We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weatherstation Inn not that great...” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Weatherstation Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Weatherstation Inn
Ranked #49 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weatherstation Inn not that great...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2007

My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights at the Weatherstation Inn- and I can't say that we would be back. The one nice thing about it is the location- it is in the Truman Annex, a gated community, which is private and quiet, compared to the hustle and bustle of Duval St., only a few blocks away. However, we found the place to be very impersonal, and not attentive to our needs at all. The bed and pillows were horrible, and my husband and I were unable to sleep very well both nights. We heard the comings and goings of the guests all night long, as well as some other mechanical noises that kept us up. We would look for other accommodations next time we visit Key West!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — horrible bed and pillows
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Erielew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    33
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
166
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2006

When we first stayed at the Weatherstation Inn several years ago, it a darling B&B at the height of the shabby chic décor phase. Sadly, the Inn is now just shabby. The current operators of this Key West landmark have allowed this former grand dame to fall into chronic disrepair. Throughout our stay, we had to step around a bucket of water placed in the common hallway to catch the water from a roof leak (later, a portion of the ceiling fell, exposing the roof beams). Paint was peeling from the walls throughout our room. We considered a move, but because it was “parrothead” weekend, there were few options. Beside, we had climbed about 50 steps up to the room with our suitcases (there is no one at the Inn who can help you with your bags and no elevator).

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank Alexis30305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2006

Stayed @ Weatherstation Inn for 5 days last week in Sept . 2006. I don't mind paying a good price for a nice place & to be well attended to & I was not disappointed (I can be a tough customer - smile). I can't think of a description good enough to do justice to how fantastic, fantastic, fantastic this location is. I'll just say, you'll wish you lived there. Located 2 blocks from the main tourist drag & in private, upscale, gated, beautifully kept small neighborhood (Truman Annex). President Truman's summer white house is on the same block, as well a a few other historic buildings turned residences. The rest of the little neighborhood homes are all of similar lovely designs, in keeping with the era per se, & with white picket fencing & lush landscaping all around. Very quiet, clean & as I understand it the neighborhood assoc has extremely high standards. Guard at entrance monitoring incoming traffic 24 hours. Parking is great & right on site, as well as bike rack (great place for biking, do take if you visit). Beach access just a few steps from inn. The Inn is a lovely historic building, which has some damage to exterior from recent hurricane season, but interior clean & well kept. Only 8 guest rooms so it's quiet & relaxed atmosphere. Lovely pool & small garden area, very relaxing to read or sip wine. The roof of inn has been converted to a deck, from which you have probably one of the best PRIVATE view of the famous sunset over the gulf that there is on the island. From the deck you can hear the folks cheer from the crowded Mallory Square. Rooms have enough space to be comfortable, but are size you would expect for an inn. I checked out all of the rooms to see options for future visits & all are lovely. The showers are HUGE in each room, as well as overall bathrooms very roomy. Only caution is the stairs to the 2nd floor & roof deck are steep, if you're not in good shape stay on the main floor. Despite the stairs, it sure is worth the trip to the view on top. Staff is friendly & helpful, otherwise won't bother you like they do at some B&Bs - I'm in public service & don't care to have to small talk & socialize on vacation (ugh, that sounds bad, but it's true). We checked out several other places while biking around & without question will definately stay at this site on our next visit. Key West is a nice place to relax & get away, Jimmy Buffet has it right - I wish everyone could go there at least once - you don't know what you're missing til you see Key West!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Stairs
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canwetalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldersburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2006

What a lovely Bed & Breakfast set in the gated quiet community of the Truman Annex, just 2 blocks from Duvall Street. Very sunny and bright inside. Very peaceful and relaxing, but yet close to the excitement of Key West. Friendly people taking care of seeing to it that you have an exceptional stay.

Helpful?
2 Thank LuvSoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Ga.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2005

My first impression when I walked in the front door was not good. The place smelled old and very musty. Our room had large settling cracks on the walls. The location makes up for a lot of the physical features. It is in the gated area of the Truman Annex so it is safe and very quiet. The smell can most likely be explained by Hurricane Katrina coming through the week before our arrival. The basement had flooded and ruined items that are stored. The staff was very nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was good. Although there were other guests there at the time, it didn't seem like it. The place was very quiet.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly Suburbs
Level Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2005

We could not believe what a perfect little oasis place is, and yet only steps away from all the action in Key West.
The Weatherstation Inn is within the gated residential community of Truman Annex, so it is very quiet. However, it is only three blocks from either Duval Street or Mallory Square and the famous sunset celebration.
Our room was upstairs at the back of the house; the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was huge, and everything was spotless. The small pool was perfect for cooling off in the hot afternoons. We also enjoyed breakfast most mornings by the pool, especially the excellent coffee.
The staff was friendly and unobtrusive, and the resident cat was just adorable.
We will not even consider another place for our future visits to Key West!

Helpful?
4 Thank Traveler_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
258 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2005

The word charming has never been more appropriate. This Inn is a hidden gem nestled right downtown in Key West. The rooms are each unique and beautifully decorated. Ours had a great private deck as well as a great bathroom with the biggest shower I've ever seen.

Terrific for a romantic getaway.

Helpful?
4 Thank swelch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.9 mi away
The Southernmost House Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Cabana Inn Key West
The Cabana Inn Key West
#20 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Smallest Bar Inn
Smallest Bar Inn
#69 of 77 in Key West
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
0.2 mi away
L'Habitation
L'Habitation
#48 of 77 in Key West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Galleon Resort And Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weatherstation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weatherstation Inn

Property: The Weatherstation Inn
Address: 57 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-8309
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Weatherstation Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Weatherstation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Weatherstation Hotel Key West
The Weatherstation Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing