We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beachfront resort, I don't think so ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Shelton, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beachfront resort, I don't think so ...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel, or as they call it, resort, is not beachfront, so it's very deceiving. It is on the water which always had a low tide smell and also on a very main road with lots of noise from constant traffic. We decided to book a suite and basically had an oversized corner hotel room. The décor was nice and yes it had a mini fridge, however no coffee pot, no alarm clock, no smoke alarms, (even complete dive hotels have those!) The mattress was like a rock and the towels were like sand paper. The bathroom was a good size but there was one towel rack falling off the wall and not even a place to put a bar of soap in the shower. Go next door to Kmart and buy a lousy $10.00 shower caddy!! Place a few hooks on the wall in the bathroom for towels, bathing suits, etc. No attention to detail and for the price there should be! As far as that colorful sarong goes, that's news to us - it was never offered. Be prepared to bring a flashlight when you go out and return after dark as there is no working outside light and when I called maintenance to check it out, I was told that there was some sort of wiring problem in the wall and to put a lamp from the room outside!!! Really???? And that "free" shuttle that takes you downtown is not really free when you have to pay for it in the resort fee. We did not have a car either, but again still had to pay the resort fee. The Stoned Crab restaurant was okay, nothing special. The people at the front desk were all basically friendly. We would not stay here again, you really don't get much for the price you pay.

Room Tip: Go someplace else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Clearly we are not your cup of tea. Just to clear your main headline point. Our bay beach is 600ft of imported white sand. Key West is a coral island so all the "natural" beaches here are coral rock which requires flip flops. We got permission from the city and DEP to import sand from Bermuda. That sand is contained by small coral rocks so the sand does not kill the natural marine enviroment at the shoreline. We have two floating docks out on the bay for swimmers, snorkelers and kayaking. Like everywhere else in the world, when a full moon and low tide combine it creates a very low tide. That is when you get a seaweed smell. I happens once a month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    348
    211
    96
    110
See reviews for
277
484
31
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

We chose Ibis Bay based largely on the price and were very pleasantly surprised to find it to be the perfect place for our long weekend away. The rooms, pool, beach area and restaurant were super clean, adorable and the staff were very friendly. The service was truly outstanding. Stop by to say Hi to Viviane at the pool bar - she's great. We paid extra for a "beachfront" room and it was worth every penny. The room has a little deck area for us to enjoy a cocktail, a sandy area with lounge chairs to sunbathe and a wonderful hammock to relax in the shade. As mentioned in other reviews, the beach isn't really a beach but that's true of anywhere on Key West because the entire coast is coral. Ibis Bay definitely isn't "downtown" but that is part of what makes it so perfect. Duval street is fun but it's also a zoo so it's nice to get away from that at times. We got bikes from the resort (we got the adventure package which included bikes for the whole stay) and rode to/from town very easily. There is a bike path from Ibis Bay's front door to Duval street and all of old town. If you don't like to bike, there is a free shuttle bus to bring you back/forth or you can take a cab ride for ~$20. You would have to take a LOT of cabs to make up the difference of price to stay downtown. We had a great dinner at The Stoned Crab as well. They have fresh seafood that gets delivered daily and healthy options which makes me very happy. Breakfast was lovely as well...get a cafe con leche, you won't be disappointed. Lastly, there is a grocery store, drug store, Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts, liquor store, etc right across from the resort and a mini-fridge in the room so you don't have to pay resort prices for every drink and every snack. I'd highly recommend staying at Ibis Bay rather than paying the outrageous places to stay downtown. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Get the beachfront room. It's definitely worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Connie,
I read your extensive review of our Adventure Package. Our packages save you money. But more importantly they save you the hassle and time it takes trying to figure out which activities are the best. You get here and everything is done for you. We know the island and what's "the good stuff".Thank you for staying with us and taking time to let other vacationers know what you thought of it all. I think you made a good decision on the beach front upgrade too. A hammock on the beach is hard to beat. Come on back to us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

The hotel is not a bad place to stay as the rooms are clean and the staff very friendly. The waterspouts offered here are very god as we took the 90 minute wave runner tour although not for beginner wave runners as it gets rough at the speeds needed to make the fur in 90 min. The food is not as great as they say at the Stoned crab. go elsewhere for lower prices and better food. It is also far from Key West center (Duvall, waterfront, etc.) and you need a shuttle but after 9:15 you will need a 20.00 taxi to get back. Shuttle should be at least til 12. Grounds are nice, Starbucks across the street at the Courtyard hotel. Way overpriced but then again all hotels are here this time of year.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel in able to walk to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastiano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
We actually have a very famous shuttle bus. Our guests and particularly those guests who review us on Tripadvisor rave about our "Life is Too Short" shuttle. Its a lot of fun and it operates all day and into the night. I am a bit confused when you say our hotel is "way overpriced" and then point out that all hotels in Key West are as well. I use reviews to look for things that I can do better. I wish I could lower the price of everything in Key West because I live here. But we are an island that is the southernmost point of America. That distance makes things a little more expensive. I wouldn't describe it as "way overpriced".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Very happy with our stay from the time we booked over the phone. When we arrived to this cute little beachy resort (it's not on the beach) we were met by friendly staff who accommodated us for an early check in. The price quoted and price charged upon check in we're different but was immediately remedied by the staff. Our rooms were clean and so adorable! The pool was right outside our door and was so clean as plenty of chairs. Vivian and Rick served us drinks poolside and the staff at the Stoned Crab were great. Good food and value. There is a small waterside beach area on premise but we knew ahead you couldn't swim in the water. But it was great to walk in the sand and relax in the hammocks or beach chairs. Edward took us on the "life's Too Short Bus" hotel shuttle to Duvall street everyday and it was great. We can't say enough about how friendly all the staff were! Overall great value for the stay. Just know it is not beach front but the shuttles are great and you can rent bikes or Vespas to ride on the island.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mags2u2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
What a lovely review. Whether you take our shuttle bus or rent a cute little motor scooter to get around the island, Ibis Bay is close to all the places you want to see. Plus we are on the Gulf of Mexico with a marina so you can kayack, paddle board, charter a fishing trip or just lie on the beach and soak up the atmosphere. We have more than 80 hammocks between the palm trees so there is always a great place to relax. I hope you get the chance to come back to Ibis Bay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odenton, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

My Husband and I need a quick get a way to warm up from this harsh winter so we slipped off to key west and found this awesome hideaway... We stayed at Ibis bay resort soooooo cute... very laid back and Caribbean..... They have a great restaurant The stoned Crab... great food and atmosphere.. We started our day with a yummy breakfast and then ended the day with cocktails.... Shannon the bar tender was absolutely the bomb made us feel right at home.... Highly recommend this place for that great get a way.... Mary & Gordy

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
We are all so glad you enjoyed your stay at Ibis Bay. It is a unique piece of Florida's history that puts you in the Key West state of mind the moment to step into the lobby. We love what we do because we get to meet guests like you. So, "Thank you!" from all of us. Come back when you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paris, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Me and my wife had stayed here for two nights. The hotel was very clean. The rooms were very clean and decorated very nice. We really like the Life's Too Short Bus that transported us to downtown. The drivers were very nice and helpfull to help you get where you were going. I wouln't think twice about booking another stay at this hotel and would recomend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Its great to hear from you. bis Bay is a time-warp back to Florida's Fabulous Fifties. We love that about it and clearly you two did as well. I will pass on your compliments to the shuttle drivers. Come on back when you can. Lexie the Macaw says, "hello!".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

The positives: Awesome shuttle service to the touristy areas that run back and forth all day- free. Very good restaurant next door, nice beach area, close to all the strip malls you can ever wish for. The negatives: Noisy busy street that was under construction, around 3 miles away from where you want to be, expensive for our very small room. Overall, it was just OK. We didn't prebook a room anywhere and so we ended up at Ibis hotel. The staff are very nice and helpful and the shuttle drivers are great!!!

Room Tip: Try and splurge for an ocean view room. All other rooms face the parking lot and street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank didiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Our shuttle bus guys are great. They make every downtown trip a lot of fun. I will show them your review. They will love it.
We do not have any hotel rooms facing the street. They do face our resort drive. Every ground room offers a private garden or a beach garden. They also all have their own private hammocks. Once you enter Ibis Bay Resort you are not aware of the outside roads at all. But driving in is awkward because of roadwork outside. It will be over soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#42 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,312 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 821 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.9 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#33 of 51 in Key West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing