We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location awful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We thought that by booking the best room available we would be sure of something decent - how wrong we were. Our outdoor seating area is right onto the side street with the mind and laundry, along with the car park right outside our door . So disappointed. Rooms are tired and furniture falling apart. Would definitely not r,eccomend staying here. First time I have ever said this.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms are available but be very careful when/ if you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 85JonathanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

I'm sorry to hear that your accommodations didn't meet your satisfaction. Most guests love the location of the Junior Suite you stayed in with its two nice seating areas: one adjoining the courtyard area and the other overlooking a quiet side street. We wish you would have said something at the time of your stay so we could have moved you to a different building at the Chelsea House which may have been better suited to your personal preferences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Chelsea house since the Key Lime in was booked up last week. Upon arrival at the Chelsea house the staff was very nice and showed us to our room. The room was on the 3rd floor which was not what I requested so I went to the front desk for a change. Bryan was so AWESOME and took very good care of us without a care in the world with a nice upgrade from what we booked. We liked how small the place was however it was renovated very nicely and the breakfast pastries were so awesome. Coming from a local bakery I couldnt get enough and I am paying the price now, haha. Please do not overlook this place it is only 3-4 blocks from Duval street and a 15 min walk from Eaton St by the water.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed for one night at the start of April, it was really great weather.

The hotel is located on the busy Truman Street and is an easy walk into town (5-10mins) and the water front. Bryan checked us in and he was really friendly and told us were to get key lime pie and couch fritters. Free parking on site.

We stayed in a standard double room and for what we paid (£150 a night) it was super small and the air con was too loud so we had to turn it off at night but it was too hot. We stayed in room 13 and we couldn’t get the internet in our room, it wasn’t the best room. The pool is really lovely and breakfast was good – pastries, bagels, cereal etc.

Ask for a room away from the road as close to the pool as possible and not room 13.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road as close to the pool as possible and not room 13.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZKirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My friends and I stayed at Chelsea House for 4 nights. We had 2 rooms, 11 and 17. The property consists of 3 separate houses; the one in which the lobby is located was built in 1905. Each room has its own distinctive character. Although it is located on busy Truman Street, our house seemed far removed from traffic. We spend time around the pool during the afternoons and in the covered seating area during breakfast. We were able to meet and converse with the other guests easily. Breakfast was more than adequate. The location enabled us to walk to all attractions. The only time we moved our car was to go to dinner during a rain storm. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Although wi-fi was not advertised as available in guest rooms, room 17 was close enough to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Chelsea House is beautiful and relaxing. Every corner of their houses reminds me of true Key West. Rooms get pricy during the season, but I won't stay anywhere else. I guess I just fell in love with this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hi Ren M,

It's wonderful to hear that you fell in love with the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens! We can't wait to see you here again on your next visit to the island. Thank you for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed at the Chelsea Inn on March 4 & 5, 2014 during our week-long Mardi - Gras trip through the keys. We were a little apprehensive based on some of the reviews on Trip Advisor posted from December and January. But we were very pleasantly pleased with our room and the overall experience here.

We stayed in Room 12 opening ontto the access-way to the pool between the two buildings. It had two queen beds and was very nice and plenty large enough for my wife and I and our two teenage kids. The bathroom was also large and accommodating.

The breakfast was served out by the pool and was perfect for our family with hard boiled eggs, bananas, coffee, juice, various breads and pastries, and cereals. Of course the weather was also very nice while we were there making the outdoor situation even better.

The pool was a nice size for this size Inn and well maintained.

Most importantly, this Inn had an off-street parking lot with space for everyone that stayed there the best we could tell. When we arrived we parked our rental car and did not use it again until we checked out to drive back toward Miami. This place was close enough the all things we wanted to see and do, to walk.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 12 opening to the access-way tot he pool between the two buildings. It had two que...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raybyerley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Chelsea house from 2nd till 3rd of April and this was the best hotel during our Florida tour.We loved the room (Nr 14), which was super clean and cosy. The hotel is this great house from 1905 and it gives the authentic feeling of the old Key West...It would be a pity to stay in a modern hotel at Key West...Also,the receptionist, whose name we unfortunately don't remember, was kind and helpful... Keep up the good work Chelsea house!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Keekeec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We're thrilled to hear that we were your favorite hotel during your Florida vacation! Our authentic old-world charm is what makes the Chelsea House so unique. We would love to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.1 mi away
Silver Palms Inn
Silver Palms Inn
#11 of 51 in Key West
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £150 - £343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Hotel In Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing