We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, but be prepared for noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hyatt Windward Pointe
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great place, but be prepared for noise”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Beautiful property, full 2 br condo setup with plenty of conveniences perfect for extended stays, tropical landscape, serene ocean views, protected from northern cold fronts and the hustle and bustle of downtown, visually a 10, but a very noisy place.

Located at east end of KW airport runway and also in landing path of nearby naval air base, there is frequently annoying plane noise from military jets and touch and go traffic from the airport that sometimes flies directly over the hotel at <500 feet. Roosevelt Blvd. is a main thoroughfare with all manor of noisy motor cycles and traffic accompanied by a steady stream of jet ski's that traverse the waters edge.

Beautiful grounds come at the cost of loud hedge trimmers and blowers. Lawn maintenance starts around 7:45 am. Currently property is being painted and the diesel-powered crane, power washers, sanders and worker chatter is another constant noise and inconvenience factor.

Beats the snow and ice storms up North any day, but sometimes the noise will make you crazy.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JimsBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    188
    62
    23
    9
See reviews for
278
198
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The hotel grounds are beautiful. You can hang by the pool all day or take a short drive to the nearby beach. It's a little bit of a hike from downtown, but you can easily take a cab back and forth. The airport is right next door so you do get plane noise all day, but it isn't too frequent. I thought I would be bothered by it but I was not. The room is large and updated. Full kitchen which is great for longer stays.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WrightGirl724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Lovely two bedroom with beautiful finishes and comfortable furnishings. Bed was heavenly with big fluffy pillows and bright white comforter, beautiful custom draperies in all rooms. Plus we had a wonderful screen porch outside the living area. The pool was very pleasant and in Jan heated enough to actual go in. Its right on A1A by the airport which I at first thought would make it very noisy,but this is not a huge airport and the planes were not so big or very frequent so it was fine. You are right across the street from the water and there is great path for bikers, walkers and joggers so that was a plus. The only problem is that you must drive into Key West for entertainment and sightseeing and Key West is nightmarish for driving and parking.l Thank God we have handicapped access or we would have spent a fortune on parking. Other than the distance into town it was great

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianola, Iowa
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We stayed here a week and were completely satisfied. Our two bedroom unit was great - well furnished, very clean, view of the ocean. The grounds are very well kept, complete with iguanas. The pool area is very good - nice pool, plenty of seating, nice snack shack - Abby Road - complete with soft drinks, beer, sandwiches and pizza. The shrimp pizza is good. They have happy hour specials and on Sunday we had a NFL playoff special on beer.
The staff is great. The front desk was friendly and helpful. The concierge was friendly and helpful. Offer coupons for discounts are several restaurants. She did keep pressing to take the company sales tour, which we declined. Maid service was great.
The resort is away from downtown Key West and most attractions. We had a rental car and were able to drive and park at various attractions with little problem. Being away, the resort was quiet. Even being next to the airport, you would hear jets during the morning and afternoon, but seldom in the evening and night.
There are two restaurants adjacent to the resort and the Trattatoria has delivery service to the room. This was very convenient the first evening, as we arrived late, didn't want to go out and ordered in - very good food.
Roosevelt Ave is between the resort and the ocean. It is not too busy. There is a nice sidewalk on the ocean side of the street, and then the seawall. There is not a beach area across from the resort. There is a beach- about a half mile. We walked the sidewalk/seawall several times and it is a pleasant place to walk.
Great sunrises over the Atlantic. The rooms have a telescope to aid in viewing the ocean, sailboats, the stars...

Room Tip: Almost all the rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tomc317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
371 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Lets start with the bad:
Weak internet service, free fist night thats prob why.
Next we left our chocolate chip cookie on table prior to going to bed. My girlfriend woke up taking a bite then noticing the cookie was covered in sugar ants, NICE?
Hot water, took forever to get hot, we were on top 3rd floor, thats no excuse.
THE GOODS:
Beautiful grounds, big spacious rooms, see pictures, nice balconies, nice pool area with plenty of chairs, watch the sunrise from your balcony. Hyatt resorts, great places. I'd come back but if your a manager reading this please address issues, I'm a big trip advisor fan.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank corvette44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
415 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The Good: This resort has some of the best kept grounds in Key West. The layout of the units is well thought out and all amenities are in place. Upon our arrival everything was ready and our check-in efficient and friendly. There are two good restaurants (Benihana and Trattatoria) one can walk to next door with out making the trek downtown. There is a large swimming pool, picnic area, volleyball court, and shuffle board court available for the guests. With the airport runway on the back side of the building and a major thorough fare on the front this hotel could be a noise sandwich, but it is not bad during the night time and tolerable during the day.

One of the best features is that the hotel is located across the street from a mile long paved promenade to Smather's Beach. A beautiful space for an uninterrupted stroll.

The Bad: We had a light bulb out over the bathroom mirror that we reported immediately upon check-in that was never changed. So we took one out out of the dining area chandelier so we could see. The bar/food service at Abby Road opens late - 10 AM for breakfast and closes early 6 PM - so no Happy Hour. Hope you like microwave meals if you don't plan to do your own preparation. I am not sure what the housekeeping standards are for a short term stay (ours was three days), but the housekeeper seemed surprised when we asked if the bed could be made up. The coffee maker was never cleaned.

The Ugly: As with all hotels you never know who your neighbors will be. Ours liked to listen to loud books on tape bedtime stories next to our heads. The first night until 2 AM and the second until 4 AM. Minimal sound proofing between walls at best.

Since we used to live in Key West we did not mind the distance from downtown as parking in the city garage is only $13 per day with in and out privileges. This facility provides a nice tropical atmosphere for those who want a more relaxing vacation.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pucgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We just returned from a 7 day stay at this resort and it was fabulous!! The rooms are incredible, very spacious, comfortable, pool area has a great view with a hot tub! Happy hour daily in the snack bar area and coffee in the main lobby every morning! Great location, near the airport and daily walks by the ocean path way!! Staff is very friendly and will take care of your every need!! A return visit for sure!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LisaWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#35 of 51 in Key West
2,294 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Casa Marina, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
Hyatt Sunset Harbor Resort
#45 of 51 in Key West
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Windward Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Windward Pointe

Property: Hyatt Windward Pointe
Address: 3675 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5254
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Windward Pointe 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary vacation resort; residential styled units with fully equipped kitchens and dining areas; ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Windward Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Windward Pointe Hotel Key West
Hyatt Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Windward Pointe Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing