We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iguanas!”
Review of Leo's Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Leo's Campground
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Iguanas!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in the campground area. It was nice but with a gravel ground so we had two sleeping pads and then our sleeping bags and it was comfortable. There are 4 iguanas nearby which made the place more interesting (they didn't cause any trouble and ran away if we got too close, same for the small lizards)! Overall an enjoyable stay and although pricey still cheaper than everywhere else in Key West. Renting bikes nearby was tons of fun.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    23
    12
    6
    9
See reviews for
18
38
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We decided to stay here for the value over Boyds. Lots are much less. This is a small camp ground with only about 23 sites. They are a bit hard to get into but provide all the emmenities. Water sewage cable and electricity. Not much grass but people forget these are basically coral reef islands and land is at a premium.

Not sure about the noise in some reviews. The place was very quite both at day and night. I'm guessing that these people went during college spring break. Easter weekend being late this year avoided the always loud and obnoxious college crowd.

Staff was very helpful and again don't understand the negative reviews. They let us move to a different site that was better for my camper.

One reviewer talked poor bath rooms. Not true. The bathrooms are kept very clean. Nice hot showers. Never any issues

As for distance it is about 4 miles to city center. We road our bikes every day. Take the A1A. It's a little but longer but better views and less traffic.

Overall great place to stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Morterias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

You don't come to Key West to camp in the wilderness. You come to enjoy the food, atmosphere, sun and nightlife-- and you need a place to sleep.

I was initially put off by the young woman who checked me in. While she could use a few more charm school classes I never had to deal with her again, so my annoyance was fleeting.

I was also surprised at how tiny the campsites were, but I soon came to enjoy the friendliness and sense of community amongst the campers. After ten minutes the campsite size won't bother you.

The "RV Park" section didn't look appealing to me, with everyone lined up so close together. We're van campers, however, and the tent spots along the canal are slightly larger than the RV spots and were more than satisfactory for what we needed. In fact, we grew to really like the tent section.

The huge iguanas that run around the campground are beautiful and hysterical to watch-- and love when you feed them fresh fruit.

The bathrooms are clean. Surprisingly the men's room is nicer than the women's room. What's up with that? About five of us ladies kind of took over one of the men's rooms because it had the nicest shower. The ones in the women's room have odd little nozzles that stick out of the ceiling.

The cleaning staff was WONDERFUL. They work very hard each day.

We brought bicycles-- but it's a nearly five mile ride to Duval St., there's lots of road construction, and the traffic can be a little intimidating.

On day two we rented a two-person moped and decided that that's the ONLY way to see Key West.

Parking is easy with a moped and our two-person model was only $110/total for three days. We rented it in front of a sub shop, across the street from Captain's Row, and had nothing but fun with it.

The Rusty Anchor Seafood Restaurant is close by and it's the place you'll want to go to eat conch steak and fritters.

Camp here, rent a moped and you'll have a great vacation. The $49/night for a tent site is the best deal you'll find around here.

One last tip for the ladies:

The humidity makes putting on mascara and eyeliner impossible. I finally figured out that I could put it on at night, before I went to bed, when it got cool. Then I'd clean up my racoon eyes with a q-tip in the morning.

Laugh if you want, but the only alternative is to keep a pair of sunglasses on at all times...!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank MP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Stayed at Leo's Campground with my girlfriend for 2 nights around New Years Eve 2013 as an alternative to being gouged by holiday rates at Key West hotels. Although one of the smallest campgrounds I've stayed at Leo's facility has all of the important amenities. The site was very clean and had a picnic table which was great for cooking and eating. Even though it was a big party night downtown it was very quite and peaceful in the campground, with the exception of the roosters that crowed every morning (a hazard anywhere in K.W.).

The office staff was very helpful and friendly. The cleaning staff worked hard each morning to keep the place looking spotless. The tent sites back onto a mangrove, which was full of fish and birds. The fountain provides great ambiance too. A nice touch. We also enjoyed the sun deck. A great place to relax in the comfortable chairs and enjoy a pre-happy-hour cocktail :) The internet worked ok, but it would be nice to have signal strong enough to work throughout the whole park.

Having a bus stop right outside the front gate was very convenient, because it allowed us quick access to all of the amazing downtown K.W. attractions without having to worry about parking hassles, or having to appoint a designated driver. If you don't feel like waiting for the bus it is a $15 cab ride downtown. The botanical gardens is really close too - a great place to take a nice relaxing stroll and view some beautiful plant and animal life.

The bathroom / shower building was very clean and spacious. I loved the tile-work and the beautiful hand painted mural in the common area. There was lots of HOT water and good water pressure too. Because they had many private stalls there was never a wait to get in and most of them had a private sink and mirror, which was very convenient for preparing for night out on the town. On the opposite side there was a nice laundry room with machines that looked new, although we didn't need to use them.

In conclusion, if you are like us and spend more time outside exploring and enjoying vs watching tv in an overprice hotel room, then pack up your tent & air mattress and head over to Leo's. You will have more money to spend on the great K.W. attractions and the amazing restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ROBR75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, great staff, Kelly is great. Would stay again. I would also recommend to anyone who likes to camp. Very close to key west, rent bikes its the way to go. Only like a 15 min ride in,

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nstacy116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Quaint little campground with amazingly friendly staff. Leo's was affordable, easily accessible and a perfect blend of natural beauty and Key West flare! Facility was kept clean and they are making some renovations. As far as noise, after the first night the planes and traffic did not bother us at all. Key West has a large population of roosters!!! So no matter where you might stay around Key West if you are in a tent, you will hear them call! Tent sites were mostly shaded and a great breeze always seemed to find its way through the trees. Totally dug the original artwork and watch the iguanas roam around the creek. Other campers were just as friendly and can often provide tips to local spots. Most of them camp at the same time and same location each year. If you plan on making annual trips to the area make sure you book your special site for the following year.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TCoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

Good location. Very quite. Small but located in a great area. Short walk to trolley stop number 7 so you can go into town. Clean. The folks that work and stay there were very friendly.There are some friendly roosters walking around.Some air plane noise but that didnt bother us, mostly Navy jets that we saw.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jenniene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.9 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.2 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,332 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
#42 of 51 in Key West
1,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leo's Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leo's Campground

Property: Leo's Campground
Address: 5236 Suncrest Rd, Key West, FL 33040-5899
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Key West
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Leo's Campground is the most affordable campground in the Florida Keys. Leo's is a family owned and operated campground, we offer tent and RV sites with full hook-up. We are located by the Entrance of Key West at Mile Marker 4.5, and only few minutes away from Key West Historical Areas, Duval Street, beaches, restaurants,dive shops, fishing charters, airport and much more.We now have a corporate membership with Key West Harbour Yacht Club, which gives you access to a pool, beach and a restaurant. This Club is located 1.5 miles from our campground in Stock Island. A temporary membership card will be issued at time of check in. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Leo's Campground Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing