We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This place was clearly overrated for its price and consistent with the most recent reviews. It was old in every sense of the word. If you like cold pools filled with cigar smells. and loud people then you might like this place. Wifi wasn't working although represented it had it . It was a true disappointment and we only stayed one night. If you bring wine bring your own wine glasses since they had none and although represented they would get some for us they never showed up. The room was gritty. Would never return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    271
    280
    126
    91
    35
See reviews for
78
494
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

Looking at other reviews of this hotel, I feel compelled to say that if you are interested in staying in a place with up-to-date, modern amenities, like silent air conditioners, you shouldn't stay here. And maybe you shouldn't be in Key West either, because to me this hotel represents the quirkiness and authenticity that is Key West. Do you really need wi-fi 24/7 when you can hop on a beach cruiser and spend your day cycling around looking at beautiful architectural gems like the Ernest Hemingway House?
I really enjoyed this hotel - each room is individual, and furnished in an eclectic style. No cookie-cutter plans here. The hotel makes the best use of its space, and is surrounded by a beautiful garden, full of lizards and maybe geckos (I can't tell). My room had only 2 windows, one very high up, and the other in the bathroom, but a soaring ceiling that I think may have been lined with cedar timbers, because the smell was incredible. It was a cool refuge in the afternoon when it got just way too hot outside. Some rooms may be too small for American tastes, but why are you in your room other than siesta and at night?
The hotel is also located close to the main street Duval, but luckily at the southern end, which is a lot quieter than the northern end. Very quick bicycle access to the beach, and there is a bike rental place a block away.

Room Tip: I thought the front rooms were quite beautiful, but may be out of people's price point. I liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJWSanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is the second time my boyfriend and I have stayed here. The first time we chose the Chelsea House not knowing too much about the island but we had rented a car and we needed a safe place to park it (check!). You can't ask for a more convenient walk to Duval Street, and yet it's just far enough away that it's quiet when you're ready for a good night's sleep. Now that we were ready to explore a little more of the island other than Duval Street we realized this really is the perfect location for walking almost anywhere! The pool is beautiful, the staff is friendly, and breakfast is great. Our rooms both times have been a bit small, but we're not here to spend time in our room so it's fine. The rooms are clean and modern and perfectly comfortable. We would stay here any trip to Key West and recommend this to any one looking for a place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

I expected more from this hotel. It advertised itself as an “historical hotel.” To me, that “sounds” nice, but what that really translated into was “old and worn out.” The paint was dull. The maintenance was poor. The air conditioner was noisy and it ran constantly. Sometimes the wifi would work in the room, but it would never work right outside the room on our balcony. There was no closet. We hung our things on 2 small robe hooks located on the wall that, in my opinion, were totally inadequate. Many of the light bulbs were burnt out. We spoke to the housekeeper to request that some of our burnt-out light bulbs be replaced, but her English was so poor she did not understand us. Every time we went to the front desk, there was NO ONE there! Breakfast was what you would expect at one of those Days Inn motels along the turnpike – cold, processed, blueberry muffins, cereal and a toaster that tried to revive stale bread.
On the plus side, when you did come across an employee they were pleasant. The hotel is only about 2 blocks from Duval Street (but the main Duval attractions- Sloppy Joe’s and Irish Kevin’s etc. - are a 9 block walk from there). It is clean, worn out, but clean. The pool area is pleasant -provided the other clients are not annoying - as the place is small and intimate. Our room, on the second floor, had a pleasant balcony that afforded people watching along the busy Truman Street.
Know that you are not getting a spectacular room with over the top amenities. But then again, you are not paying a huge price; Key West is an expensive vacation. If your room is not a priority, and you are willing to sacrifice glamour for mediocrity, than this may be an appropriate choice. Would I stay there again? Maybe.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. At the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, we provide a complimentary continental breakfast for those guests who wish to have something here on-site to start the day off! Offerings include yogurts, fresh fruit, croissants delivered daily from a local bakery, cereals, juice, coffee and tea. Of course, for those wishing to have a more hearty breakfast, we are surrounded by lots of wonderful restaurants only a few blocks away. You'll be happy to hear we have a crew of painters working all week long on the beautiful woodwork at the hotel. We hope you will come back and see our bright and shiny new coat of paint!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

4 of us stayed in room #30 on the ground floor. Cute rooms but no wheelchair accessibility. Toilet high but grab rails are wicked high and great for hanging towels but not for transferring. Handheld shower but no roll in. Vanity is nice but not a roll-under. These are nice units close to the breakfast area and pool. (no lift yet) The management was so -so, the other room help was very friendly although some spoke no english. The best thing about this place is that it's a "stop" for the locals parade during Fantasy Fest, so that was wicked fun. Love swimming so would have loved to use the pool. Also love front porch sitting but that also was inaccessible, as well as the office and main house. Have to do reservations,questions etc., by phone. Have free Wi-Fi. We still may stay here again because of it's proximity to Duval St, but hope that they "remodel" a bathroom to code.

Room Tip: There are lots of upstairs rooms with balconies. We did not talk to anyone who had a "kitchenet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessmarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our fourth visit to Chelsea House, each time we reserved a king room and are very happy with our stay! This year they remodeled our room and it was great! B & B's in Key West are mostly very old homes that have been converted. They need restored (again), rooms and pluming added into a smaller older era, property lines defined and landscaping. Chelsea House has done a very good job with all these things without loosing the original charm! The room we always come back to was improved but still has a quirky shower door opening, funky knobs on the dresser and the ac was a little weak, on the other hand, the wood floors were new, power outlets everywhere for electronics, new tile, toilet and vanity station! We just love walking out of the french doors onto a too small old porch, but hey!, you just can't get that with the new five star places! The people there are quite friendly but will also respect your peace & quiet and seem to know what mood you're in. One thing you do get that is hard to come by in KW is parking! Free parking! The area does require some bit of walking to better attractions but there are some real gems and better shopping nearby, also near gay or stripper bars. Not to worry, the area does seem to be safe enough location and we never had a problem there! In Key West we have stayed at the $600.00 night waterfront - to the small B&B with no parking or balcony / porch. For us, Chelsea house fits the bill! Do your research and find the room that suits you, the staff will mail you a layout map of the rooms and you can choose the one that suits you.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

My husband & I wanted a quiet getaway and called specifically to ask if children were allowed. They told me no one under 16 allowed. We drove down from CT and checked into a lovely room. We got into our bathing suits and slid into the pool. It was beautiful and peaceful. Not even 1/2 hour later, we heard screaming voices and little running feet. There was a large family moving into rooms right near the pool. So we went back to our room, dressed, packed and went to the front desk to complain. They said that they cannot prohibit children. We said that's not what we were told before booking, so we asked for immediate refund to our credit card. They wouldn't do it & told us that the transaction had just gone through and we wouldn't get money back for 3-4 days. Additionally, the manager was rude and said we wouldn't find anywhere else to stay without children. Luckily we did find another B&B with vacancies AND prohibited children under 16, but much of our vacation money was tied up for many days. Moral of the story is to check these TripAdvisor reviews, because you can't believe what the staff tells you. They just want you to book their B&B.

Room Tip: Spend your money elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kwlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Hi KW Lady,

The Chelsea House Pool & Gardens is one of six Historic Key West Inns. It sounds like you inadvertently reserved the Chelsea House instead of its sister property, the Cypress House Hotel. The Cypress House Hotel is the premier inn in our collection, and is exclusively for ages 21+. Our other five inns welcome guests of all ages, so there is something for everyone. I hope you will try the Cypress House Hotel for your next Key West getaway if you prefer adult-only accommodations instead of family-friendly hotels. I'm sure you'd love it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#20 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#7 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Property: Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Hotel In Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing