We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Unique Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Kodiak, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a Unique Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

We've been in Key West several times and in the past we used to stay in B&Bs in old town in close distance from Duval St. But this year we decided to stay in a waterfront hotel and found Ibis Bay. What a unique place it is! We had an amazing time and the resort had everything what we're looking for. We loved the old school Cuban style architecture, french door overlooking the beach and the hammock right in front of it. But what makes this place amazing was their friendly staff, positive vibe and a superb choice of watersports located right on the resort. And as a seafood lovers we had to check their restaurant - the Stoned Crab restaurant was awesome and fresh stone crabs delicious!!!! Glass bottom kayaks were just soooo much fun and if we could we would spent all days just looking at the fish, crabs, jelly fish and many more right in the bay. They have a bird sanctuary mangrove island 3 min paddle from the launch dock! Amazing experience and very friendly, professional watersports crew. We both wanted to go try paddleboards but it was a little too windy. We will for sure next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylwia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Thank you for writing about Ibis Bay. One night last week when the wind dropped our watersports guys got to launch something you will ove, their new Nightboards. They are paddleboards with underwater LED lights so you can go out on the bay at night and see the marine life below. Beautiful to watch from the shore too. Each board creates a 30ft circle of light in the water. Try it next time you are here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,135 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    370
    348
    211
    96
    110
See reviews for
277
483
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Yes, read the reviews... the rooms are no frills, but quirky, clean, bright, great views. Whatever the rooms "lack," the rest of the place makes up for in spades! (And who the heck hangs out in the room all day in Key West?!?!) From the second we arrived we felt like family. The front desk and "fun" desk (Scarlett!) were so helpful. Amy and Natasha... words cannot express my love and thanks for making us at home from the get-go. Steve... you were one of the most delightful, patient servers I've ever met... as was Jared who got me no less than three servings of toast during breakfast. Tommy - as Southerngirlsrock pointed out - and who is also fabulous (love you girl!!!!) was a fantasic and attentive pool bartender. The pool is clean and beautiful and the restaurant is excellent (see my other review). Finally, to Chris the owner and all around awesome rock star - Thank You. You obviously have a gem of a place that you cherish and want to grow and share with others, and we really, truly appreciate it. We will most certainly be back.

Room Tip: I know they are renovating, so maybe ask for a newer room, and the beachfront rooms have amazing vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matildalee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
I will now be unbearable to live with now because I am officially a RockStar! Excuse me while I trash a couple of hotel rooms. Wait! I can't do that, it's my hotel! Seriously, I am glad you had such a good time at Ibis and in the restaurant. I will show your review (with Chris is a RockStar highlighted) to everyone. Come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Our group of friends meet in Key West every year for the Offshore Powerboat Races and to hang out together.That means forgetting about work/home and eat well,drink hard,tan by the pool/ocean,and have lots of laughs.
Ibis Bay provides a comfortable,quirky,thoroughly enjoyable experience at a reasonable rate.
It's not the Bahamas-like decor,the coconut palm tree peppered grounds,the excellent restaurant,the parrots,iguanas,manatees,or giant turtles.It's not all the fun and exciting amenities.
What makes it memorable,above all,is the Ownership and Staff.You will feel like you somehow just met the greatest and happiest group of people on earth.Whoever hired and keeps these employees engaging should be outsourced for every hotel/resort in the world.We never wanted to leave!
Kudos to Chris,Tom,Claudine,AGOTH,and many others who make Ibis Bay a place to remember.
See you next year!

Room Tip: Rooms numbered in the 100's are on the beach with own hammock facing the ocean. The 500's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mannatees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Thank you on behalf of everyone here. We really enjoyed you being here. You are great guests so it was a pleasure for us too. Now imagine all the Ibis Bay staff loudly shouting together, "Thank you and see you next year!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2012

Reception staff were very helpful with bike hire on site with an easy cycle into town. Rooms were ok however they had no safety deposit box which when you are travelling is a real pain. Had a nice steak in the restaurant pool ok but only ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormanCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
I am glad you enjoyed biking and the steak! Ibis Bay is the most afordable beachfront hotel in Key West. One of the ways we do that is to eliminate expenses that are rarely called for. Like personal safes. That enabled us to put more money into things everyone appreciates like UV light sanitizing for our linen. But I know this does legitimately inconvenience a few.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

November 11th – 15th

This Resort is just simply that, Amazing! From the moment we set foot on property, the staff made us feel like we were welcome with open arms and they were there to make our experience one to remember. We were greeted by Gina who was really nice and who also upgraded us to a loft suite! The room was really nice, very clean and close to everything on property also had wifi in the room upstairs and down. The wildlife that is located here turtles, parrots, iguanas, ibis birds and a manatee from time to time makes you feel like you are on kind of an island safari.

The staff that works the fun desk is just that, fun! They were a big help with booking our excursions and everyone there has a great attitude. The food at The Stoned Crab is crazy good! We ate there every day for breakfast and dinner and not one thing disappointed us. They also take 10% off the whole meal if you are staying on property and show them your room key. The pool bar being open every day is great along with the pool itself. We did meet Shannon, one of the best bartenders we have had on any trip down to Key West. We closed out the bar 2 nights chatting it up with her and we had so much fun. Shannon makes some great mixed drinks and always makes them with fresh ingredients (try the cucumber mojito). Thanks Shannon!

We are already planning our return to the Ibis Bay as well as working on having our wedding at the property. We are happy that we found this classic gem in our favorite place, and now we have found our favorite place to stay. Chris you are doing a great job!

Thanks again to the Ibis and the staff!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nautilus_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Its late and I thought i'll just check Tripadvisor before turning in and I got to read this wonderful review. If anyone was going to enjoy Ibis Bay the way I hoped they would it was you two. Every time I saw you both, you were surrounded by new friends and there was a fun buzz. Thanks from everyone. Come back. GET MARRIED HERE!! Please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

I just got back from staying at the Ibis Resort! What else can I say but thank you! From the staff, to my room to the location it was awesome! Tom, my pool bartender was always on top of making my drinks and did it with pride! The owners welcomed us like family. We met some fabulous people by the pool and ended our last night with them. The staff is very friendly offering tips and the best places to see and eat! I cannot wait to come back again, as was stated to me when we left, it's not a good bye but we will see you later! Ands that's for sure! Thanks a million times over!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southerngirlsrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 18 November 2012
Making friends + Making memories + Wanting to come back. They are the real goals of a good vacation. I am glad we played a role in making that happen for you. Than you for coming and SEE YOU SOON!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

We really liked the style in our beachfront room. Loved our little patio on the beach with hammocks nearby, the fun art and little painted details on the walls, lovely tile in the bathroom, large plush beach towels. So we were very surprised by the squeakiest mattress I have ever experienced-- truly comical! Luckily we're pretty "static" sleepers because any movement makes for quite a symphony of sound.

I'm giving 4 stars nevertheless because my overall experience was good--the restaurant has good food and there is a nice pool. Take note: wi-fi is only available in the public areas.

Room Tip: A room on the beach is worth it for the view. Beware the squeaky mattresses. Wi-fi only available in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coopdedoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHolland_Ibis, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
I am glad you had so much fun. We bought some mattresses that have started to squeak because it is often so humid here. I thought we got them all replaced but you found one. I will get it replaced. So thanks for letting me know. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,311 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.9 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#33 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing