We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weatherstation Wewaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Weatherstation Inn
Ranked #49 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2013

The Weatherstation Inn. My wife & I are still boasting about the Inn 4 months after our stay in Key West. First of all having Innkeepers James & Barbara right there for recommendations about restaurants & museums is clutch. Second, this B&B is in such a nice area, away from the traffic of Key West, but only a hop skip & jump to local taverns, the harbors, and Duval street. From the Inn we were able to walk to Harry Truman's Museum, Hemingway's House, and even walked the mile to the Harbor to take a Catamaran for a day of swimming and kayaking. That's a must do on my list. The rooms are unique and I would not hesitate to call James so you can choose a room that's best for you. We liked being upstairs where you've got access to the roof and glorious views. It's convenient putting your own bottle of wine in their fridge for chilling, and the coffee and juice are always there for you. The swimming pool is so easy to get into and we took appetizers and wine poolside. You'll like not having to deal with the corporate rules of a chain hotel. Cool. Casual. Clean. Quiet. Historical.That's the Weatherstation Inn. The way vacations are supposed to be. And ask James for an impression of the famous Cat Man. You won't even have to go to the Pier!

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing stairs the Upstairs rooms have great views. Nice deck on the upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CocoSwartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 228 reviews

Reviewed 16 December 2012 via mobile

Just 8 rooms but all beautifully appointed.
The Truman Museum is a close neighbor and you really feel as though he could be in the next room. Easy walking distance to the throbbing downtown but hidden in a gated community so very peaceful and serene both night and day. Barbara and James are wonderful hosts and really make you feel at home. We hope to return soon and bring friends with us.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Weatherstation for our anniversary on our first visit to Key West, at the recommendation of some friends of the family. After a bit of confusion trying to find the place (behind the private gates of the Truman Annex) we were pleasantly surprised by everything about the place. We picked the room described as the "tree house" which oddly enough was located behind the check-in desk on the first floor. With all of the lush greenery on the grounds around the place, it was pretty apt description. We asked for the king bed configuration, which takes up quite a bit of the room. There's no extra space to lounge around if you're not in bed, so if you need a sitting area or work space for whatever reason this would not be a good choice. If you're on a romantic getaway, it's quite the cozy spot. If you are jumpy about privacy, while it does have a tree-housy feel, it is surrounded by windows and situated right above the swimming pool, so you have to be strategic about how you configure the window blinds. It was quiet while we were there, but might not be if there were a gathering at the swimming pool. We rented a car to get there, but you won't need one as you will likely walk or rent bikes/scooters to get to the nearby dining, bars, and entertainment, or the beach/park behind the naval base. You can borrow chairs and towels for the beach which was nice. Note that sand for all Key West beaches has to be imported, so likely you'll find a rougher coral sand beach when you can find a sand beach at all. We recommend walking a half block to Kelly's for 1/2 price happy hour, as the margaritas were fantastic and the appetizers filled us up so we weren't hungry for dinner. The staff at the Weaterhstation was very friendly and offered great advice. Breakfast was a simple continental basket of fruit, muffins and such, which was nice to divide up for snacks to pack around during the day. They have free bottled water, which was veeery nice to also take along on our adventures. To sum it up, the location, the privacy/security and the staff was top notch. I'd stay there again happily on another visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

My husband and I just returned from 5 days in Key West. We stayed at the Weatherstation Inn located in the Truman Annex and were not disappointed! The Annex area is a very quiet, beautiful, gated community located away from noisy Duval Street. The staff (James and Barbara) were very welcoming and helpful with plenty of ideas for dining and attractions. We stayed in the Garden Room on the first floor which was very bright and roomy for us. We made use of the small refrigerator in the lobby for bottled water and enjoyed the breakfast basket each morning. The weather was beautiful and we hated to leave and return to cold temps here in the northeast. The inn is located near Mallory Square making it easy to get to Duval Street and other areas. We would highly recommend the Weatherstation Inn!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

What can I say. The Weatherstation Inn is a wonderful retreat to quiet comfort after a fun, busy day in crowded Key West. The Annex is absolutely beautiful, as is the Weatherstation itself. We were greeted by James, one of the most genuine, friendly, and outgoing people we had ever met. He showed us around the Inn, and our room (which was fantastic) gave us great directions to everything, and made himself available for any possible needs. They have a small refrigerator in the lobby that they keep stocked with bottles of cold water, with instructions to keep hydrated! and help yourself. In the morning, they leave a breakfast basket of local baked goods and fruit right outside your door, and they also provide a coffee bar, complete with with fresh orange juice. Our other Inn keeper, Barbara, is just as outgoing and friendly, and gave us some fantastic advice for restaurants, what to order, and what to see while there. We felt completely at home, and hated to leave when it came time. When we return to Key West, we now have a second home. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Following the directions given by the staff made the Inn easier to find I am sure. There is road construction as you enter the city that makes things a bit overwhelming. We did make one wrong turn but were soon on our way. The parking area is small with eight spaces for 8 rooms!
James checked us in and gave us a tour of the property. And then to our room. It was very neat,charming and clean with colors of blue and yellow.The bathroom was very large with a shower for two!
We were on the first floor. For us this was perfect. Upstairs guests had a long climb.
The bed was cozy and very comfy! The basket of goodies in the morning at 7 AM along with the coffee just outside our door was much appreciated
But the best feature is the location. It's near Mallory Sq and many restaurants, bars and the conch train.
But in a quiet peaceful area.


The best feature was the location

Room Tip: Banana Wind on the first floor is good for those who don't like too many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneWSunCityCenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

Hands down the best place I have stayed on vacation. Our room felt so comfortable I kept forgetting to lock our door because - to put it as simple as possible - the Weatherstation does not feel like a hotel. So quiet, so clean, and sooo comfy! We won't stay anywhere else in Key West ever again! ♡♡♡

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MermaidTears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.7 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,830 reviews
0.7 mi away
Knowles House B&B
Knowles House B&B
#27 of 77 in Key West
576 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marrero's Guest Mansion
Marrero's Guest Mansion
#17 of 77 in Key West
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#30 of 77 in Key West
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#23 of 77 in Key West
1,613 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelers Palm Inn
Travelers Palm Inn
#40 of 77 in Key West
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weatherstation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weatherstation Inn

Address: 57 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-8309
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £236 - £458 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Weatherstation Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Weatherstation Inn, the exclusive Bed and Breakfast located on the grounds of the old Navy Yard which is now the private upscale gated community of the Truman Annex. We offer eight distinctively different guest rooms, some with balconies, Bahama shutters, gleaming hardwood floors and furnishings that bring to mind the plantation homes of the British and Dutch West Indies while staying true to the integrity of traditional Key West style. Whether your ideal Key West getaway is action-packed or spent lounging enjoying the Key West sunshine and the peace and quiet that surrounds the Truman Annex, you can experience it all at the Weatherstation Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Weatherstation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Weatherstation Hotel Key West
The Weatherstation Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing