We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What an excellent place!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

First off, I just want to say THANK YOU to the entire staff!! The hotel staff & The Stoned Crab staff really made this a memorable trip!!!
This hotel is simply amazing!!
Some friends & I chose Ibis Bay for my bachelor weekend.
We arrived by taxi early in the morning and were greeted with a "hello" from a friendly parrot that sits outside the lobby!
The staff at the front desk were great. Probably the most speedy check-in I've EVER had!
We got to our rooms, which were 2 adjoining second floor suites, put our bags down and went straight to The Stoned Crab for lunch!
I've never felt so welcome at a restaurant/bar before! The bartender was excellent! We ate here everyday! The food and drinks were the BEST on the island! (By far the best Conch Fritters I've ever had) The bartender bought us a round, even the owner bought us a round!
I'm so glad we picked this place to stay! I've been to Key West a hundred times and this place is HANDS DOWN the friendliest, most outgoing resort on the island!!!
I definitely will return!!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank JMIRISH333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

I saw you guys quite a few times. Every time you were having fun. That's what it is all about here. See you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,214)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 1,214 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

The rooms are tiny--barely room to turn around--and the beds are hard. I think our "mattress" might actually have been a box spring. (Yes, it was that hard.) However, there's a big pool, movies on an outdoor screen, music by the pool and a restaurant on site. No doubt it's better suited to the young than to retirees.

Room Tip: It's on a busy street. Ask to be in one of the buildings away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Glad you had a good time. It sounds like you booked our Value Rooms. They are small, but you get to spend the money you save having fun in Key West. We generally get compliments on our new comfy beds. I will track down your room and check the mattress. Thanks for letting me know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Fun place to stay! The atmosphere is cool and beachy...very Key West. It's on the water (river?) the view is really pretty, we saw horse shoe crabs, lots of iguanas, had a really nice walk around the property. They rent jet ski's on site, very convenient. The room was comfy and sufficient, king sized bed, nice sized bathroom, perfect for the 2 of us. It's not close to Duvall or Mallory square so you'll need to rent a scooter (recommended) or have a vehicle to get around. Overall we had a blast here and would definitely return!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissTrishFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

My wife is an avid fan of the iguanas you see. You probably noticed she has iguana toys in the gift shop, iguana key chains for the rooms. There are iguana paintings too. They are amazingly beautiful. Maybe less known is that they are prized by Cubans for their meat! Not exactly what we have planned! Thanks for coming. I am glad you had fun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

The resort has a great atmosphere. It's not shiny and new but it feels like you're in a beach town. The room was small and dated but it was fine. Definitely not worth the money if it were in Miami but ok for Key West. Check out the tortoises while you're there.

Best bit: The resort atmosphere
Worst bit: price of the room

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AWholeNewWorld10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Good point. Compared to other hotels in Key West we are actually one of the least expensive, And you are about who loves us and who doesn't. We are not shiny new Hilton box. Ibis Bay was built in 1956 from coral rock by a local. The walls are over a foot thick. I am proud to say our restoration of Ibis Bay was just given The 2014 Beautification Award from The Key West Chamber of Commerce. That was a nice surprise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I want to complement the staff & manager for being on top of things & concerned & considerate. I had booked thru Booking.com & had actually messed up the days that I was staying in the Keys. Booking called the manager at the Ibis Bay & they let me change the date of my stay. It could have cost me $300.00 to cancel. No added ex spence. I booked the room that had a beach & waterfront room. Not knowing that there truly are no beaches thru all of the Keys. Our room was on the bay with a tiny man made beach. The water is stagnant in the bay because of low tide. It always smells like raw sewage. We were in room 205 that was close to the Mangrove trees which held all of the ugly brown crap that was trapped in the bay. I was very upset knowing that I paid $300.00 for a water front room that you couldn't stand the smell. I went to the office & with no problem they moved us. The smell was a little less... But still there. Checking out the clerk ask me how the room was. I told her that the bed was broken down & that it killed my back. She wrote it down & said that she would tell the manager to change it out. The sound of police sirens woke me out of a dead sleep three times. Not the fault of the hotels. Just know that it is on the main drag & much construction going on. Also there is a pool bar so you are not allowed to take your own drinks or food to the pool. The rooms were very clean & unique... A throw back to the 50's. No clock radios or coffee makers.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SewSpecialKLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Unfortunately Key West is pricey overall. Our prices are actually lower than most Key West hotels. Plus there's nothing as "Key West" as Ibis Bay. The moment you step upto our lobby and meet our talking bird Lexie you forget your troubles. All bay tides change constantly with the moon. When you were here the tides must have been really low. Right now they are very high. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Loved it! Love the 'Dive In' movie night by the pool. Love the 'Life is too short Bus'. Don't know why the last person said it was a rip off. You could get free coffee every morning. Had a wonderful veiw from my patio.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Sheila F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thanks for choosing Ibis Bay and writing your review. We are the perfect place for virtually all of our guests. But some people have issues with Key West's cost and direct their frustration at us. It's not anything we have control of. I love it. But most importantly, so did you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Now don't get me wrong...we had a lovely time here and the 2 kids really enjoyed themselves. We had a lovely evening sitting out on the waterfront and lounging in the hammocks and the pool was really nice...BUT.... we were charged $300 for 1 night and this doesn't include breakfast.The staff were unhelpful and had no time for us and the restaurant staff at the Stoned Crab were rude, charged $4 for a coffee in a plastic cup and I'm not sure if they know what a latte is. For the price we paid we're really annoyed and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1568mcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

The most important thing to me is that you all came to Ibis Bay to have a great time and you did. I think it is very unfair to label us a "rip off". We do not have any control of the costs of doing business in Key West. I wish we did. Its pricey to live here. Reader should ompare our prices. We are one of the least expensive hotels on the island. BTW, Our Cuban style espresso coffee is a little different to a latte, it is called a "Colada". We know how to make a latte, we just don't sell them. There is a Starbucks across the road. An American latte there costs more than our Colada.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.9 mi away
24 North Hotel
24 North Hotel
#28 of 51 in Key West
592 reviews
2.2 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range: £121 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing