We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“" way over priced for the size/quality of room etc "”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

For the price very disappointed , certainly over priced for the mini size of room, lack of furniture e.g. no wardrobe or hangers and only a small chest of drawers x 3, bed was uncomfortable , felt like it was falling to pieces! The first room that we were shown was in the attic/under the roof, felt like climbing Everest getting there, up narrow wooden staircase's. Thank goodness we'd checked the room out before lugging our 50lbs suitcases up the zigzag stairs. I had a word with the reception desk explained that my wife had back problems regarding climbing so many steep steps. Kindly enough we were given a room on the ground floor which to our suprise was even smaller than the one in the attic! " You win some you loose some ". Anyway, after openning the door we were put off with the strong domestos/klorix sort of smell. As the Brits would say " not enough room to swing a cat ", not even enough floor space for both of us to unpack our cases at the same time! Under the wall mounted a/c unit which was very loud during the night was an even smaller flat screen tv. Breakfast was a sort of self-service buffet found outside on a wooden shelf next to the pool. Complimentary parking was available, so was internet but only in a couple of spots, reception staff were pleasant and helpful, location was good only a few mins away from Hemmingways house. I wouldn't recommend it and certainly not for the high price that we'd paid. We didn't find the 'Key West charm' that we were looking forward to as portrayed in internet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAMIAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

I am glad you appreciated our friendly and helpful staff, along with the fabulous central location of this Historic Key West Inn.

At the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens, we have various room types. You reserved our smallest and most economically priced room category, an "Economy Queen" room. They are competitively priced and among the most affordable in the historic district of Key West. For those preferring something larger, we have some lovely Superior Queen Rooms, Rooms with 2 Queen Beds, King Guestrooms, and even a couple of Junior Suites with kitchens and separate living areas.

Getting the free wireless internet access in all of the guest rooms has proved to be a challenge, but we are working on it! We've hired a new company that has assured us we will have full property-wide WiFi access with no black-out spots within the next few months. It's very exciting!

Thank you for being our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 852 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

My girlfriend and I flew in from Nashville on a Thursday morning and took a taxi down to the Chelsea House. We were immediately impressed with the condition of the house. It still had that old Key West charm but with modern amenities. The room that we stayed in had a modern bathroom and a nice comfy bed and a TV mounted on the wall so we could relax of a morning and watch the 'Key West Channel'. The porches had rocking chairs where we could sip a liquor drink and people watch and think about breakfast lunch or dinner and talk about heading to the beach. Keezy at the front and Bryan were very accommodating and I forgot another person's name but she recommended Pepe's for breakfast and it was the most extraordinary meal we had on the island. Anyway, don't listen to some of these negative reviews and go down and see for yourself. I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Stayed here with quite a few couples for a wedding. Minimal rooms. No turndown service unless requested. Minimal toiletries for bathroom. Staff wouldn't allow late checkout and basically ran us out our rooms. Very clean rooms, minus the nursing home-like smell. Wasn't worth the price.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We enjoyed having the bride's friends and family here with us at the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens. Whilst we do our utmost to honor guests' requests, late check-outs are extremely difficult to offer with the limited number of rooms we have, especially on days when we have a full house. Larger hotels with a hundred rooms or more can count on the odds that some rooms may be unoccupied that evening or that some of their guests will be arriving later in the evening. For us, we only have three hours to get all of our guest rooms ready after check-out before the next guests are scheduled to check-in, so every minute really counts. I hope this explanation helps you understand why we can't guarantee late check-outs.

All stays include daily housekeeping service, but turndown service isn't an amenity typically offered. Some of the larger resort-style hotels on the island with substantially higher nightly rates and/or daily resort fees include turndown service, but our guests typically prefer our lower affordably priced rates with no added fees instead. We're glad you appreciated the cleanliness of the property and rooms, and we hope you had a marvelous time celebrating the nuptials.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We thought that by booking the best room available we would be sure of something decent - how wrong we were. Our outdoor seating area is right onto the side street with the mind and laundry, along with the car park right outside our door . So disappointed. Rooms are tired and furniture falling apart. Would definitely not r,eccomend staying here. First time I have ever said this.

Room Tip: Smaller rooms are available but be very careful when/ if you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 85JonathanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

I'm sorry to hear that your accommodations didn't meet your satisfaction. Most guests love the location of the Junior Suite you stayed in with its two nice seating areas: one adjoining the courtyard area and the other overlooking a quiet side street. We wish you would have said something at the time of your stay so we could have moved you to a different building at the Chelsea House which may have been better suited to your personal preferences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Chelsea house since the Key Lime in was booked up last week. Upon arrival at the Chelsea house the staff was very nice and showed us to our room. The room was on the 3rd floor which was not what I requested so I went to the front desk for a change. Bryan was so AWESOME and took very good care of us without a care in the world with a nice upgrade from what we booked. We liked how small the place was however it was renovated very nicely and the breakfast pastries were so awesome. Coming from a local bakery I couldnt get enough and I am paying the price now, haha. Please do not overlook this place it is only 3-4 blocks from Duval street and a 15 min walk from Eaton St by the water.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed for one night at the start of April, it was really great weather.

The hotel is located on the busy Truman Street and is an easy walk into town (5-10mins) and the water front. Bryan checked us in and he was really friendly and told us were to get key lime pie and couch fritters. Free parking on site.

We stayed in a standard double room and for what we paid (£150 a night) it was super small and the air con was too loud so we had to turn it off at night but it was too hot. We stayed in room 13 and we couldn’t get the internet in our room, it wasn’t the best room. The pool is really lovely and breakfast was good – pastries, bagels, cereal etc.

Ask for a room away from the road as close to the pool as possible and not room 13.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road as close to the pool as possible and not room 13.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZKirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My friends and I stayed at Chelsea House for 4 nights. We had 2 rooms, 11 and 17. The property consists of 3 separate houses; the one in which the lobby is located was built in 1905. Each room has its own distinctive character. Although it is located on busy Truman Street, our house seemed far removed from traffic. We spend time around the pool during the afternoons and in the covered seating area during breakfast. We were able to meet and converse with the other guests easily. Breakfast was more than adequate. The location enabled us to walk to all attractions. The only time we moved our car was to go to dinner during a rain storm. We would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Although wi-fi was not advertised as available in guest rooms, room 17 was close enough to the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#18 of 51 in Key West
1,363 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,784 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.1 mi away
Silver Palms Inn
Silver Palms Inn
#11 of 51 in Key West
1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £149 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Hotel In Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing