We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A man was killed right outside of my room!!!!!! Dont risk your life staying here” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A man was killed right outside of my room!!!!!! Dont risk your life staying here”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

The place is grose and filthy!!!! It didn't start well from the very beginning. At check in the front desk agent double charged us and it took almost two months later to get our money back. On the second day, they had some fighting competition and there were crowds of drunk people walking on the property, yelling. So we decided to leave for downtown to get rid of that constant annoying noise. When we returned the at about midnight there were still drunk people walking around though not as many. After we locked in our room, obviously some kind of party started right next to our room. They were talking very loudly and suddenly started screaming and apparently fighting. Then I heard somebody saying No, no and a kind of sigh. My husband and I were so terrified. Then we saw police cars standing there and my husband walked out of the room to talk to an officer because he is a retired detective. The police said there was a man STABBED by another guy who had escaped!!!! The whole place was fenced by police and they were searching for the man everywhere. There was a big puddle of blood 20 feet from our room! We decided to check out in the morning. One of the staff said that there had been a fight between the MAINTENANCES of the hotel and one of them KILLED the other! We moved to a different hotel and tried to enjoy the rest of our vacation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VVanderGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, General Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
We're very sorry that the tragedy you mentioned affected your stay in Key West and your opinion of IBIS BAY. This incident was the result of an argument by two off-duty workers, and was in no way related to the Mixed Martial Arts fundraiser being held earlier that night. In fact the incident took place more than two hours after the fundraiser ended. At IBIS BAY our highest priority is the safety and comfort of our guests. This was truly a freak occurrence, and obviously does not reflect an average stay at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    365
    344
    210
    95
    109
See reviews for
272
479
29
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

My husband and I stayed May 6-12 and had a wonderful time. Everyone was very friendly, the food was great at the restaurant and the drinks were nice and strong. Yes the rooms are a bit small but you are in Key West are you really wanting to spend time in your room. They have been doing a lot of remodeling and are still making many improvements. We had a refrigerator added to our room during our stay which was really nice. It is a bit of a hike to Duval but we ended up buying bikes at the Kmart across the street and rode down. They have bike and scooter renals at the location if you are interested. (If you do opt for the bikes and are unable to ride them back several of the cabs have bike racks on them its about a $15 cab ride back)

The bed was very comfortable and the water presssure in the shower was the best I have ever had at a hotel. The smell some of the others wrote about was from when they were bringing in the traps. We were staying during Stone Crab season. It did smell a bit but nothing ever came in the room. We had the room right next to were they were loading and unloading and never came in the room and it disapated rather quickly outside. I think some of the people that wrote reviews just wanted to complain about something. This was a fantastic property to stay at and we will definatly be going back.
A few other things they do show a movie on Thursday nights on a screen in the pool area. They have a fantastic happy our with half priced drinks and appitizers. Since the restaurant is outside you do get a visitor from time to time. The iguanas were fun to watch.
I would say take any of the negitive feedback with a grain of salt. It is a great place to stay for the price I don't really reccomend walking but it is possible. Bikes are a better way to go, take Palm it seems to be a bit faster. I say give them a chance the new owners took over about a year ago and are working very hard to make the place better and are doing a fantastic job. Can't wait to go again next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gurgi99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Thank you for your kind words about IBIS Bay Waterfront Resort! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and got to experience the true Key West lifestyle! We strive to give every guest an authentic Key West experience complete with smiling service, great food at Key West's hottest new restaurant, The Stoned Crab, local adventures and activities from our Fundesk and easy access to all that Key West has to offer. It's true, our new owners have made IBIS Bay an extremely popular vacation choice for travelers seeking an authentic "retro" experience that also offers all of the modern amenities such as air conditioning, HD televisions and wireless Internet. We hope to see you again soon, and feel free to add some photos to your review so others TripAdvisors can see what Ibis Bay is all about!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2012

Had a wonderful stay at this waterfront resort. The staff was very friendly, the restaurant was great and i loved the discount you received when staying at the resort and eating at the restaurant. Food was very fresh and delicious. The only bad parts about my stay were the smell coming off the bay when the tide was low, which was only at night, but was not an enjoyable scent when sitting on the patio outside of our room catching the sunset. The maid service came around too late in the day, around 3-4 PM. We were out most of the afternoon and mornings, which is the ideal time to clean the room, and when it came time to get ready for dinner and going out, they would come around. The tile floors need to be cleaned every day or at least every other day because the entire resort is covered in white sand. Also, the loading dock for the fishermen is located directly next to the pool and restaurant. When they unload their traps on a daily basis the sound of the power washer cleaning the traps is ear piercingly loud. not very relaxing while sitting by the pool. But other then that, everything was perfect. We took a cab to and from Duvall street and it was only $10 for two people. The resort alos offers alot of activities. We did the island tour on the Jet Skis which was amazing! See Will at the fun desk for recommendations.

Room Tip: no fitness center. late maid service. discount on food if you eat in the restaurant while staying at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allyson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
Allyson T,
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ibis Bay Resort. Housekeeping does their very best at getting to your room in time for you get ready for a night on the town. You took advantage of Will, GREAT! Next time you think of leaving New York, don’t forget about us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

Stayed in this "resort" in April with my girlfriend. Far from being impressed. The hotel is outdated, tiny rooms, rude and unprofessional staff at the front desk, bed in the room probably picked up in Salvation Army store, awful nauseating smell from the ocean. Definitely not a dream destination and very far from Duval Street . Later in the day checked the hotels closer to the downtown and found better deal and better hotel. Ibis Bay resort is advertised as a Cuban Style hotel but these words just cover a hotel in bad need of TLC and employees with better attitude..

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
We're very sorry that your recent stay at IBIS Bay Waterfront Resort did not live up to your expectations. The new owners of IBIS Bay take great pride in offering visitors to Key West a unique island experience designed to evoke a feeling of old Havana or Florida in the '50s. Our convenient location, large private beach, activity-filled Fun Desk, friendly professional staff and Key West's hottest new restaurant, The Stoned Crab, have made IBIS Bay an extremely popular vacation choice for travelers seeking an authentic "retro" experience that never-the-less offers all of the modern amenities we all take for granted, such as air conditioning, HD televisions, and wireless Internet. Since the change in ownership, the resort has been undergoing a renovation program to expand and enhance the original resort. Improvements include new bathrooms, bedding, furniture, and extensions to the pool and beach areas. All renovations take time to complete and apparently you encountered the old resort and not the new resort that is well underway to being completed. Please accept our apologies, and if you contact us we will be glad to help make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I rented a room from May 2nd- May 5th. Room 509 to be exact. I loved EVERYTHING with the hotel. The service was great, the room was nice and cool, bed was super comfortable and I loved coming home from a night of partying and watching sportscenter on the flat screen tv. The only complaint I have is because I did stay out to 4 or 5 am with my friends every night I wanted to shoot the dang birds that squawked every morning. If your looking for a cheap nice hotel and you go to bed at a decent hour or are a hard sleeper you will love this place. I'm not sure if I'd stay again due to the birds and the fact it is 2 miles from duvall.

Room Tip: Try to get one away from the Parrot cage. My room was 509 so try to stay away from that one....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Eric, thank you for sharing about your recent stay at Ibis Bay Waterfront Resort. We're glad you agree that IBIS Bay is unlike any other resort in Key West! When you add our unique 50's vibe with Key West's hottest new restaurant, The Stoned Crab, and the wonderful recent renovations our new owners have made, it's clear Ibis Bay has quickly become one of the top travel destinations in Key West. As you mentioned, our competitively priced rooms feature all the modern amenities such as air conditioning, HD televisions and wireless Internet so relaxing at the hotel is as pleasurable as exploring the island and partaking in the many activities available right from our Fun Desk. If you have any photos of the hotel from your stay we'd love for you to upload them to add to your review. Please tell all of your friends about us and be sure to plan your return visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
detroit
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

I booked this room about 6 weeks before we arrived (everything was booked) 2nites costed $335.00 the room smelled musty we got on the bay side food was alright a little pricey 135.00 with a couple of drinks lot`s of gay ppl making out at the pool not really kid friendly I would say. Checked the bed for bed bugs didn`t see anything it was alright, but I wouldn`t stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lbutler0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2012
lbutler0308,
We hope that you change your mind and give Ibis Bay Resort another try in the future. In the summer time we have our off season rates in effect. We are a place that you can visit with your family or a significant other; everyone is welcome to have a relaxing time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

My wife and I traveled from New York for our long-awaited vacation. We had great time in Orlando and Tampa, Miami, Everglades, St Petersburg. We wish we could say that about Key West... At first it started well, we were given a suite, everybody was smiling. Jackie helped us a lot with the reservation for a sunset sail where we had a good time. We enjoyed our walk in downtown and we happy and tired we returned into our room. The rest was like some bad taste horror movie where insects attack and kill people.

My wife woke me up in the middle of the night saying that something is crawling on her skin, she smashed it but the feeling remained. So I got up and turned on the light - and Oh My God! The bed was full of small bugs with wings! I shook some of them off and rushed into the bathroom to find myriads more bugs in there! They all were crawling here and there, getting on the towels, in the bath tub, in our toiletries... There was also a pile of small abandoned wings in the sink, everything seemed to be crawling.

I called the receptionist, he came and was also apparently shocked by what he saw. He apologized and quickly found another room for us, a small one. He also helped us a lot with moving and he looked really sorry. But obviously he was the only person who helped us with this situation. My wife kept startling at night because of creepy feeling of something crawling and we really couldn't sleep for the rest of the night. In the morning ay check out we were told that it is normal because it was the season for termites and nobody apologized, nothing said about trying to satisfy us for all the horror.

My wife had to be examined at our doctor's office and thanks God they found no infection. This ruined our whole impression of Key West and our vacation. I am not gonna stay in any hotel offering "local charm" or claiming they are not "a chain hotel". With Ibis Bay Resort it means that they are very far from the standards of real hotels and resorts

Room Tip: Stay in a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank otherguy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 May 2012
Otherguy3, we're very sorry that your recent stay at IBIS Bay Waterfront Resort did not live up to your expectations. The new owners of IBIS Bay take great pride in offering visitors to Key West a unique island experience designed to evoke a feeling of old Havana or Florida in the '50s. Since the change in ownership, the resort has been undergoing a renovation program to expand and enhance the original resort. Improvements include new bathrooms, bedding, furniture, and extensions to the pool and beach areas. Your stay was not typical for a guest of Ibis Bay, so please accept our apologies, and if you contact us we will be glad to help make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,298 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#34 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Key West at The Keys Collection
2.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing