We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is what it has going for it......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Weatherstation Inn
Ranked #50 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2007

It's in a great location, you can walk to most anyplace in Oldtown that you want to go.

They don't mention the 2.5 flights of stairs you have to climb to get to you rooms on the second floor. Be prepared.

Decent view from the rooftop, after you climb another flight of stairs, from which it is easy to get a sense of vertigo from, when you descend them.

The pool is small, very favorable picture on the website. Grounds and exterior are nice and well maintained.

A/C doesn't work well in the larger rooms (Sepecifically the Grand Bahama?), so be careful if you go during the hotter months. They really made no attempt to correct this and I don't think they are.

They are still undergoing renovations.

I'm planning to go back to Key West, but will most likley stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AllenBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2007

My husband and I recently stayed for 2 nights at the Weatherstation Inn- and I can't say that we would be back. The one nice thing about it is the location- it is in the Truman Annex, a gated community, which is private and quiet, compared to the hustle and bustle of Duval St., only a few blocks away. However, we found the place to be very impersonal, and not attentive to our needs at all. The bed and pillows were horrible, and my husband and I were unable to sleep very well both nights. We heard the comings and goings of the guests all night long, as well as some other mechanical noises that kept us up. We would look for other accommodations next time we visit Key West!

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erielew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2006

When we first stayed at the Weatherstation Inn several years ago, it a darling B&B at the height of the shabby chic décor phase. Sadly, the Inn is now just shabby. The current operators of this Key West landmark have allowed this former grand dame to fall into chronic disrepair. Throughout our stay, we had to step around a bucket of water placed in the common hallway to catch the water from a roof leak (later, a portion of the ceiling fell, exposing the roof beams). Paint was peeling from the walls throughout our room. We considered a move, but because it was “parrothead” weekend, there were few options. Beside, we had climbed about 50 steps up to the room with our suitcases (there is no one at the Inn who can help you with your bags and no elevator).

Stayed: November 2006
5  Thank Alexis30305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2006

Stayed @ Weatherstation Inn for 5 days last week in Sept . 2006. I don't mind paying a good price for a nice place & to be well attended to & I was not disappointed (I can be a tough customer - smile). I can't think of a description good enough to do justice to how fantastic, fantastic, fantastic this location is. I'll just say, you'll wish you lived there. Located 2 blocks from the main tourist drag & in private, upscale, gated, beautifully kept small neighborhood (Truman Annex). President Truman's summer white house is on the same block, as well a a few other historic buildings turned residences. The rest of the little neighborhood homes are all of similar lovely designs, in keeping with the era per se, & with white picket fencing & lush landscaping all around. Very quiet, clean & as I understand it the neighborhood assoc has extremely high standards. Guard at entrance monitoring incoming traffic 24 hours. Parking is great & right on site, as well as bike rack (great place for biking, do take if you visit). Beach access just a few steps from inn. The Inn is a lovely historic building, which has some damage to exterior from recent hurricane season, but interior clean & well kept. Only 8 guest rooms so it's quiet & relaxed atmosphere. Lovely pool & small garden area, very relaxing to read or sip wine. The roof of inn has been converted to a deck, from which you have probably one of the best PRIVATE view of the famous sunset over the gulf that there is on the island. From the deck you can hear the folks cheer from the crowded Mallory Square. Rooms have enough space to be comfortable, but are size you would expect for an inn. I checked out all of the rooms to see options for future visits & all are lovely. The showers are HUGE in each room, as well as overall bathrooms very roomy. Only caution is the stairs to the 2nd floor & roof deck are steep, if you're not in good shape stay on the main floor. Despite the stairs, it sure is worth the trip to the view on top. Staff is friendly & helpful, otherwise won't bother you like they do at some B&Bs - I'm in public service & don't care to have to small talk & socialize on vacation (ugh, that sounds bad, but it's true). We checked out several other places while biking around & without question will definately stay at this site on our next visit. Key West is a nice place to relax & get away, Jimmy Buffet has it right - I wish everyone could go there at least once - you don't know what you're missing til you see Key West!

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank canwetalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2006

What a lovely Bed & Breakfast set in the gated quiet community of the Truman Annex, just 2 blocks from Duvall Street. Very sunny and bright inside. Very peaceful and relaxing, but yet close to the excitement of Key West. Friendly people taking care of seeing to it that you have an exceptional stay.

2  Thank LuvSoGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2005

My first impression when I walked in the front door was not good. The place smelled old and very musty. Our room had large settling cracks on the walls. The location makes up for a lot of the physical features. It is in the gated area of the Truman Annex so it is safe and very quiet. The smell can most likely be explained by Hurricane Katrina coming through the week before our arrival. The basement had flooded and ruined items that are stored. The staff was very nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was good. Although there were other guests there at the time, it didn't seem like it. The place was very quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2005

We could not believe what a perfect little oasis place is, and yet only steps away from all the action in Key West.
The Weatherstation Inn is within the gated residential community of Truman Annex, so it is very quiet. However, it is only three blocks from either Duval Street or Mallory Square and the famous sunset celebration.
Our room was upstairs at the back of the house; the bed was comfortable, the bathroom was huge, and everything was spotless. The small pool was perfect for cooling off in the hot afternoons. We also enjoyed breakfast most mornings by the pool, especially the excellent coffee.
The staff was friendly and unobtrusive, and the resident cat was just adorable.
We will not even consider another place for our future visits to Key West!

4  Thank Traveler_from_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.5 mi away
Seascape Tropical Inn
Seascape Tropical Inn
#59 of 77 in Key West
561 reviews
0.8 mi away
Heron House Court
Heron House Court
#32 of 77 in Key West
483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelers Palm Inn
Travelers Palm Inn
#40 of 77 in Key West
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Southernmost Inn
The Southernmost Inn
#26 of 77 in Key West
1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
Curry House Bed and Breakfast
0.9 mi away
The Grand Guesthouse
The Grand Guesthouse
#18 of 77 in Key West
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Weatherstation Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weatherstation Inn

Address: 57 Front St, Key West, FL 33040-8309
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £219 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Weatherstation Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Weatherstation Inn, the exclusive Bed and Breakfast located on the grounds of the old Navy Yard which is now the private upscale gated community of the Truman Annex. We offer eight distinctively different guest rooms, some with balconies, Bahama shutters, gleaming hardwood floors and furnishings that bring to mind the plantation homes of the British and Dutch West Indies while staying true to the integrity of traditional Key West style. Whether your ideal Key West getaway is action-packed or spent lounging enjoying the Key West sunshine and the peace and quiet that surrounds the Truman Annex, you can experience it all at the Weatherstation Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Weatherstation Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Weatherstation Hotel Key West
The Weatherstation Inn Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing