We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best way to see the island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“best way to see the island”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

chelsea house was perfect in location, quietness and friendliness...Bicycles a MUST. Traveled the island and saw everything........will return!
white street has the Best Cuba sandwich, and the restaurants, well, if you can't make it there, shame on you......every night the restaurants were Packed with tourists. MAKE RESERVATIONS

Room Tip: anyone from 3 buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyllib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    281
    126
    91
    35
See reviews for
78
498
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2013

I was very impressed by the courteousness and friendliness of the staff there from top to bottom. They made us feel like we were at home. The hotel is beautiful and the rooms were very clean. We didn't wanna leave. We will be back to Keywest soon and guess where we're staying.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at Chelsea House on Truman Avenue in Key West. It’s a beautiful place with a lot of character and nicely manicured grounds especially around the pool area. It is within walking distance to everything including the Southernmost Point, Sloppy Joe’s, and the Little White House.

We got probably the cheapest room available ($249 per night) because I was trying to save some money, but it turned out just fine. It may be the smallest room in the place, but it was on the first floor and right near the pool. There was no closet in the room but there were hooks on the wall and my wife said that they were good enough. We weren’t going to spend a whole lot of time in the room anyway. Thankfully the weather was perfect.

They have a great continental breakfast (included) out by the pool. It was very relaxing and the staff were all very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Find out what floor you are going to be on if you don’t like stairs. There are no elevators and som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffpdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randolph, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We booked late so we took what we could get. Didn't hate it and didn't love it.

CONS: Noisy accommodations. Air conditioner in room 25 loudly turned on and off and rattled above my head all night causing very interrupted sleep. Could hear doors shutting as the later guests arrived. My room adjoined another room so could hear everything in next room.

PRO: Was greeted by very friendly Betsy. Close enough to Duval street that you could walk to most everything. Ended up going to the sister hotel, Lighthouse Court , a couple of blocks away where the pool atmosphere was much more inviting and they had a full service bar and served lunch. I would definitely choose Lighthouse Court over Chelsea.

Room Tip: Go to Lighthouse Court instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie9754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are a 60 year old couple who travel a lot. After a 4 night stay at this hotel we have some comments to share that you may feel helpful when searching for a room. There were good and bad things about this hotel.

First the good stuff:

We booked a room in 33 A, a large king sized suite with a private porch on the second floor with a nice flat screen tv, a refrigerator,and oversized walk -in closet. The room had a large sitting room. The space was clean. Downstairs, Betsy was lovely and very helpful in the reception area. The bed was very comfortable. Having free, off street parking was a plus and being right off Duvall Street made it easy to walk most places. Having breakfast included was good.

The stuff we disliked:

The room did not have a place to sit and eat or do your makeup like a small table or a desk. This would have been helpful because the bathroom didn't even have one plug for a blow dryer and so you were forced to do it in the room except there was no place to do it there either. There wasn't a mirror in the room.the bathroom was impossible. It was minuscule with no storage space whatsoever. We had to ask for toilet paper when we ran out because the maid didn't leave an extra roll. Every day we had to ask for more towels because the maid didnt register our request from the reception office the day before.The shower was no more than about 30 inches square and needed painting outside along the base where there was rust. The toilet rocked so whenever you used it it moved and made noise. The pedastal sink was dangerously close to the toilet and seemed to overlap your space if you were on the John. The soap bars were the smallest I have ever seen.

The breakfast was just fair. It would have been nice to have a coffee maker in the room since you had to wait until 8:00 to get breakfast or coffee. The breakfast was only yogurt, cold cereal, muffins,croissants and toast. It would have been nice to have orange juice, hard boiled eggs, a waffle maker, and some fresh cut up fruits or a banana. I did see some whole apples.

The property was in need of painting and needed attention. I feel $300.00 after taxes were added was far too much to pay for this hotel. There are other properties in the immediate area for much less money that would have been so much cheaper that we saw after we were there that looked like a better value.


Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Paula I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

The staff was very nice, otherwise I might not have rated it as high. It is a historic building, but the place could keep a handy man busy for a long time. We stayed four nights, and that might also be why I wasn't so impressed. Four days gives you time to notice things, like nails sticking up on the decks, paint chipping... . Our room was on the second floor, and I don't know if I would make it up to the "attic" rooms! I wasn't expecting too much, but for the price we paid, we could have done alot better. As far as location, it is in the center of the historic sites, but again after walking for four days, next time I would stay one or two blocks off of Duval, but closer to either end of Duval, . It is a hike to Mallory Square or the beach. So, next trip I will stay closer to Mallory Square and rent bikes to go to beach. You don't want to ride bikes home at 1 am from the bars at the end of Duval.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OhioTravles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Husband and I booked this place for one night on a quick babymoon trip through Florida. The fact that it had ample free on-location parking was a big plus for us. Check-in staff was named Betsy. She was friendly and super helpful and we enjoyed chatting with her! she gave us some great pointers for our stay.

Location is super convenient to Duval St, but far enough away that the center of activity and noise buzz was far out of earshot. Also convenient to a Conch Train tour stop, the Hemingway
house, and the Southernmost Point.

This place is also literally steps away from Seven Fish, one of the best local restaurants in town.

We stayed in room 3 in the main house and found it clean and spacious. Loved that it opened up to the balcony overlooking Truman st. The mini-fridge was great to have to store food or wine in. The bathroom was also clean and bright -- although it was hard to find a place to put all my toiletries, but knowing it was a historic house, I couldn't complain about the lack of counter space. :P

Breakfast is served by the pool, with plenty of space to sit and relax and make friends with any local cats that might be snoozing in the sun. There is a clothing-optional upper pool deck that we didn't take advantage of, but it was nice to know there was the option!

Very charming place and though a pit pricey, I'm glad we chose to stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimi112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#21 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Property: Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Hotel In Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing