We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming indeed..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Chelsea House was a great place to stay in Key West. The staff is very welcoming and friendly. They helped my friend and I book a sunset sail on The Appledore II, by making a lot of phone calls :) That turned out to be an awesome experience, too. Our room was very clean and comfortable. The location is great! Very close to Duval Street. And, the grounds (including the pool) is beautiful! And, the price is good, as well. I would recommend staying there to anyone looking for a lovely Key West experience.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (844)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 844 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

Key West in high season is not inexpensive, but Chelsea House is a reasonably priced in-town option. Though it's located on busy route 1, our room faced the lovely patio/pool area in back that connected the three houses making up the property, so street noise was not an issue. The beds and pillows were a bit hard for our taste, though on balance we slept fine. Breakfast was standard Continental fare, served buffet style next to the pool. Good bathroom lighting, which is a key factor for my daughter and me. The best feature of the hotel was its location. We could walk to all the restaurants, shops and attractions, only using the car for trips to the beach. This is a real plus, since parking is scarce in town. The hotel has on-site parking. Front desk staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from street noise. Ground-floor rooms 28-30 are exceptionally conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

My daughter and I had our first visit to Key West Feb 18th for 4 nights and really enjoyed the location and service of the Chelsea. We also had to ask to be moved from the suite near the parking as the recycling and garbage removal was too loud. Luckily we secured another king suite on the second floor of the Inn that was very quiet and comfortable. The gardens and pool were beautiful and welcoming in the morning for coffee and bagels or in the late afternoon for a swim after a busy day cycling the island. I am confident you will enjoy being so close to Duval street and Hemingway house but be sure to let them know your room preference as there were plenty of rooms with lovely porches facing the pool that would have been very quiet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

This was our first trip to Key West. We had a wonderful time at the Chelsea. Bryan & Betsy at the front desk are fabulous people. They gave us places to eat at and things to do. We chatted with them on many occasions. It was as if we had known them for awhile. True heritage homes. Small rooms but lovely. Walking distance to Duvall st. Nice pool and good little continental breakfast. Lovely front porch to enjoy your morning cup of tea. If we ever come to Key West again we'll be sure to stay here again. Thanks again Bryan & Betsy ( top o the mornin to ya Bryan ;) )

Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Reba75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

This was our first visit to Key West and I didn't want to stay in a "chain hotel". This was the perfect place to capture the Key West charm. It was a couple blocks from Duval Street and within walking distance of all the main attractions. The staff was very friendly. Everytime we walked into the lobby, I felt like we were walking into an old friends house. We ended up adding an extra night and had to switch rooms because the same type wasn't available both nights. They made this very simple, calling us when our new room was ready and offering to move our luggage. Both rooms were nice and clean with comfortable beds. We had a great stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

My wife and I have been visiting Key West regularly since 1985. We have stayed in the top hotels,in luxury motels and rented houses. Last December we were fortunate to discover this little gem right in the center of the old town. It is one of a groupl of six "Historic Key West Inns" We occupied one of the larger ground floor rooms. Very quiet with a marvellous large comfortable bed with excellent bathroom and shower. Also a terrace with table and chairs. A great spot for catching up with the latest John Grisham! The pool is small, but fine and a simple, tasty breakfast is served poolside. The friendly management were most hepful and the free off road parking was an added bonus in a town where parking spaces are at a premium.

I managed to leave some medical stuff behind, and it was posted to my home immediately. Thank you....

Room Tip: Ask the management to show you the rooms. Some are much larger than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013 via mobile

Very well located, charming place in Truman street. 3 free parking. Nice rooms, do not hesitate ! Receptionists make reservation at restaurants. Be careful, ask for a room closed to the swimming pool for a goos internet connexion.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MannHeitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,352 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,770 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £143 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Hotel In Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing