We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience with Ibis BayResort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 51 Hotels in Key West
Orlando, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience with Ibis BayResort”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

First time in Key West. Found the Room to be spacious and inviting. Enjoyed the decor, view and location to the downtown area. Had minor problem with the electrical (which we found to be common on the island). The hotel staff attended to the problem immediatly and followed up. Bus service available as well as QUALITY scooter rentals which differs from some of the other rental companies on the island. All services are reasonably priced and the staff goes above and beyond for their guest! Cant say enough good things about the resort staff and service which sets them apart from other resorts. Will definatly use again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has balcony view and less hotel guest traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Our band new Yamaha scooters and jet-skis are top quality. We replace them every year. A lot of local rental companies use Chinese "no brand" motor scooters that are poor quality. I am an older biker. I won't allow that. But no matter what quality the equipment is, the quality of the people serving you is the most important thing. I am glad you appreciated that. I will pass on your compliments. I am VERY happy to read this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    365
    217
    101
    117
See reviews for
291
509
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

First time in Key West and we stayed at the IBIS. It is a couple of minutes drive from the main centre but the free hotel bus service connects well - it may need an upgrade on how many passengers the bus can hold as it can get busy.

It was a bit noisy with road-works outside and the air-conditioner inside breaking the silence.

Food good, service lovely, cocktails well mixed and presented. Pool at the end of the day was relaxing with a soothing Caribbean feeling - take time to enjoy.

Would definitely use again.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing away from the main road, preferably a ground room with sea-view and hammock out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank killman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks for choosing to stay with us. You will be happy to hear that the outside road construction project is finally complete. Things have quietened down a lot and the construction dust that we had to fight daily is also gone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We were in Key West to dive and to sight see (diving was the priority). Dive Key West (shop) is very conveniently located about 100 yards from the Ibis which make morning dives much easier (although their boat leaves from the KW Harbour Marina on the opposite side of the island). The "Short Bus" uses the Ibis as a stop and every 30 minutes you can hop it for free to go to all the sights around Key West. The Short Bus is a great alternative to dealing with KW parking, traffic etc and is a wonderful feature offered by the Ibis. It greatly simplifies getting around KW. There are all the usual amenities, like a pool, onsite bar and restaurant etc. We really enjoyed the stay here.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SharkbaitSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
Thanks to our new affiliation with Divers Direct, we are now going to feature their scuba diving certification classes and diving charters at Ibis Bay. You will be able to board your Divers Direct dive boat at our dock. I am a diver too.This will make diving REALLY convenient for learners and experienced divers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My wife and I chose Ibis Bay Beach Resort from online reviews and photos, and could not have been more pleased with the choice. The room was a bit small, but when you're in Key West, it's only there for sleeping. Our room had it's own back porch with furniture as well as a hammock and a fantastic view of Ibis Bay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We spoke to the owner without knowing who he was and when he found out that we were newlyweds in conversation had a bottle of champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries sent to our room.

Overall had a fantastic experience at Ibis Bay, and highly recommend Danger Charters for snorkeling and kayaking. The front desk at Ibis can book it for you.

Room Tip: Get the rooms bay-side. They have their own little beaches and hammocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
I am glad you had a great honeymoon at Ibis Bay. Thank you for choosing us and for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asker, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed at room 205 and 206 near the water. To Wake up and see the Key West sunrise is just an amazing experience. You can open the door and walk straight out to the little private Beach With Chairs and tables.. We travelled With kids, so this back side of the hotel is Perfect. It is quiet and very relaxing- The hole resort is beautiful With palm trees, flowers and colours. The pool area was great to use at all times. The staff was allways very helpful, especially the guy who usually worked at evening/night time. Our boys also used the sport activites at the hotel.
Parking was good and it is near everything.
Thankyou for a fantastic vacation, we are coming back next year!

Room Tip: Rooms at the waterside are more quiet and has a very beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trudejd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
The early morning and late afternoon are my favorite times at Ibis Bay. I love the coolness of the air and the warm, low light. Your photos are great. Thanks for coming. See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Room was small but very clean. The place was quiet. Didn't go the beach...it had a bad odor. pool was awesome. Not a swimmer. Have a pool at home....longest I've stayed in the pool. The pictures on the site looked better. Overall had a great, relaxing time and will definitely come back again. Say hi to Stephanie at Stoned Crab. She was so sweet to my daughter Tiffany.

Room Tip: Don't book near beach. Bad odor from water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
thanks for your review. I will pass on your "thank you" to Stephanie. At low tide, and at this time of year, there can be seaweed that is stinky until the tide comes in. It's the same problem all over the island. Thank goodness, it just for a while. I grew up on a bay and I remember it from there. High tide is fine and there are great places to snorkel and go paddle boarding and kayaking from our beaches. See you when you come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

PLEASE, PLEASE DO NOT STAY HERE!!!! My family & I stayed here on 07/29/2014. we had a very bad experience there. It started out with when I came in to the lobby to check in. There were two women at the desk, one at concierge and one at the main desk. The one at the concierge just looked at me and did not even say hello or greet me. The one at the main desk was on the phone on an obviously personal phone call and ducked in to the corner with her back to me so she would not have to face me and greet me.

After waiting for 10 minutes with neither one of them acknowledging me, I went around the main desk and waived down the woman that was still on her personal phone call. She waived me off, signaling she will be with me when she is done.

At this time, a tall man came in, still did not ask if I had been helped. So I just asked him if he would please check me in. He reluctantly said yes. Took my name and said that I owed a resort fee. He collected the money rudely and gave me the key. After paying the resort fee, I expected immaculate & well taken care of grounds. This was not the case. I had a beach front room and when I walked into the sand patio area, there were cigarette butts everywhere I stepped. No one had cleaned that area anytime in the recent past. There was also an ashtray full of cigarette butts on our outside table. This should have been cleaned when the last people check out with or without a resort fee, but especially with charging one. I could not even sit outside and enjoy the view that I paid for because of the stench.

The next thing was, I though I would try the hammock. As soon as I laid down, it spelled like old body odor and it was disgusting! No one had ever washed that hammock since it was hung up. I got up immediately and could not enjoy that part of my stay either. Oh, and that beachfront room, is littered sand in front of a shallow, dirty lake that smells equally bad.

This is unacceptable. When I expressed my concerns to the owner Chris, he basically told me that there was nothing wrong with his hotel or his guest services and that If I write a bad review he will have it removed, otherwise he would be sitting duck to all kinds of bad reviews. Well,
maybe because they are TRUE!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Fariba M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChrisHollandKeyWest, Owner at Ibis Bay Beach Resort, responded to this review, 4 September 2014
This is a well-known scam in the hotel business. Threaten to write a bad review and get your room for free! Chain hotels go along with it because their corporate head office fines them $750 for bad reviews. We are family owned. We don't cooperate with scammers, so occasionally we get one of these reviews. Read what our honest guests have to say.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Key West hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Key West at The Keys Collection
0.7 mi away
Banana Bay Resort - Key West
0.9 mi away
The Gates Hotel | Key West
The Gates Hotel | Key West
#27 of 51 in Key West
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Inn at Key West
The Inn at Key West
#43 of 51 in Key West
2,371 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Key West - The Keys Collection
0.3 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Bay Beach Resort

Property: Ibis Bay Beach Resort
Address: 3101 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040-4118
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ibis Bay Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Bay is exactly what you dream of when you imagine Key West. It's a friendly, quirky resort with design and colors inspired by 1950s Havana. The landscaped white sand beach leads right up to the beachfront guest rooms, and guests can jump right into the beautiful bay for swimming, snorkeling and take jet skis, kayaks or paddle boards right from our dock! The staff are all Key West locals who love the island and want our guests to enjoy their stay. We have exclusive attractions like our poolside Dive-In Movies every Wednesday night on a 20ft screen by the pool, plus Nightboarding nightime LED-lit paddleboarding and kayaking! Wildlife abounds on our grounds including huge tortoises, lots of large colorful parrots, local iguanas (don't touch!) and our namesake, the very pretty ibis birds. In the mood for some fun? Ask our Fun Desk concierge about our jet ski, scooter and electric car rentals on site plus paddle board, kayaks and kiteboard rentals on the beach. They can also recommend off-site activities, restaurants, tours and local attractions. We have 80 hammocks for lazing about, and an amazing restaurant called The Stoned Crab that has two of its very own fishing boats delivering fresh crab, shrimp, lobster and fish every day! What are you waiting for? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Bay Waterfront Hotel Key West
Blue Lagoon Hotel
Ibis Bay Beach Resort Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing