like refined carbs. frozen danish, cereal, bagels, toast, and juice.
The hotel is right on Rt 1, which at that point is 4 lanes of traffic going 50 MPH. You have to run across the street to get to the bike path. We thought we would ride bikes to town but the bike path was under construction and it was treatorous. The hotel isn't near anything, except an IHOP. Taxis will say 10 minutes but as the staff will tell you, they take their sweet time, like up to an hour. Plus they charged us $12.50 each for a 3 mile ride. So for my husband and I to go to town in the evening it was $50 round trip.
We are pretty easy going but and can deal with allot. I felt ripped off. I appealed the charges and said I'd pay 1/2 (which I have never done before) but Bayside denied the request.
If you go to to Key West,do yourselves a favor and stay further out near the best western wich is near the beach, or stay in town.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank windy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (681)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 681 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Wouldn't choose this hotel again when staying in Key West. Low value for the price I paid compared to other hotels we've stayed at. The room was clean, but only had tiny windows - felt like we were in a small box. Location is too far from all the restaurants and beaches (too long of a walk - need a bike, or vehicle transportation). Biggest complaint is that the walls are paper thin. We could hear everything outside our door and all the way down to the ground from the third level. There were a bunch of spring breakers and they were SO noisy. Hated that.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are the only way to go - all others have tiny windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLK_AOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Old, not very clean, and way out of the way. Other hotels on this side of Key West have transportation into town. Not this place, you gotta cab it at $20 a trip. On the good side, the breakfast was nice for the kids, the rooms were clean (although the shower faucet was loose, about the break off and dripped constantly) and the pool is okay. For what they charge, I'll never stay here again. Trust me, it doesn't look like the pretty pictures they put on the site and in their ads.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bribos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Absolutely loved it! It said 2.5 stars and we were pleasantly surprised when we got there to find out it is more of a 3+ stars hotel. Clean, decent size rooms, good bathrooms, Tommy Bahama shampoos, quiet location and quiet hotel in general. The staff were lovely and very helpful. They also have pool and hot tub (fantastic for a 2.5 star) and they help with bicycle rentals (which we absolutely loved for going around Key West). We'll be back!!! Breakfast was good for my boyfriend, not great for me :-) but I don't eat much to start with.

Room Tip: Get a suite, they have ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MariaN1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

the staff here were absolutely wonderful! it was one of the highlights of our stip to stay here.. however, rooms were pretty average for $260 per night. we only stayed one night and this place was sooooo much nicer than the hotel we had booked for 5 days, so this was a superb getaway compared to where we were at. all in all it was a very nice room, but not what we expected for this price.. but for the weather and the fun that we had in key west.. oh yes it was well worth it!!

Room Tip: staff here are wonderful!! as is the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tab507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The guy in front desk wasn't very helpful.
When we ask for some activities he didn't took time to advice us on tours....
The hotel is far from the center and next from the highway which is easy to access but not very comfortable.

Regarding the room, mattress is terrible... the worst I ever had in an hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Amandine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

The room was musty. The mattress was beyond use, with his and hers 3" deep craters in the center that popped the springs when you rolled over. If you check in and they give you room 211 move on.
This is not what tourists expect! They need to seriously renovate.
Desk staff courteous but no help with our problem.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lovieqd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
951 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,377 reviews
0.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Key West Bayside Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Key West Bayside Inn & Suites

Address: 3444 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4224 (Formerly Travelodge & Suites Key West)
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £152 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Key West Bayside Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mostly suite accommodations of 1200 Square feet with master bedrooms full size living areas, and full kitchens with washer and dryer in the suite. All suites have bay views from a double balcony, and the two and three bedroom suites 2300 square feet have a second level with a private sunning balcony overlooking the island community. For the value traveler we offer standard rooms. 110 Square feet, flat screen TV, clean and comfortable, but does not provide a view or a balcony. Perfect for overnight sightseeing trips, or overnight after a great fishing adventure. A free continental breakfast awaits you every morning. Parking, WIFI, and concierge services are all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Key West Bayside Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge And Suites Key West
Travelodge & Suites Key West Hotel Key West
Travelodge Hotel Key West
Travel Lodge Key West
Travelodge Key West
Key West Travel Lodge
Key West Travelodge
Key West Bayside Inn & Suites Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing