We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners Response to me review not accurate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Simsbury, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Owners Response to me review not accurate”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My initial review listed only a few of the issues with my stay...I didn't talk about the wall air conditioner that ran continually but never really cooled the room, just made everything even damper, and was very noisy, or the poor lighting, or the fact that the hotel is essentially right on the road so that you hear road noise all the time...
Chris, I WAS staying in a "beachfront" room...in fact, I booked 2 rooms, my daughter came down for the week with my husband and me and had her own room, also beachfront - she left a day early...
Sorry, a clean pool is not enough reason to recommend your hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms 110 and 111 were awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CT-Judi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Once again, I am sorry you were dissapointed. We are clearly not right for everyone. But most guests fall in love with Ibis Bay. You mentioned you had an a/c issue. Our maintenance staff fix a/c problems in two minutes. Its a simple system. As soon as they are told there is a problem, they check the settings first. If that's not it, they immediately slide out that unit and replace it with a new one. Key West is brutal on a/c systems. We always have back-ups.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    382
    360
    214
    98
    114
See reviews for
285
498
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norway, Maine
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has plenty of character, the short bus to town was priceless. The stone crab shot appetizer at the Stone Crab restaurant was a nice treat. All in all reasonable accommodations, for a reasonable rate, free shuttle, and friendly staff. We had a problem getting the AC to work in the room and Frankie from the front desk was at our door just moments after we called, and he fixed the problem. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NanitaNorway_Maine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Our shuttle bus a big hit with our guests and the whole town. It gets photographed a lot. Its so nice to hear you enjoyed it and your stay at Ibis Bay. Its a unique hotel that is pure Key West. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We only stayed one night at this hotel being that we were in Key West only for one night. The view form the side yard was nice to view the ocean. The room was nice but the bathroom was very small and outdated. I didn't like the tile flooring because sand would be tracked in no matter which door you came in. There was two entrances to your room with a hammock in one, very cute. There wasn't very many channels on the t.v. but you are there to enjoy the beach not watch tv. They were doing construction on the parking lot so made it hard to park and water everywhere. Staff was very friendly and helpful. You are a good ways from Duvall street if you are going only for this. There was a bus that would take you and pick you up but we arrived late so we had to drive downtown and pay to park while we walked around. They have alot of things around the hotel that you can enjoy such as jet skis, kayaks etc.

Room Tip: I would choose the ocean view next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks for coming. I am glad you enjoyed it. Key West hotels are generally more expensive than the "mainland". Our prices are on the low side compared to other Key West hotels. I wish it wasn't that way too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This place was very nice on the outside. However when we got in the room there were bugs in the beds and underneath the mattress. The management could not accommodate me and my family. The said they didn't have any rooms available and told us to find a new hotel. Well problem with that is we are on vacation. It's already 6pm so instead of spending the night celebrating we have to spend the night looking for a place to stay. And to add we live 6 hrs away. The lady behind the front desk was extremely rude. And had an attitude as if we had brought the bugs. The price they charge is not worth the room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Empress_Mel-Ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
This is not about bed bugs. We dont have any. At this time of year in the tropics, we can get random swarms of flying termites. They look like ants with wings (the guest's picture shows them). If a door or window is open they get into the room. Our Housekeeping is great (see our high cleanlinelss ratings) but clearly they did not get them all out. We apologized to the guest immediately and offered to have the room re-cleaned. We also offered them a refund. They agreed with the refund. We helped them look for another hotel. We apologized at the time and I apologise now. If we weren't 100% occupied we would have given them an free upgrade to a beachfront suite.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key West hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Ugh! I am still here, and anxious to leave...what seemed cute online is cramped and unpleasant in person...there is barely enough room for one person in the bathroom, and no air or window. The bay air at low tide smells awful...the WiFi has worked only inconsistently since we got here, one day our room wasn't cleaned at all. They are doing major road construction so the noise is terrible, and our room faces the road as much as the bay...one tiny rack and 4 hangars to hang our clothes, 3 drawers...there ate lots of places to stay that are better options!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
It seems we get lots of great reviews and then a string of not so great reviews. Obviously we are in the middle of a bad string. Honestly it seems most often to come from our Value Rooms. They are inexpensive (compared to Key West's other hotels) so people book them quickly without checking them on our website. Our website shows accurate, un-retouched room photos, plus architects plans with room dimensions. You can even "walk" in and out of every room type with our website's virtual tour. Its ibisbayreort.com. I recommend every reader take advantage of that and make up your own mind. They might be perfect for you. They definitely save you money. We intend to demolish and replace all the small rooms in 2015. Until we do, we continue to try to communicate the Value Rooms accurately. I am sorry you did not enjoy your choice. Come back and choose a beachfront room. Everyone loves them. Thank you for bringing up this issue though.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I wasn't totally put off, but I was annoyed that few people I dealt with knew enough English to carry a conversation and it left me lost. Housekeeping was inconsistent, they don't allow ice for cooler refills and what ice is available is in the restaurant next door. Found those to be nuances.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
Thank you staying at Ibis Bay. Key West Is so close to Cuba, there are mostly Cubans entering the workforce. If they stay in America, they pick up English quickly. We have made sure every Managers speak fluent English. About the ice. Our restaurant fills up any room ice bucket. That's a recent change because new health laws do not allow public access to open ice machines any longer. We have to lock them. You need to wear sanitized gloves and use a sterilized scoop. I have never heard of any hotel that fills up big coolers for free. We are installing a cash and credit operated ice machine for our guests with picnic coolers and the many boaters who dock at our marina. That will dispense 5lb bags.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

So far we have had a good time in key west. The hotel is ok. The waterfront is a little conceiving. I was under the expression that we could go swimming right outside of our room, but not the case, it has a lot of seaweed and very stinky, and rocky. Our room and bathroom was very small but quaint. There are hammocks outside of our room which is nice. The pool is nice and on one night a week they have a movie out around the pool which was very nice. We took advantage of the life is to short bus (a small school bus that holds 12 people) that has three stops in town. It runs from 8:00am until 9:30pm. Over all we had a very good time in key west! :-)

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 June 2014
My own grandson has just arrived. This will be his first "working" summer. He loves it here. Lots of things for kids to do.i will have him do the tortoise feelings and he is going to help the jet ski team too. I am glad you and your grandchildren enjoyed Ibis Bay. The water right now has seaweed exposed at low tide. It's seasonal and it's nature. It's the same all over the island. Thanks for choosing Ibis Bay and taking time to share your thoughts. Aren't grandkids fantastic. I really love my time with mine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#26 of 51 in Key West
873 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing