We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Pidgeon Forge
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I booked a room on line. When I checked in they put in a room a bit bigger than a closet in my house. After I called front desk they told me there was nothing else available because they were sold out. The room was extremely small, stinky and the AC unit was blowing right into my face, so I couldn't even have a good sleep in what they called a room. I am not very picky and I believe that a hotel is not a destination, just a place to sleep the night. But this one was something really sub par. The area is pretty nice though, right on the water but you get advantage of that only if you get water front room. AT night it is very dark there with no lights. The bed is a cheap box with springs. Thanks god I booked only one night and moved in Marriott across the street for just $25 more a night. Don't buy those pretty pictures on their website, they are far from reality. If this is a Cuban spirit in this hotel, I wouldn't risk to be in this Cuba

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank HyghLandeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
HyghLandeR,

We are happy you enjoyed the grounds and feel that you could give the resort another go around! We do have other larger rooms available on property, which we also offer on third party websites. If you call us before your next trip we can help you pick out a room that would suite your needs best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    360
    214
    98
    114
See reviews for
285
498
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

I traveled with my wife and kids so I booked a room with 2 beds. When I arrived there it turned out that they "upgraded" us to a water view room with ONE bed. For four people! When I insisted on the room with two beds they had me to show the reservation because the lady at the front desk obviously didn't have a slightest idea what we had booked. Finally after 30 minutes of disputes they gave us a suite and wanted us to pay again for the mistake which was not ours. Finally we settled everything and headed to our room only to find that it is dirty with wet towels and hair all over the shower.The front desk agent did not even apologize for that and suggested that we wait in the dirty lobby wit the kids after the long drive from Miami! It was an utter disrespect. When we demanded the manager there was none! So we decided to shorten our stay from 3 days down to one day because they refused to give us our money back. The "suite" they put us in was filthy because it stank mold and the beds were so uncomfortable that it was like sleeping in bare springs! And all that luck for "just" $230 a night. Nothing to say about the noise outside the room. We were told that there is no security on the grounds, so who knows what is going on there at night. I would recommend this resort only to my enemy. Thanks god we left on the next day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank V A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
We're very sorry that your recent stay at Ibis Bay Waterfront Resort did not live up to your expectations. Your less-than-perfect experience is not typical of our resort and we apologize for the booking confusion. Since the change in ownership, the resort has been undergoing a renovation program to expand and enhance the original resort. Improvements have been made to many of the rooms and include new bathrooms, bedding, furniture, and extensions to the pool and beach areas. All renovations take time to complete and apparently you encountered the old resort and not the new resort that is well underway to being completed. Please accept our apologies and if you contact us we will be glad to help make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key West hotels

amsterdam
Level Contributor
68 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Picture wise Ibis Bay Resort looks quite nice; when we arrived though we saw a badly maintained, cheap and dirty place. It is at best an acceptable backpacker style motel but offers certainly no resort quality. The airco makes you feel that you are just next to a jumbo jet taking off, the bathroom is tiny, the sliding doors don't close well and the tv was broke. Certainly no value for money. The beach is a strip of sand and offers no access to the water; the island's main road is close by, although the traffic noise is overruled by the airco. We were very dissapointed and left after one night. Ibis Bay Resort is absolutely overpriced.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank orangeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
orangeAmsterdam,

We are sorry that you were not satisfied with the value of your room. Our rates are comparable to others in our area. We hope that you brought your concerns to the front desk so that we could have remedied the problems, if not please do so that we can check the room and fix them right away. Our private beach does offer lounge chairs to take in the sun and soon we will make the water more accessible to swim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

It is amazing how divided the reviews on this hotel are. It is an older 2 star motel with small bathroom no fridge and minimal furniture. We were lucky to have a bay view room and that made all the difference for us. I liked this place. The staff was friendly even though the maid missed our room the first night. The pool is awesome with great music and the bar has a happy hour from 3-7, considering the high prices in Key West this is a good value option.

Room Tip: Ask for a bay view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TexasTick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
TexasTick,

We are in the middle of a little rejuvenating and actually just put mini fridges in all of the rooms. Hopefully you enjoyed a peaceful nap in one of the hammocks overlooking the bay. I’ve patted the staff on the back for their great job and friendliness and am on my way to enjoy the happy hour myself! Cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

This a nice location where jet-ski and jetboat tour start.

The room was clean, but smell to much detergent. The commodities are old but ok for 1 or 2 night.

There is a nice swimming pool and a kind of private beach.

You need to pay for the break fast but you've for your money.

The staff was pleasant.

This is not a luxe hotel but you've for your money

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
Frederic H,
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Ibis Bay Resort and the Stoned Crab Restaurant as well. We hope you took advantage of the free coffee every morning and the 10% discount in the restaurant! Our staff hopes that next time you are in the states you will pay us another visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

My family and I booked a two night pre-paid non-refundable stay here through bookit.com. It was so bad we forfeited the second night and went elsewhere. The room was depressingly barren, without the table or chair pictured in the website, instead it was just two smallish full beds, and two lawn chairs. The comforters were not clean, there was clearly stains on top as well as dirt on the bedskirts. The phone did not work (and was not fixed during our stay), the TV had problems (although the staff did eventually fix that) and the bed was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept on, probably because it was just a cheap mattress and box spring on top a homemade-like unfinished wood crate. Our room was not cleaned until after 4 pm. The “complimentary wi-fi” only worked in the pool and bar areas, but the bookit.com website does not specify that. But the worst part was the attitude of the staff – that this is the “Key West” lifestyle. We were made to feel that complaining was not being laid back, and we should just accept these things because this is Key West. I don’t think it is being uptight to expect clean linens, a reasonably comfortable bed and working electronics, whether in Key West or not. After the manager Claudia told my family that we had a “bad attitude” we decided we had enough of this place and left. In addition, we booked a jet ski tour with Hydrothunder, the jet ski company located on the Ibis property. While they aren’t directly affiliated, they do have a contract with the Ibis, and obviously get all their business because of the location. Alex, the employee who had us sign the liability paperwork to use the jet skis, was extremely rude and disrespectful. I was nervous about the jet skis from the start. He started by saying that anything that went wrong was all our fault, and that if we went too slow we would slow down the whole group, and that we might not get to see the whole island, as it was only a 90 minute tour, essentially shaming me into thinking I needed to keep up, even if I was nervous. He also stated that there would be an explanation of the jet skis, but we had to sign that we agreed to everything first, and that there would be no training. Once I read that I could seriously injure myself or others if I didn’t know what I was doing, and this guy made me think they wouldn’t help me figure out what to do, I canceled this tour. No one needs someone who is nervous about operating a jet ski on their tour, and Alex made it clear that he and his staff was not going to help me get over my nerves, or teach me how to use a jet ski. On a positive note, Jackie and William at the Fun Desk were very nice and helpful, and the décor and turtles were cheery and bright, the food, drinks, bartenders and waitresses at the restaurant were good, but they could not overcome the sub-par conditions and rude staff that we encountered. I would not recommend this “resort” to anyone. Unless I really hated them.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for bringing your issues to my attention. Ibis Bay is being improved every day. I have addressed all the issues raised here with the staff. I think you will find Ibis Bay very much improved since you were here. Thank you for your help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Booked a "courtyard view" room. Got a room with no view. Outside the sliding door is
a privacy wood fence, and behind the privacy wood fence is a parking. There was dirt outside the sliding door, and there were no chairs, therefore, no "patio" to relax. The room had only one chair, no table. After requesting another chair and a table, we got a low coffee table. The sliding door was only lockable with a bar.
The office was not willing to work with us. They said they were booked out. However, there
was a vacancy sign outside. The office explained that the vacancy sign was not working.

The room was very close to the swimming pool and restaurant. Loud, loud music blarring!!

I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with ocean view may be acceptable. They have a concrete patio, with chairs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank H Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#28 of 51 in Key West
872 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing