We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibis Bay Resort, Key West”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Awesome location! Close enough to duval street and beaches that a scooter is perfect. If your there to party, taxi's are very reasonable! We had a room to the left, all the way back, closest to the water. newly remodeled rooms, very clean. Beautiful view, beach sand and hammock. This seem to be the quietest area on property, very relaxing and peaceful. Nice little resturant and bar up at the front. Good food, good service. Nice big pool, clean. Front desk service was great! We will stay here again!

Room Tip: When we were there they had nowhere or nothing to hang clothes, we had to use the shower rod, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meagen918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

We look forward to seeing you here again. Next time you come you will enjoy lots of our new landscaping, fabulous new white Bahama sand on our beaches and those hammocks, hammocks, palm trees and more hammocks. Oh yes, and flame torches all around the front beach at night. See you there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,200)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

758 - 764 of 1,200 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

This place has been renovated with a rustic caribbean style. You can tell they have invested a lot of money to bring this place back.We loved it. Our room was right on the water with Ibis walking & flying all over right outside on the beach. We enjoyed the tortoise cage in the parking area and bird cage with parrots outside the restaurant. In the morning it is a short walk to the Stoned Crab Restaurant where you can get a good cup of coffee and enjoy a waterway view. We also tried out the bar in the evening and had a great time with some people we met there who were also visiting the area.

The office staff in the hotel and the wait staff in the restaurant were very professional and accommodating. The concierge was busy as a one armed paper hanger when we were there but very helpful. They have a wave runner touring service that encircles the island on a tour leaving right there from the waterway at the restaurant which we thought was awesome.
Some of the complaints we have read are by people who have nothing better to do than complain. When we were at Yellowstone Park we actually heard someone gripe about Old Faithful not being on time. These people need to get a life. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: Water view rooms with chairs out by the water are awesome place to kick back and enjoy a good read.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikeThrift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

You get this place. That means a lot to my wife and I. We are certainly not a cookie cutter hotel. We love that every room is artistically different. In fact we take pride in that. It was what we started out to achieve. Please introduce yourself next time you come to stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We went and had a great time. To us Ibis was a place to sleep and nothing more while we were in Key West. However we ended up eating there a lot of the time as their food was great. The drinks were appropriately priced and the service was great while we were there. If you are looking to be in your rooms a while then don't go here, but if you want to be in the sun, at the bar and eating good food this place is well priced and we had a great time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

I am glad you discovered our Stoned Crab restaurant. We have our own fishing boats. You can watch them unload their catch on our restaurant dock. A definite photo op. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Reserved a queen bed - got 2 double beds in room 101, door had a 2" gap which lizards used frequently, original stay of 4 nights was extended to 7 nights with this issue because grand kids showed up. Told front desk on 1st night - followed up 3 other times with no resolution. Room next door was under construction 4 out of 7 nights. Oddly enough they added a door threshold to the bottom of that door on day 3. On day 4 pool was closed for an employee party - we were ordered by a pool party guest to go to our room and wait for the owner if we did not like it. Kids told to use beach - no beach just waterfront. One morning breakfast was served - eggs benedict was served with salmon instead of ham of which my girl friends is allergic - still was charged for mistake. She had to go to the doctor. Booked a snorkel tour from resort for $170.00 and the guide stopped on a silt cover grass bed with no sealife. When questioned he replied he had to pay for the gas and he was not going to the 5 mile reef. He stopped three times and reminded us he did not get paid and we needed to tip at least $20 per person. Resort was listed and choosen for a non-smoking resort. We were told pool was not part of the resort so smoking was allowed. The same statement was made about the restaurant so smoking was allowed. Then we we told we could not have a drink or food of any kind at the pool because the pool was part of resort and restaurant even when the pool bar was closed. I feel some sort of refund would be approriate. Contacted resort and they refused to talk to me and when booking agent called them they indicated I never went to the front office to discuss any of the above.

Room Tip: Waterfront is nice view but unaccessible due to rocks and debris. It over looks a lagoon which is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lawrence E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

I apologize for the private party guest who was rude to you at the pool. I am also taking your review up with our jet-ski vendor. Thank you for bring these issues to my attention. They will all be rectified. I hope you come back to see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I read the many varied and wide-ranging reviews as well as Ibis Bay management's reasonable and competent responses. While perhaps not perfect, our weeklong stay at Ibis Bay was mostly positive and we would stay there again. Ibis Bay is wonderfully ideosyncratic (if you like that sort of thing). Amenities were adequate (even the loud ac unit was tolerable given it provided white noise to help drown out the highway and surrounding noises). The architecture (especially the coral masonry walls) is charming and just cool (again, if you appreciate an eclectic, unique experience). Price was very affordable and location just fine if you have transportation and don't mind a short car ride into old town. They do not provide pool towels but could probably make a modest profit if they sold big fluffy towels with the Ibis Bay logo. I'd pay $10 for one. One observation and a slight criticism: the snorkeling tour to the barrier reef that they promote was somewhat misleading. Granted, weather earlier in the week was stormy and many companies that offfered snorkeling tours were canceling or modifying snorkeling tours as a result. For this reason, we waited for the weather to clear before booking a snorkeling excursion. The tour promoted by Ibis Bay promised snorkeling in two different locations on the barrier reef. However, the ship's captain took us to one, less-than-impressive site only a few miles off shore. When I asked the captain why we hadn't been informed of the change at the time of booking, he said that they should have (since he told them visibility on the reef was low) but are only interested in sellling excursions. This same captain announced to the group on board that tipping paid his salary and that $10 per person was customary). Perhaps needless to say, we were quite disappointed with our snorkeling adventure - which we felt compelled to share with the booking agent upon our return. unfortunately, the booking agent was argumentative. However, to his credit, he agreed to grant us a full refund (for which we were very grateful). Thank you. In the future, will consider booking with another company that offers snorkeling excursions. Nevertheless, this experience will not dissuade us from staying at Ibis Bay in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Josano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Thanks for sharing your experience of IBIS BAY Waterfront Resort! We're sorry to hear your snorkeling adventure fizzled out, but we'd love to help you find the perfect fit next time you're in town. We hope to see you again, and we'll show you where the towels are by the pool, too! (They're there, we swear!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

this is by far the WORST "MOTEL" ( old sign still on building) trying to pass it off as resort! Totally isnt as shown in pics. No ammenties - don't ask for extra towels ( not allowed to give out) horrible service! pool is dirty, room disqusting and outdated. says its by the water, definitely has a small lagoon, but you can't swim there the water is BAD. our room faced the trash area to make it worse. the restaurant area was friendly, but not very helpful - we asked for suggestions on where to go while at the keys with little or no response. Not to mention, no hairdryer, no floor mats, no coffee pot, no dresser, no room service, no fitness center. we could not wait to check out and we were only there 12 hours. book any where but here! ps it sits right on the major intersection, so it's super noisy and the pictures on line are NOT what you get at ALL. totally disappointed.

Room Tip: just don't go here! all the other hotels looked nicer from the streets at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank E T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

We're sorry your stay at IBIS BAY Waterfront Resort didn't live up to your expectations. Our waterfront property is on the bay and features a 600-foot private beach, the largest of any resort in Key West. It is not generally a swimming destination as the beach is on the bay, not the open ocean. We wish you had gone to our FunDesk in the main lobby for suggestions on fun Key West attractions and experiences-our staff is well versed in everything Key West and provides many guests with access to everything from fishing trips to bar crawls to scuba diving lessons. Also, if you saw a fitness center advertised somewhere for our resort, please let us know where, because we have never advertised that we have one. Free coffee is also available for all residents at the restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This property lacks basic amenities such as in room coffee pot, carpeting, door mats, inadequate number of bath towels, thin, flimsy see through "draperies" at the sliding glass door, broken lock on sliding glass door, NO ELECTRONIC KEYCARD LOCKS, NO DEADBOLT OR CHAIN LOCK. A much nicer property is the Quality Inn a few blocks north of this hotel with a walk-in rate of 99.00 which includes free expanded continental breakfast and a lovely gorgeous room!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank Eppendorf34227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Most people love the vintage charm of a 1950s hotel like Ibis Bay. Others prefer to stay in a chain hotel. It's a matter of individual taste. Our restaurant serves unlimited coffee to every guest and is locally renowned for spectacular breakfast , lunch and dinner. Every retro room features flat-screen TVs, all new retro styled furniture, original Cuban art, 1950s artifacts and more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#27 of 51 in Key West
952 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Perry Hotel Key West
The Perry Hotel Key West
#7 of 51 in Key West
209 reviews
1.6 mi away
Best Western Key Ambassador Resort Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £126 - £242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing