We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor rooms, excessive price but very kind staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Poor rooms, excessive price but very kind staff”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

At first blush I've had a nice impression of this hotel: very nice and kind people at the reception, so helpful and welcoming, and very nice building. Howewer, the room were not so nice: it was too small for two people, with no nigt tables, wardrobe in the bathroom (!!!), dirt on the floor and old furniture. The hotel position was rather good, but the price was too expensive for the quality of the rooms!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestie07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
I am so pleased that you enjoyed our warm, welcoming, and helpful staff. We pride ourselves on our friendliness.

I would appreciate it if you could drop me an e-mail at msimmons@historickeywestinns.com so I can learn more about the issues you encountered during your stay, as guest feedback is invaluable in ensuring everyone has the experience they expect and deserve during their stay. Thank you very much from sunny Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    276
    281
    126
    91
    35
See reviews for
78
498
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

First of all, I think it is so cool that historic buildings like this can be retrofitted so as to avoid the bulldozer. Where I live (in Miami FL), once a building outlives its original purpose (which seems to be after about 50 years around here) it is simply torn down (with a few exceptions). But, thankfully, this is not the case in Key West. Chelsea House is actually three distinct buildings, two of which are historic former private residences, one built in 1905 and the other in 1891. My fiance and I have stayed in both of the older buildings and they are both very very cool. This time we stayed in Room 19, which is in the 1891 building, and it was very nicely situated down a hallway (as nearly all of their rooms are) so as to avoid any undue street noise. All of the modern aspects one would expect from a hotel are there, while keeping nearly all of the historic charm as well. The only thing missing (which one has to expect in a building of this nature) is an elevator. So, if stairs are a problem for you, definitely call them and inquire before booking. Personally, I didn't find the stairs to be a problem, at all, upon inspecting the entire property, but, of course, they can be an issue for some people, for various reasons. Due to the nature of the retrofitting with any buildings such as these, no two rooms are exactly the same. So, I would advise to call and ask questions so as to know exactly what you are getting, with respect to room location, size, access, street proximity, etc. Personally, I would advise against Room 18 (which is in the 1891 building) as it opens right out onto the common area front porch (which some people might like...and the porch itself is very nice) and so, thereby, is directly facing the street (Truman Ave.), which can be noisy at times (not as much as Duval is tho). Also, supposedly, Room 18 is very haunted. I'm not going to get into all of that. (People will have to come to their own conclusions.) But, that is also something that some people actually may or may not want to avoid. It's all about personal preferences. And, in keeping, this hotel has something for everyone. There is a room (and likely several) that will suit nearly anyone's tastes. But, the main thing one can count on that is applicable to all rooms is a very clean and comfortable space with a very charming historic twist. You will have everything you need from a 3 diamond hotel. Also (and this is very important in Key West) the Chelsea House has free on-site parking, which will be practically right next to your room. This is not so easy at just any place in KW, but we have never had a problem with parking, nor anything else, at the Chelsea House. It is one of the highlights of the whole trip. Also, the staff are all very friendly and helpful. And there are even two very friendly resident cats that live on the property. This is definitely a pet friendly hotel, but call first, as only certain rooms are such. This is probably one of the coolest hotels in which I have ever stayed and we very much look forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Every room is a bit different. If you have specific needs and/or preferences, call first and ask. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kurt s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The Chelsea was so close to all the Key West attractions that we parked our car and walked the whole time. The front desk was very helpful in arranging dinner reservations and a sunset cruise. Yes, it is an older inn but we would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueHighways61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

This place was clearly overrated for its price and consistent with the most recent reviews. It was old in every sense of the word. If you like cold pools filled with cigar smells. and loud people then you might like this place. Wifi wasn't working although represented it had it . It was a true disappointment and we only stayed one night. If you bring wine bring your own wine glasses since they had none and although represented they would get some for us they never showed up. The room was gritty. Would never return.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Looking at other reviews of this hotel, I feel compelled to say that if you are interested in staying in a place with up-to-date, modern amenities, like silent air conditioners, you shouldn't stay here. And maybe you shouldn't be in Key West either, because to me this hotel represents the quirkiness and authenticity that is Key West. Do you really need wi-fi 24/7 when you can hop on a beach cruiser and spend your day cycling around looking at beautiful architectural gems like the Ernest Hemingway House?
I really enjoyed this hotel - each room is individual, and furnished in an eclectic style. No cookie-cutter plans here. The hotel makes the best use of its space, and is surrounded by a beautiful garden, full of lizards and maybe geckos (I can't tell). My room had only 2 windows, one very high up, and the other in the bathroom, but a soaring ceiling that I think may have been lined with cedar timbers, because the smell was incredible. It was a cool refuge in the afternoon when it got just way too hot outside. Some rooms may be too small for American tastes, but why are you in your room other than siesta and at night?
The hotel is also located close to the main street Duval, but luckily at the southern end, which is a lot quieter than the northern end. Very quick bicycle access to the beach, and there is a bike rental place a block away.

Room Tip: I thought the front rooms were quite beautiful, but may be out of people's price point. I liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJWSanFrancisco_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is the second time my boyfriend and I have stayed here. The first time we chose the Chelsea House not knowing too much about the island but we had rented a car and we needed a safe place to park it (check!). You can't ask for a more convenient walk to Duval Street, and yet it's just far enough away that it's quiet when you're ready for a good night's sleep. Now that we were ready to explore a little more of the island other than Duval Street we realized this really is the perfect location for walking almost anywhere! The pool is beautiful, the staff is friendly, and breakfast is great. Our rooms both times have been a bit small, but we're not here to spend time in our room so it's fine. The rooms are clean and modern and perfectly comfortable. We would stay here any trip to Key West and recommend this to any one looking for a place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I expected more from this hotel. It advertised itself as an “historical hotel.” To me, that “sounds” nice, but what that really translated into was “old and worn out.” The paint was dull. The maintenance was poor. The air conditioner was noisy and it ran constantly. Sometimes the wifi would work in the room, but it would never work right outside the room on our balcony. There was no closet. We hung our things on 2 small robe hooks located on the wall that, in my opinion, were totally inadequate. Many of the light bulbs were burnt out. We spoke to the housekeeper to request that some of our burnt-out light bulbs be replaced, but her English was so poor she did not understand us. Every time we went to the front desk, there was NO ONE there! Breakfast was what you would expect at one of those Days Inn motels along the turnpike – cold, processed, blueberry muffins, cereal and a toaster that tried to revive stale bread.
On the plus side, when you did come across an employee they were pleasant. The hotel is only about 2 blocks from Duval Street (but the main Duval attractions- Sloppy Joe’s and Irish Kevin’s etc. - are a 9 block walk from there). It is clean, worn out, but clean. The pool area is pleasant -provided the other clients are not annoying - as the place is small and intimate. Our room, on the second floor, had a pleasant balcony that afforded people watching along the busy Truman Street.
Know that you are not getting a spectacular room with over the top amenities. But then again, you are not paying a huge price; Key West is an expensive vacation. If your room is not a priority, and you are willing to sacrifice glamour for mediocrity, than this may be an appropriate choice. Would I stay there again? Maybe.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. At the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, we provide a complimentary continental breakfast for those guests who wish to have something here on-site to start the day off! Offerings include yogurts, fresh fruit, croissants delivered daily from a local bakery, cereals, juice, coffee and tea. Of course, for those wishing to have a more hearty breakfast, we are surrounded by lots of wonderful restaurants only a few blocks away. You'll be happy to hear we have a crew of painters working all week long on the beautiful woodwork at the hotel. We hope you will come back and see our bright and shiny new coat of paint!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#21 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#8 of 51 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Property: Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Hotel In Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing