We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place close to Duval Street”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #44 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 25 January 2014

My friends and I enjoyed our stay at Ibis Bay very much. We had a bay view room. It was clean and nicely decorated. We loved that it was conveniently close to Duval street. All 3 of us said we would stay there again!

Room Tip: Get a room with Bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

I hope you used our free non-stop shuttle to go downtown and back. It isn't far to go but it saves paying for a cab or driving after partying. Our beachfront rooms are literally on the beach.The view is great, you get your very own hammock in the palm trees and views to the horizon. If you are an early bird, the sunrises here are as beautiful as our sunsets. Thanks for staying with us. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

500 - 506 of 1,194 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Let's start with what we liked - the hotel was clean, reasonably close to Old Town with shuttle service to the tourist areas. The bed was comfortable. All the fixtures, sinks, etc. worked well and there were plenty of usable electrical outlets in the room (we have a lot of gadgets).

However...

This is really just an old motel and the attempts at making this more resort-like mainly involved brightly colored paint on the old walls and doors, some chairs by the small sand beach, and a "Fun Desk" where someone can help you book tours and meals you could well do on your own with a computer or smart phone..

There was an additional, mandatory $5 per-person "resort fee" to cover the shuttle, WiFi access and parking (yes, parking) in an open-air space outside the rooms. That was really more a money grab than real value. Why not be honest about it and just charge $10 more on the basic room?

The room was small, with a table and 2 chairs we could have easily done without. It was also loud in the rooms with numbers beginning with "5". These rooms face the restaurant, which received a delivery that started before 7 am. They also face the exotic bird cage, and those things squawk - loudly - all day long. The seals on the doors, windows and AC unit were virtually non-existent, adding to the "noise leakage" and drafts. The blinds did not reduce the light in the morning, making sleeping past an early hour even ore difficult.

In all, we feel we should have spent a bit more to get a nicer place or something closer to the downtown area. The savings were not worth the many down-sides.

Room Tip: If you must stay hear, avoid rooms starting with 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank dpaulhesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

You chose one of our bargain-priced Value Rooms. They are very inexpensive for Key West. They are geared for people who would rather put their money into Key West's activities than into a large room they don't plan on spending much time in. Ibis bay is a historic 1950s resort that celebrates Key West's glorious heyday of neon signs and convertible Cadillacs. We offer many room types ... larger rooms, beachfront rooms, duplexes with water views and multi-bedroom suites with their own private beach and BBQ area. I am sorry that you were unhappy with your room choice.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We went to Ibis Bay Resort in the keys looking for a great time only to be very disappointed in our stay.
Initially we were quoted one price but the little additions not mentioned in their advertisement took us back a bit. They required us to pay $5 a day person for parking, shuttle, and internet weather used or not. The internet was unreliable and the front desk person seemed to lack the knowledge and desire to provide any reasonable customer service. . On the third evening my wife and gentleman of the second couple both became ill after having the same food for dinner. We approached the manager in the morning to voice our concerns so nobody else would become ill. She apologized and offered a free dinner. Upon our return that evening she renegaded her offer of compensation for the apparent food poisoning suffered the night before. The air conditioners were loud making it difficult to sleep. There were no coffee makers in the room or front desk. We were advised that the only coffee available would be at breakfast. Our stay here was not pleasant and I would not recommend this "resort".

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

I understand from your husbands earlier review that you both have a fear of geckos. Unfortunately we have little geckos painted on some room walls as a humorous detail. There are also many indigenous iguanas of all sides at the resort. Clearly these things have offended you both. I am sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My experience at Ibis bay was bad. Although the people were really nice and the atmosphere is cool, I didn't get any sleep. The bed was old and lumpy, and the pillows were flat. I wouldn't pay more than $30 for this room on the main land! With the tiny room I had it was impossible to escape the outside light through the window no matter how I adjusted the blinds. I thought is was very overpriced for the quality!

Room Tip: Do not get an "economy" queen! Make sure to remove chairs outside of your room or drunks c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Our Value Rooms are small, but they are a bargain in Key West. I have had the mattress in your room changed. While all our mattresses are less than a year old, some of those mattresses did not hold up. Thank you for your comments. It's brought the problem to my attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Our first time in Key West Florida turned out to be a 10. We stayed at the Ibis Beach Resort which is 2.1 miles from Duval Street. Our accommodations at the Ibis were on the bay side on the beach, room 201. Clean, decorated very nicely and a short walk to all amenities. Only a couple of minor details that can be rectified easily. Wiifi that is advertised cannot be
activated in our room. Charging $5.00 per day for parking and trolley was tacky for a nice place as Ibis is. No coffee maker in room, now this is not our complaint as we enjoyed walking to restaurant in morning for our coffee, this complaint came from a another person staying at Ibis.

We would highly recommend Ibis Beach Resort in Key West.

Room Tip: Beach rooms are quieter and on the beach. We stayed in 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capecod080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for your thoughtful review. We discuss the coffee maker issue back and forth all the time. Maybe we should offer both. It is not a cost issue. Getting free coffee in our waterfront restaurant is a nice way to wake up, read our free newspapers and watch the birds and other wildlife. Plus, you can to take coffee back to the room for the "sleepyheads".

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Got a hotwire rate of $160 a night, but they were asking $269 when people were asking upon my arrival. I would have found it a good value at about $129, but some of the lower cost hotels in the area have been knocked down, so they can get away with the higher rates.
They have a live bird display that's nice, and a small private beach on the bight.
The "Stoned Crab" restaurant had some very friendly staff, and free coffee in the AM.
Jet-ski, kayak, and other watersports rentals are right on site, and they do have a nice pool as well. The rooms are tile floor, very basic with a wall air conditioner that worked just fine.
Overall, it's an old school 50's kind of tropical place, and I would stay there again.
They run a shuttle service to town, but it was not convenient, and it took an hour to get a taxi into town on Friday night, though the construction may have something to do with this.
The front desk service was variable, with some staff being very helpful, while others were very concerned with finishing their duties so that they could leave.

Room Tip: The rooms further from the office are better but more $$
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

I'm glad you enjoyed our historical 50s vibe. Ibis Bay was built in 1956 out of coral rock. We could have knocked it down, but instead we wanted to preserve the classic buildings and experience. Thanks for coming. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014 via mobile

I have been a single night between 5 and 6 January 2014 with my family (2 adults and 2 children). Hotel modest but cute. Equipped with just enough comfort, has the typical local architecture (wood and bright colors) that captures the attention ... but in practice leaves a bit to be desired. No bidet (as always), very small bathroom with dual controls to small washbasin. There is a fridge and air conditioning (a bit noisy). In the same area is a nice restaurant where you can have American breakfast. There is a Swimming pool with enough lounge chairs. At the reception you can book a ride in a jet Sky (by doing absolutely). Away from the center of island and from a place of sea bathing.
Overall rating: 6

Sono stato una sola notte tra il 5 e l'6 gennaio 2014 con la mia famiglia (2 adulti e 2 bambini). Alberghetto modesto ma carino. Dotato di comfort appena sufficienti, presenta la tipica architettura locale (legno e colori vivaci) che cattura l'attenzione ma...lascia nel concreto un pò a desiderare. Manca il bidet (come sempre), bagno molto piccolo e con doppi comandi al mini-lavabo. C'è frigo e aria condizionata (un pò rumorosa). Nella stessa area di trova un simpatico ristorante dove poter fare colazione all'americana. Piscina con sufficienti sedie sdraio. Presso la reception è possibile prenotare un giro in jet Sky (da fare assolutamente). Lontano dal centro e da un posto di mare balneabile.
Voto complessivo: 6

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Ugo-Seba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

While bidets are very common in Europe they are still rare in the U.S. thank you for your detailed review in both languages. Very thoughtful. I also agree that getting out on the water on jet-ski, motor boat or kayak is a must. You can rent them all here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#27 of 51 in Key West
935 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,376 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Key West Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £125 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing