We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveller rating
493
208
70
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
493
208
70
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews abbey road time share snack shack full kitchen shuffle board ping pong duval street international airport washer and dryer beautiful bedroom master bedroom smathers beach close to the airport short drive ocean view pool area large balcony
Filter
Updating list...
598 - 603 of 807 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2011

I think the only reason this hotel isn't rated higher is because reviewers are comparing it to other Hyatt properties, not to other Key West hotels. I've stayed three other places in the Keys, and researched probably a hundred, and I think this property should be in the top 5, at least. While (a few) other Key West hotels boast of a "balcony" maybe big enough for a chair, or a location "near" the water, every unit at Hyatt Windward has a huge balcony with a view of the ocean. (And every balcony has a large table with 4 chairs, plus 2 rocking chairs.) From the balcony, the view of the ocean over the lush grounds, with the palm trees blowing in the breeze, was like a postcard of what a vacation should be.

Notes:
-- I was very familiar with the location, because on our last trip to Key West, we drove out there every night to walk along the ocean. From the Hyatt, we only had to cross the street for our daily ocean walk. (Note this is not a walk on the beach, that's not really something you can do anywhere in Key West for more than about half a block.)
-- You could get by without a car, but that wouldn't be my preference. It's a long walk to anywhere (Old Town, grocery store, but a short drive.
-- The kitchen comes with all dishes and utensils required to cook and eat, plus dish towels, dish soap, dishwasher soap, and coffee. Also they provide detergent for the clothes washer.
-- Before going, I would have thought a room on the end (right by the ocean) would be best, and I'm sure they would be nice; but I think it might be better to have what we had, which was a room that looks over the grounds to the ocean.
-- Very clean. Very responsive service (we need only one thing in 6 nights, but we got it right away). Good restaurant advice from concierge. Good wireless internet. Beautiful pool (a little more shade would have been nice); beautiful hot tub under the palm trees.

What would we do differently next time? Cook in the room more . . . none of the restaurants thrilled us, frankly; but on our last day we found a great local fish market.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank VAReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

The Hyatt Windward Pointe resort was absolutely wonderful. The website pictures are exactly as the rooms appear. The room was clean and fresh when we arrived, the grounds were clean, the pool was great and the staff were great. It is a short distance from one of the public beaches. It was only a short distance to Duval Street. You are given a passport to use the facilities at the larger Hyatt Hotel in Downtown Key West, although the grounds at the Windward were much more spreadout and tropical. The pool was beautiful. We are already planning our trip next year with our children and their families.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2011

The Hyatt Winward was a great choice for our group pf 5 adults. We had plenty of room for all of us to feel comfortable. The location was great so after a fun fill day and evening in tow we could drive back to the hotel and find peace and quiet. The free parking at the hotel was very much appreciated especially after the high prices we saw at the hotels in town. Driving into town wasan easy 10 min drive and parking was abundent even on Friday and Saturday nights when it is the most crowded. There is a parking lot two blocks from Sloppy Joe's that charged $15 and you could park as long as you wanted. On other evenings there was always plenty of parking at the meters on Duvall and the side streets. A few must places that you have to experience while in Key West: Roof Top Cafe across from Mallory Square, Jungle Hideway on Duvalle, Six Toed Cafe (for breakfast) across from the Hemmingway House, Blue Heaven on Petronia St. for the BEST key lime pie, ambiance and libations, Prana Spa on Whitehead St. for relaxation and pampering, Marriot Beach Club jet ski tours are down the road from the Hyatt and Hyatt guest get a great deal compared to other locations and Sunset Culinaire for a relaxing and scrumptious dinner/ sunset cruise.

Room Tip: Bldg 4 rooms great view of courtyard, water, pool
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cyndeet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Key west is always pricey.. We got a suite at the same price as a motel room at Best Western, next door. Beautiful property

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DIVERDICKFl_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

We stayed 5 nights at this Hyatt vacation rental property and loved the whole experience. The "condo" was top quality and the view of the ocean and the grounds was spectacular from our unit (#5221) . We had a great time and enjoyed cooking fresh fish , etc in the fully equipped kitchen. I would stay there again and would encourage my friends to stay there too! Great value! Loved the pool. The planes at nearby airport were only slightly noticable. We slept like babies. You will love this place.

Room Tip: Ask for Ocean view!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cookiechiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews