We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and welcoming”
Review of La Pensione Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Pensione Inn
Ranked #63 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Convenient and welcoming”
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Arriving late in Key West, we were delighted to find a warm welcome, a large comfortable room and off-street car parking at this conveniently located establishment when all else seemed to be full. Didn't have time to enjoy the pool and gardens.
Staff were welcoming and helpful, breakfast was delicious, we were able to leave our car in the parking lot after check out while we explored Key West on foot. It was an easy walk to Duval Street restaurants and shopping, Maddison Square, the Truman White House and other Key West attractions.
Not cheap, but we were glad to find a room, and probably no more expensive that comparable rooms in downtown Key West.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HDStripad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    69
    28
    16
    12
See reviews for
10
160
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

It is a plus to leave the car in the B&B parking lot because parking is tough and from this innone can walk to most every place of interest. My only somewhat negative comment is that the breakfast was not special. However, being able to sit outside on the porch or by the pool is great.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simcha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2012

We stayed at LaPensionne between the 25 Feb and 1 March 2012. It is a very charming old fashioned B&B with very good and helpful staff. Yes the rooms are a little bit dated but it adds to the charm of the place. Everything is very clean and the breakfast is served every morning by a very fun loving lady. There is plenty to choose from fresh fruit, cereals, bagels, bread, eggs and as a special treat some freshly made waffles which are the best I ever tasted. An added plus was the free car parking if you arrive by car otherwise that will set you back arround $15-$20 a day away from the hotel. The location is great just 10 min walk from Duval Street where all the nightlife goes on. We parked the car at the beginning of the stay and never used it till we had to leave, everything is in walking distance. We travelled as a same sex couple and were treated like any other couple so no problem on that front. Can recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saffidog2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

Has some charm.Nice front/side porch.Room was good.Manager was fun.Would go back.Good value.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bikeboy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at La Pensione and it was, like the first time, a wonderful experience from start to finish. The staff is ultra-accommodating and the location could not be more perfect for exploring Key West. I HIGHLY recommend that you plan a visit here!

Room Tip: Poolside is fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stayed here Nov. of last year for a couple of nights and really enjoyed it. If your coming to the keys and are looking for a TV, stay home. There are no TVs in the rooms here and it was quite refreshing and a great way to "unplug". The Inn itself is nice, most folks say it lack charm, and since we are not hard to please, and really just wanted a place to rest our heads, and call home base, it was perfect. We drove down, so the off street parking (albeit tight) is very nice and rare in Key West. Breakfast as others have stated is nothing fancy, but again, for the price, location I think its a great value (the breakfast and the entire stay for that matter). Staff was super friendly to us, so not sure what folks were doing to made to think otherwise. Keep in mind, if your not nice, chances are folks wont be nice back to you, service industry or not, respect is a two way street. Again, will stay here again, yes, great value, but we would also like try some other spots as this is not our first time in Key West, but was our first over night stay.

Room Tip: I think they just have 7 rooms, we had room 1 or 2, interior, no balcony, but we could use the commo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beardown_pdv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at La Pensione for 2 nights and we were very satified! We had a room that shared the balcony and took full advantage of it! The room was a decent size and had a king size bed. (Not the most comfortable thing on the planet but it also wasn't the worst) We had french doors opening to the balcony and every morning we opened them and heard the birds and felt the Key breeze while lying in bed!! The B&B is a bit on the old-school side but I think that it added to its charm! The pool was refreshing after walking all day up and down Duval Street, and they have coolers and an ice machine for use at anytime. We ended up getting some stuff to drink, filling our cooler and having a nice balcony party before we went out on the town every night! :)

Breakfast is nothing special..... But thats why you walk to all the amazing places that are all less than a mile away. (I suggest "Blue Heaven"... will change your life!!)

The biggest appeal of La Pensione is how close it is to Duval Street! We walked everywhere and had a great time doing so! If you choose most of the hotels on the Key you might end up having to take a cab everywhere, which doesn't turn me on. Being close to everything was fantastic!!! It made you feel like you were a part of the Keys instead of just a visitor!

When we go back, La Pensione will definitely be an option to go back to!

Room Tip: Room 8 has the Balcony but isn't at the front of the building so the street noise doesn't ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.1 mi away
Key Lime Inn Key West
Key Lime Inn Key West
#21 of 51 in Key West
1,314 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#20 of 77 in Key West
749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Azul Key West
Azul Key West
#44 of 77 in Key West
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#61 of 77 in Key West
556 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tropical Inn
Tropical Inn
#12 of 77 in Key West
856 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Pensione Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Pensione Inn

Property: La Pensione Inn
Address: 809 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6425
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Pensione Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1891 Victorian mansion - Directly in the center of Key West's historic old town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your La Pensione Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Pensione Hotel Key West
La Pensione Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing