We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quaint”
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

This was our first trip to Key West. We had a wonderful time at the Chelsea. Bryan & Betsy at the front desk are fabulous people. They gave us places to eat at and things to do. We chatted with them on many occasions. It was as if we had known them for awhile. True heritage homes. Small rooms but lovely. Walking distance to Duvall st. Nice pool and good little continental breakfast. Lovely front porch to enjoy your morning cup of tea. If we ever come to Key West again we'll be sure to stay here again. Thanks again Bryan & Betsy ( top o the mornin to ya Bryan ;) )

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Reba75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    288
    129
    92
    35
See reviews for
80
512
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This was our first visit to Key West and I didn't want to stay in a "chain hotel". This was the perfect place to capture the Key West charm. It was a couple blocks from Duval Street and within walking distance of all the main attractions. The staff was very friendly. Everytime we walked into the lobby, I felt like we were walking into an old friends house. We ended up adding an extra night and had to switch rooms because the same type wasn't available both nights. They made this very simple, calling us when our new room was ready and offering to move our luggage. Both rooms were nice and clean with comfortable beds. We had a great stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank les85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Croix Valmer.France
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I have been visiting Key West regularly since 1985. We have stayed in the top hotels,in luxury motels and rented houses. Last December we were fortunate to discover this little gem right in the center of the old town. It is one of a groupl of six "Historic Key West Inns" We occupied one of the larger ground floor rooms. Very quiet with a marvellous large comfortable bed with excellent bathroom and shower. Also a terrace with table and chairs. A great spot for catching up with the latest John Grisham! The pool is small, but fine and a simple, tasty breakfast is served poolside. The friendly management were most hepful and the free off road parking was an added bonus in a town where parking spaces are at a premium.

I managed to leave some medical stuff behind, and it was posted to my home immediately. Thank you....

Room Tip: Ask the management to show you the rooms. Some are much larger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Very well located, charming place in Truman street. 3 free parking. Nice rooms, do not hesitate ! Receptionists make reservation at restaurants. Be careful, ask for a room closed to the swimming pool for a goos internet connexion.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MannHeitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esher, surrey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Although we hadn't chosen to stay here. when we checked in Beth could not have been more helpful. She took us through everything pointing out local attractions. Full marks to her :-)
Because we were supposed to be staying next door they upgraded us to a Junior suite. Unfortunately the 4 junior suites are set in a block at the end of the property on the corner of Truman and Elizabeth. This is very noisy. The suites are on 2 levels and accessed from the car park. The suite itself was nicely furnished but dark. The safe was screwed into the floor in a tiny cupboard and difficult to access easily. We had a nice balcony on which we could sit and have a drink and although it overlooked te road that was not a problem. Our main problem was that because the suites are basically in a car park when the trucks came to empty the recycling which they did on our first morning at 04.45am it is really noisy. They reverse into the car park and seem to be emptying the bins for ever. Then the next lot come at 06.00am to empty the normal rubbish. Because you are surrounded by small bed and breakfast places and other Inns the bin emptyimg can be an issue. Continental breakfast is included and is set up outside by the pool. It is nicely laid out but seating is sometimes difficult to find. The pool is small and cramped. When we were there they were cutting back the foliage around the pool which meant for a while there was even less seating. All in all it is clean, in a good location in so far as you are only a couple of blocks from everything but it can be very noisy.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacki_dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We can make it very simple. Just walk up the steps to the office, be careful, on the broken steps. Entering to there reception area notice the carpet stains, the general condition of there office. The entrance tells it all.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Lovely historic buildings in Key West. Small town so everything is very reachable. As its a period building our room was quite small as we expected. Small pool. Breakfast fine. My son left a t shirt by accident & although I have emailed twice to ask if I could pay to get it mailed back to us I have had no response which is a bit disappointing

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christina G, Guest Relations Manager at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear Lynn,

Thank you for writing! I think that perhaps you might have written to Expedia instead because we do not have any record of your emails. I did, however, check with our Chelsea House front desk
and unfortunately, we do not have any shirt of any kind listed for you or your room in our lost and found record book and storage area. Please contact our guest services directly if you would like any further information: chelsea@historickeywestinns.com

Thank you, again, and we hope to see you on your next visit to Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
1,329 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
1,741 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Property: Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Hotel In Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing