We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad service and bad rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Dauphin Island, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad service and bad rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

After only being on our vacation for 20 minutes, my rental car bumper was ripped off due to a bad concrete bumper in the Resort parking lot. The hotel never returned any correspondence or did anything with the accident report from what was clearly their faulty parking spaces.

The rooms were small and smelly. The air conditioner was like a freight train all night long. Ibis poop was all over the side walk and tracked into the room constantly. The food in the restaurant left much to be desired. Overall, do not stay in this hotel. You can do much better for a similar price.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Meg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
We are sorry about the accident you had with your rental car, but IBIS BAY has never had another complaint about the parking spaces. Please don't hold the resort responsible for a driving mishap. Also, our new Stoned Crab restaurant has been receiving rave reviews from many patrons, so we apologize if your food was anything less than amazing. If you return to Key West please give us a call and we will make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    348
    211
    96
    110
See reviews for
277
484
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Ibis Bay was the perfect pick! Awesome room, and nice staff. Perfect if your looking forward to a tropical getaway. I recommend you pay the fee for a waterfront view! It was well worth it. It was in the back, no traffic and of course opening the blinds to the water was much nicer than a parking lot!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Our waterfront is very tranquil. There are plenty of hammocks on the beach between the palm trees. You can watch the graceful ibis birds feeding in the shallows or just nod off for a well-deserved nap.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkville, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

You may stay here if...
You want terrible customer service. Customer service sells a property and their accommodations. What a terrible experience I had with the manager Claudine. She is extremely condescending and is not willing to accommodate any of her customers. She also advised that the property is under new management recently and the service is much better than it used to be. I highly doubt this with her attitude. I had booked a room on Bookit.com and had some problems with the room I booked being available. Bookit.com was excellent in giving great customer service to amend the problem. Ibis Bay on the other hand was less than willing to accommodate me as a customer. Claudine is very short and very rude. Luckily Bookit.com was able to give me a refund do to the problem on their end but, the manager Claudine declined the refund! HA! I am extremely relieved that I will not be staying at this resort! It sucks that people work so hard for their vacations and are treated like this. Stay here if you must, but, please be careful with management. :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2012
Claudine is one of our stars of The Ibis Bay Front Desk. She gets positive comments from hotel guests all the time. I understand you booked your room at our lowest non-refundable rate. Just like the airline's non-refundable fares, those room rates are never refunded. But unlike the airlines, we give you a credit you can use within 12 months. We think that is being very generous.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crownsville, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the waterfront rooms, and had an awesome time. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with all our questions and arranging excursions, especially Jackie! Great recommendations! The restaurant was very good and pool was nice. Our room was fantastic, smelles good, comfy beds, great decor and you must get a waterfront room...our patio opened to a small beach with hammocks and palm trees and lots of friendly local lizzards! Would stay there again!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2GirlTrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
The lizards said you were excellent guests. They rated you 5 out of 5 on lizardadvisor.com! Congratulations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

My partner and I were in Key West, FL. June 6-11, 2012 and I have to say that the Ibis Bay Waterfront Resort was close to perfect as we could get. The rooms were small but very cozy. The room service was on point before we arrived back in the evening. My only suggestion for the rooms is to add a chess of drawers so the guest could have some place to put their clothes. Being there for 6 days, it was a hassle having to dig through our suitcase or having them all out of the tables. I did talk to the front desk and she did inform me that as the new owners were taking over there were some on order. The hotel is undergoing a massive face lift and improvements are already very noticeable, to include the pool area. The grounds were kept spotless. When the finish the remodeling, The Ibis Bay Waterfront Resort will be one of the nicest places in Key West.

The pool was very nice. We spent an afternoon lounging around in the hammocks and drinking Key West Sunrises made by The Stoned Crab manager, Amy and they were delicious. Perfect place to fill out our postcards while relaxing around and in the pool. The only issue I had with the pool was from the owner, Tony who decided to throw a private pool party for "charity high schoolers" for 8 hours. Kids that live in Key West, i do not think need charity. We are talking about some of the most privileged kids in the U.S. We had to pay $10.00/day for use of the pool, internet service, and parking. And for one of the hottest days were there, because of his pool party we were unable to use the pool and he did not offer to refund the money. Very disappointing, which is why I gave it 4 marks instead of 5.

A MUST SEE is the morning sunrise on the of the resort. Every morning I would wake up and watch the sunrise and it made each day something special. (Added pictures)

Because we went in June, it was rather hot. Ibis Bay does NOT offer a shuttle into town and cabs for two people cost anywhere from $11.00-$14.00 one way into Old Town, Beaches, and/or Mallory Square/Seaport area. Will, the concierge was INCREDIBLE at helping with our daily excursions and bike rentals. Although, it is quite a bike hike into Old Town and with the weather being so humid it was exhausting at times. But other than that we had the time of our lives and can't wait to go back. Will definitely stay at the Ibis Bay Waterfront Resort again.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are facing the parking lot. Call and ask for a room facing East Bay side as the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielH34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for your compliments and suggestions. You'll be happy to know we have added new furniture to all the rooms including a large dresser. Hope we see you again really soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

If your going to key west you get what you pay for. This Motel, because that is what it is is fine. The rooms are simple but clean and bright. Ipod dock and large bed. Fridge and en suite. What more do you want. A little overpriced for anywhere else but not Key West. Nice little bar and restaurant always busy at night. Iguanas stroll around at their leisure. Nice little private beach area and hammocks to relax but you go to Key West for other things. Hotel reception arranged great deal on watersports cruise and threw in paragliding and Dinner cruise. what an experience. 10 bucks into main town. free wireless internet.

Room Tip: all rooms similar but your not going to spend much time in them
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank azabhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you for choosing Ibis Bay and writing your nice review. For most people Key West by day is all about getting out and doing things on the water. But if you just want to spend a day reading a good book our beach hammocks on the beach are perfect. You and our iguanas can enjoy the breeze off the bay together.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had a waterfront room - can't imagine anything else! Brightly colored, we pulled our little table outside and made a bistro outside our room where we had breakfast each morning (don't feed the Iguana [there are signs!]), beautiful view, FABULOUSE POOL, great restaurant, incredible staff (William - thanks for your tips on how to's). Many fun activities provided on site. And conch chowder to totally die for!!!!!!!!!!!!! Only thing is, you are a distance from the center of town - be prepared to get to and from the center of the Key West activities.

Room Tip: We had the waterfront room and it has a beautiful view, the interior rooms didn't seem to have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sulleysgirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Guest Relations Manager at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 June 2012
Thanks for the great review, we're glad you enjoyed your stay! It sounds like you experienced our FunDesk (where you met Will) and the new Stoned Crab restaurant (where you had the conch chowder). The resort is quickly becoming a top Key West destination, and we'll see you next time you're in Key West!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.9 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#34 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing