We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and comfortable bed but LOTS of ants”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

First impression...HOT. They leave the doors to the Inn open. But, the AC in the rooms worked really well. So, the sweltering Key West heat didn't make it into the rooms. The bed was very comfortable. The location was great and we lucked out with one of the three on location parking spaces.

The big problem was that the bathroom was quite literally crawling with ants. They seemed particularly keen on the bar of soap that the hotel provided. We only stayed one night and didn't bother telling the management though. It didn't have a major impact on our stay because they seemed to remain in the bathroom.

A smaller problem was that the breakfast choices were limited and overall poor in quality. I've had a better continental breakfast at a roadside motel. Not at all what I'd expect from a historic inn.

While there were some people with children in the inn, be aware that there is a clothing optional sun deck that is visible from many of the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank claryqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We're glad that you enjoyed our super comfy beds and the great location of the Chelsea House. We do leave the front door of the main house that leads to the lobby open, simply because when it is closed it looks like the inn itself is closed! When the door is open, it looks welcoming and guests know we are open for business. This time of year in the tropics when we have scattered rain showers, the tiny little "sugar ants" try to sneak indoors. They're particularly attracted to sweets, so when guests have open boxes of cookies, donuts, etc. in the rooms, it's harder to deter them. It's the same in our homes for those of us who live here, which is why everything is better when kept in Tupperware. Thankfully they're small and harmless, and if guests don't have open food throughout their rooms, we rarely see them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (842)
There are newer reviews for Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 842 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

My husband and I stayed her for a couple nights and absolutely loved it!! The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful when we were trying to find good places to eat and visit. Hotel was very clean and had a nice pool area. Very close to Duval St. Check-in and check-out was very fast and easy. We will definitely return :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank hollylea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Chelsea House Pool & Gardens! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Key West.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel is outdated and in need of repair. The shower in our bath had filth between the tiles both nights of our stay. They credited us one night should have credited us both for these unsanitary conditions. Breakfast was poor also not a good value at all unless you don't care about personal hygiene or outdated sub par

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Hi Laurie,

The bathroom in the room you were in has since been re-grouted and is in tip-top shape. I wish you would have mentioned your displeasure when you were here, as we could have easily moved you to another room. When you subsequently wrote to the property manager after your departure, she did indeed refund you for one of the nights of your stay. Your written response clearly thanks her very much, you stated that you were happy and would definitely return to stay with us again, and in fact you signed off with "Have a Blessed Day!" You can see why we are confused that you turned around and wrote this review, in light of this correspondence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

First off, if you are not anorexic, and if you have back problems, this place is NOT for you. The shower is the smallest I have ever seen, you can't bend (so ladies forget about shaving) and you can barely turn around and wash your back. It's gross enough staying at this very outdated hotel, let alone having your body touch their nasty shower walls. The tile in the bathroom is absolutely disgusting, I was gagging as I brushed my teeth.. had to close my eyes. We paid $300/night and it was a total waste. The bed is SO hard, I didn't sleep much at all, and went home with back pain. The housekeeping lady (tall african american woman) was so rude, we had BLOOD on a towel she left us and gave us an attitude when we asked her to change it. Front desk staff is very friendly and the location was good. Other than that, a total waste of $.. I should have paid the extra $40/night and stayed at the WESTIN ... never again.

Room Tip: we got a superior queen, and this was a total waste-
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank litagd2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HistoricKeyWestInns, Director of Sales at Chelsea House Hotel in Key West, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Hello litagd2014, I'm sorry you did not feel you received good value for money, as our rates are among the most competitive in the historic district of the island. We aim to provide our guests with a wonderful, homey Key West experience, and I apologize if anything wasn't of the highest standard at the time of your stay. I would appreciate it if you would e-mail me at msimmons@historickeywestinns.com with your room number and dates of stay, so that I can investigate the issues you raised with our staff. Thanks so much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was not too sure with my booking after I read the comments on trip advisor. It seems like the non-renovated rooms generate the bad comments. When we arrived, we asked for a renovated room and we couldn't have been happier with the room we got. The check-in was quick and friendly. There was plenty of parking space, which was an important criteria since we were in the heart of the historic hood. We were a group of 3, sharing a room with two queen beds, facing the the pool, on the ground floor (room 29). It was spacious, very modern and clean. Water pressure, AC, all work perfectly and there was soap, shampoo, cream available. The pool is not very big and packed with kids at times, but for the intense heat of June, it was refreshing and clean. The breakfast buffet is served near the pool and consists of bagels, baked goods, yogourts, cereal, coffee, fruits etc. There was enough for everybody. We were able to walk to all the attractions. I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 29 is spacious, renovated and faces the pool, which gives you quick access to the breakfast are...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audream9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here 4 nights and picked it, well to be honest it was the only place last minute in our price range as we changed or travel plans 2 days before heading out. When we checked in I requested a coffee maker as I like to roll out of bed to a cup of coffee. Especially when I am on vacation. I was told she would look into it. Never heard back. They could Charge a deposit for things like coffee makers and blow dryers so that they don't get stolen. But they should at least have some on hand for those who want them. Rooms are clean, but there is NO PLACE to put ANYTHING. No closet!! and only 2 hooks to close together on the wall for hanging clothes and holds like 4 hangers. No towel racks, no vanity for toiletries, back of commode is tiny and has button on top to flush so you can't set anything on that either. We had to put almost ALL of our stuff on the floor of the bathroom or shower. The "Dresser" only held half of my clothes and my blow dryer/toiletries etc. My boyfriend had to leave his clothes in the suit case all week. Both doors had no weather striping, so AC leaked terribly and the very bright hallway lights shined in our eyes all night. Grounds are very nice and it is in the perfect area for dining, renting bikes, Duval street etc. But if they would take a little money and add few storage options (shelves, towel racks, medicine cabinet etc.) my score would be easy a 4.5. Would not recommend for anyone with high expectations of a comfortable stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Chelsea House is a really cute place off of Trumon and walking distance to Duval. It has a nice pool and a breakfast selection that is small but was enough for my crowd. The House itself is very Key West chic and the staff was very friendly. My only complaint was that we got one of the cheaper rooms and it remained a little warm the whole time we were there. It was also a bit hard to get to as you have to go up a pretty narrow staircase. Otherwise, it was a nice stay and we would probably stay there again except request a room on a lower floor.

Room Tip: Go for a superior queen or a king room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yagators
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#19 of 51 in Key West
1,348 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cypress House Hotel : Key West
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Court Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,762 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Key West La Concha
2.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#44 of 51 in Key West
2,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel in Key West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel in Key West

Address: 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Price Range: £128 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chelsea House Hotel in Key West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic architecture with updated, modern rooms and amenities are what you will enjoy at our Chelsea House Hotel located two blocks from Duval Street, making for a leisurely walk to Key West restaurants, nightlife, and attractions. Our stylish, boutique hotel has 48 guest rooms located within three former historic estate properties, two in the Victorian, Queen Anne architectural style; the Peter H. Hanlon house, built in 1905, and the George L. Lowe house erected in 1891. They stand on an acre of tropical gardens which includes a large, heated pool and many comfortable lounging areas. A third former estate property, the Maloney House, was built in 1884. Whether you seek sun, solitude, or a gathering spot for friends, Chelsea House Hotel offers a perfect spot for your next Key West vacation. Continental breakfast is included with all guest stays. Guest parking is available on-site. Historic architecture & modern rooms. Free continental breakfast. Free internet. Upscale eco-friendly bathroom amenities. Large pool. Boutique hotel. Walk to Duval Street and the waterfront. Located in the heart of Old Town, Key West. Charming and romantic, where modern style & comfort meets relaxed Key West vibe at the Chelsea House Hotel. Self parking onsite for 10 USD/day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel in Key West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Pool And Gardens
Chelsea House Pool & Gardens Hotel Key West
Chelsea House Hotel In Key West Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing