We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Ranked #10 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cape Coral, Florida
Level Contributor
298 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A bit expensive but heck you're only there for a little while.
Very quaint, great guest service and just part of the whole Key West experience.

Wonderful muffins every morning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peteo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear wonderful, Thanks for the nice review. We are definitely not the least expensive inn in KW, but we believe we are the best value. Included with your beautiful, clean room is, a full breakfast buffet, bottled water, Kuerig coffee maker with supplies, refrigerator, microwave, comfy robes, high quality bath products, afternoon tea and snacks, sunblock, pool floats(noodles), and free wifi. In the office we have a guest computer with printer and fax. There are no hidden fees here at Ambrosia. In other words we don't nickle and dime you. We even help our guests with free curbside parking. Ambrosia is a great KW experience, staying here will help you fall in love with the island. We often offer discounts for mid week stays, so give us a call anytime. Thanks again, Michael and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,225
    153
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
225
774
26
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

A colleague of mine who had stayed at Ambrosia in the past had recommended we stay there in Key West for our anniversary. The folks there were great when I contacted them, and even better when we arrived. The staff were friendly, helpful, and basically a pleasure to have around. The facility itself was absolutely wonderful! We came on the adventure package, which was well worth the cost (the trip to the Dry Tortugas was enough on it own to make it worthwhile). We will definitely stay here again when we return to Key West.

Room Tip: The main rooms are over by the pool, but the themed rooms are across the street with the hot tub. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs B, Thanks for the great review. Pass along our thanks to your colleague as well. We were thrilled to be a part of your Anniversary plans. Our staff truly enjoyed helping you with your package. We are so glad you enjoyed the facilities. Your " Adventure package" is just one of our many package deals. There is a good deal of money to be saved by booking a package with us. The Dry Tortugas and Fort Jefferson is my personal favorite KW trip. I have done it around 20 times! Please come back soon, so you can try another fantastic KW adventure. Remember to recommend us to your other colleagues and friends and family. Come back soon, Michael and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012

We recently got married at Ambrosia and we could not have ask for a better venue, staff was great and everything was perfect. definitely will be back.

Room Tip: Take the alligator room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Fantastic, Thanks for the brief but nice review. You summed it up well. We welcome weddings here. We love when our guests share that magical moment with us. I will pass your compliment on to the the staff. So happy to hear your wedding went perfectly. We get better with each wedding. Please come stay with us again. I hope your room is available. lol Michael and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Ambrosia is a wonderful bed and breakfast tucked away only a block from the center of downtown on Fleming Street. It's walking distance to the shoppes, bars, restaurants and the pier to watch the sunset. Ambrosia offers a hearty complimentary buffet breakfast at the gazebo by the pool. The staff is very accommodating, the rooms are clean and the grounds lush and tropical. For a reasonable fee they also allow pets. I assure you, you won't be dissaponted!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Paradise, Thank you for your gracious compliment. The definition of the word "Ambrosia" is paradise, so that is what we try to create here every day. Yes our guests do enjoy our great location. Good to hear we have made another fan of our breakfast buffet. We recently remodeled the Gazebo by adding roll down blinds and air conditioning. Our staff thanks you for your compliments. We pride ourselves on clean rooms, thanks. I will let Jim know how much you liked the lush tropical grounds. He is largely responsible for that and most of the maintenance. Yes we love pets, please let us know when you are bringing yours, so we are sure to put you in the right room. We agree, " you won't be disappointed". Thanks, hope to see you soon, Michael and staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, New York, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I was recently at Ambrosia for my friends wedding with 30 others. Thanks to the Setting, Staff and the great weather at Key West it was the best time I've hd in years. The staff did a great job of meeting the needs of the wedding and did so with great effort. The lodging was wonderful well above my expectations and the location couldn't have been better. Very clean, quiet and well managed. In the great words of Arnold " I Will Be BACK"

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Gary, Thanks for the terrific review. You hit on a lot of good points. Your friends wedding was blessed with perfect weather, and energy. I will admit that coming up with a last minute lunch for 30 was challenging, but worked out great. So good to hear you had a long overdue "good time". Seems you had it coming. Wow, "above expectations", that may become harder for us with reviews like this! lol Again thank you for the compliments. We hope to see you real soon. Bring some of your awesome group. We would love to host you again. Michael and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairview Heights, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Ambrosia met the needs of four generations of my family. We were there for a wedding and our party of six included my 89 year old mother and 2 year old grandson. The management was very helpful meeting handicap needs as well as activities and entertainment advice for a toddler. I loved the charm of the Havana suite and the convenience of the full breakfasts served pool side.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Everyone, Wow ages 2-89, what a treat! Thank you for the great review. It was and is our pleasure to "meet your needs". Our front desk staff is well versed in all KW activities. We want our guests to count on our advice and assistance. It is the only way we can be confident our guests will have a great time. Havana Cabana is one of my favorite rooms. We recently upgraded the television to a modern flat screen. This allowed us to eliminate the armoire, which really opened the room up. I love the very private porch, just outside, that overlooks Fleming Street. Breakfast here is very convenient, and quite pleasant "poolside" Thanks again, Michael and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2012

The room here was very nice, as well as the location was perfect. But, one of the reasons we stayed here is because everyone was saying how nice the hot breakfast was. My husband eats mostly low carbs, but he did not like the eggs and bacon. I have to agree, they were poor quality. Eggs were mushy, like they were poured from a carton. Fresh cracked eggs make all the difference.
The breads were excellent, but that is about all. Even the orange juice was from concentrate.

Also disappointing was that the hot tub was not working during our visit. There was someone working on it as we were leaving, though, and it looked lovely.

I would probably not return, because I doubt the breakfast will improve.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Expected, thanks for the review. We are sorry we did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is important to us. Yes we work hard to keep our rooms looking great. Our perfect location is an important feature. I spoke to our chef about your egg comment. We have avoided adding milk to make our eggs fluffier. Some guests cannot have milk product. We do assure you our eggs are not from a carton and receive many compliments. We do have an incredible variety, for a complimentary breakfast, even "low carb", such as, boiled eggs, fresh fruit, meats and cheeses, juices and coffee. Yes our breads are excellent, they are from a local artisan baker and delivered daily. Our orange juice is from concentrate, but a guest commented recently that there is more real orange in 1 cup of our oj, than a gallon of the oj served at most motels/hotels. Hot tub: We have a lap pool, a splash pool, and a hot tub pool. The heater for the hot tub died. We had another ordered with 24 hours and replaced within 72 hours. We thought the timing couldn't have been better, because it has been 90-100 degrees lately. Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,696 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Property: Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Address: 622 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Pet Friendly B&B in the heart of Old Town Key West. The perfect getaway - one block from Duval, 2 blocks from the Historic Seaport - this Bed & Breakfast has 3 pools surrounded by lush gardens and is the ideal place for a relaxing retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Hotel Key West
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing