We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good resort, but overpriced. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Windward Pointe
Ranked #28 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My family of four spent the later part of our Spring Break in Key West. We spent six nights in the Hyatt Regency in Bonita Springs, then five nights at Windward Pointe. The room was great, spacious and fully stocked kitchen. Two bedrooms with TV's in both rooms made my kids very happy.

Unfortunately, service at this resort was not what we expected for the price. Room rate was high plus a resort fee. The one place that served food/drinks closed early. Rooms were made late (if at all). Usually late afternoon when you were trying to shower before dinner. Two nights of our stay no one came to make our room at all. Considering the room rate and resort fee this was more than disappointing. Hyatt should ensure that their guests paying premium rates are better taken care of.

We never received an activity schedule or saw any activities taking place. Upon booking, I had been told that their were scheduled activities and that we would receive a schedule. This did not happen.

This resort was not worth it. Next time I would stay elsewhere. Although, the Hyatt Regency in Bonita Springs had a smaller room, it had much more to offer. Windward Pointe was much more expensive and disappointing service. I would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank getoutofNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Delightful stay with one exception...."Lynn" in the lobby...the person who is supposed to assist guest, very rude and short fuse. At first, I thought a bad day was the reason for her inconsiderate behavior, but when her behavior remained the same the next day, and my friend also experienced the same type of encounter, but even more combative, I figured I should share my great concern for her lack of professionalism and inability to service guests in a kind, warm welcoming way. It's a shame because the resort is outstanding and all others go out of their way to provide superior service. Lynn is not an asset to the Hyatt organization and never before have I ever reported such a feeling over my years of travel.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daytoncity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We booked the room for 7 days at Hyatt Windward Pointe. It is a fantastic family destination when you are in Key West. We tried to stay here for few days last year, never find a room. I eventually managed to reserve here 7 nights! The units are huge and the balcony huge too, with pool view. The Hyatt's employees, units, pool, ... are a formula meant for relaxing and family fun. We will return to Hyatt Windward Pointe for sure!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgeDGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Very nice facility and good service. Facing the water, just next to airport, and not far from the few sand beaches on the island. A bit distant from downtown, but not unreasonable, especially if you travel back streets. Excellent pool and recreation area. Access to health club and water facilities at downtown Hyatt Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The Hyatt Windward Pointe is a fantastic family destination in Key West. We have been considering a Key West trip for years and I'm glad we finally executed. The Hyatt's employees, manicured grounds and gardens, and units are a formula meant for relaxing and family fun. We walked from the airport to the lobby at 10 p.m. and were greeted with open arms and advised where we could delivery pizza and drinks (including beer). We enjoyed our spacious two bedroom unit overlooking the water and a 2 minute walk to the pool. We spent hours poolside swimming, playing, and glancing at the water's edge across the street. The new bbq area allowed us to cook hamburgers and chicken at sunset with the kids playing ping pong and shuffle board within plain sight. We read previous reviews on Windward Pointe complaining about bug bites and the need to have deet powered bug spray handy at every moment in case of invasion, but we came home bite less. The only surprise we had was the trio of iguanas who kept the poolside guests entertained as pool goers were shrieking as if discovering a mouse in a Bugs Bunny cartoon. The only pro/con limitation of this property maybe its location. Con: it is away from shopping and night time entertainment. Pro: it is away from enough things to relax without the crowds. My tip is to look into a week long bus pass on Key West Transit to get around or get a trolly day pass which is really good for two days. We used the trolly as our main island transport, which was informative and near-by at the Best Western parking lot every thirty minutes. I would strongly recommend Hyatt Windward Pointe to anyone who is considering the property and looking for a relaxing get away. P.S. The new internet service is super fast 57mb down and 13 mb up. Better internet than home!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Bob916Stick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed only 3 nights at the hotel and it wasn't enough. Our room was beautiful with a great view of the water from our balcony. Room was spotless, hotel staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Pool was beautiful and the grounds were immaculate. It is a bit pricey but compared to what other hotels were charging for the time we were there I think we made out on the deal. The only inconveniences were that you could at times here the planes at the airport which is close by and there is a charge for the shuttle to go downtown. We liked that we were a bit away from Duval Street but it does get a little pricey if you like to go downtown during the evening and the shuttle's last run is 11pm which we would have liked to be later.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

a beautiful resort that is only marred by it's proximity to the airport (a bit noisy during the day). the suites are beautifully appointed, and spotless. our room faced A1A, so the view was spectacular.
you cannot go wrong choosing this resort.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarge-in-fla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Suites Key West
Sheraton Suites Key West
#32 of 51 in Key West
2,423 reviews
1.3 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Sunset Harbor
1.6 mi away
Oceans Edge Key West Hotel & Marina
3.4 mi away
Hyatt Centric Key West Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Windward Pointe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Windward Pointe

Address: 3675 S Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-5254
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £247 - £413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Windward Pointe 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary vacation resort; residential styled units with fully equipped kitchens and dining areas; ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Windward Pointe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Windward Pointe Hotel Key West
Hyatt Hotel Key West
Hyatt Key West
Key West Hyatt
Hyatt Residence Club Key West, Windward Pointe Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing