We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful time here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Ranked #9 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful time here!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We had won a bid for a stay here for three nights so we booked our dates and since the room we had requested was not available they upgraded us to the honeymoon suite which was a great room and had a two person Jacuzzi which was the most relaxing place to be after a day of walking around and shopping and the bed gave us a nice sleep. They also serve a full breakfast in the morning which was one of the best I have had and the staff of the hotel is the friendliest and will help you arrange tours, dinner places, etc. I can't wait to go back and stay there again. They offer many types of rooms for couples and families. Also you are only a little over a block off of Duval so you are very close to everything so no driving needed.

Room Tip: we were upstairs so if you have a problem walking request a room on first floor. Very quiet and nic...
See more room tips
Green Features: very good.they had recycle cans in our rooms and also provided us a pure water to drink and fill our water bottles with.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitty14221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay! As our guest you stayed in our Honeymoon Suite located at our Historic Ambrosia House. This suite is the perfect romantic getaway. I am sure you enjoyed a glass of wine or two relaxing in the in room Jacuzzi. So happy to hear you loved our full breakfast featuring eggs, bacon, fresh fruit, biscuits, yogurt, just to name a few. Tina and the rest of the gang are flattered that you enjoyed their recommendations and look forward to greeting you on your return trip. Thank you for being our guest! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,236
    154
    33
    8
    8
See reviews for
228
783
27
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Port Richey, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Our time at The Ambrosia was so great, I almost have no words....almost :) The staff was friendly, they were so very helpful with maps and places to go to see and do things and good places to eat. We were given the guided tour of the grounds and all I can say is WOW!!! The pictures on the website do the property no justice, beautiful, amazing, and tranquil!!! The staff has thought about every last little thing you could ever need in our rooms, I felt as if I was a lottery winner. Rooms were just the right size, clean as clean could be, we were 1 1/2 blocks from Duval Street where it all happens and we could not hear the noise from the partying !!! The breakfast was out of this world, fruit, biscuits and gravy, eggs....too much to mention!!!

The ONLY bad thing I can say about our stay was we had to leave :( We will most definitely stay there the next time we are in Key West. Thank-you to the staff for making our time there so amazing!!!!! See you soon.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lunaray171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
What a hoot to hear Ambrosia almost left you speechless. I am sure you enjoyed relaxing poolside in our lush tropical courtyard. It truly is tranquil. Thanks for mentioning our staff. Lexi and the gang have several years of experience in the hospitality industry and they really love what they do! Our breakfast is the best on the island, though you did forget to mention bacon, cereals, hard boiled eggs, waffles, artisan breads, bagels, yogurt, juices and coffee. We are so happy you had an amazing time and we look forward to your return trip to paradise! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

-Super friendly staff.
-Ideal location (proximity to Duval was perfect - not too close, but just close enough)
-Accommodations were spot-on (clean, comfy)
-Great for groups
-Tree Top Too was PERFECT! Huge covered porch was great gathering spot during the rain
-More homey feel versus hotel
-Loved our experience - would definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
What a great review! You hit all of the key points! As our guest you stayed in one of our most popular suites, Treetop Two. I am sure you enjoyed the breathtaking views from the large veranda that overlooks our tropical courtyard. We are in an ideal location, close to all of the attractions, but far enough away that you can enjoy a peaceful evening without all of the hustle and bustle. Ambrosia boasts an intimate setting which is perfect for all types of groups! Throughout the year we host reunions, family gatherings, and weddings. Thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to your return trip. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

It was a short walk to Duvall Street, but far enough for relaxing quiet around the beautiful landscaped pool. Our room was spacious and clean. Every morning they had a good breakfast & coffee at the pool. All of the staff was friendly & helpful. I will stay at Ambrosia again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thanks for sharing your experience! Yes, we are just a block and half away from Duval Street, but it seems like worlds away sometimes because we are nestled in a quiet neighborhood surrounded by lush tropical foliage. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hot breakfast buffet featuring eggs, bacon, sausage and gravy, biscuits, waffles, fresh fruit, bagels, breads, yogurt…just to name a few. Tina and Lexi want you to hurry back soon. Thank you for being our guest! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarasota, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We were in Key West for two nights and stayed in the Alligator Room at Ambrosia. It was a little slice of heaven. Perfectly located, close to everything, but far enough from the crowds to feel like a private oasis. The staff was so welcoming, friendly, and very helpful. The room was large and comfortable; the bed was superb. Having a fridge and microwave was great - because we hosted friends for drinks on "our own" porch. The breakfast buffet poolside was fantastic, hot eggs, bacon, and biscuits for my husband, local artisan bakery bread and fresh fruit for me (and lots of other choices too!).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed our little slice of heaven here at Ambrosia. Did you know the Alligator Suite is our most wanted suite? The large outdoor veranda boasts great views of our courtyard. It’s convenient as well, just steps to the lap pool, and close to the gazebo where our hot breakfast buffet is served daily. The Alligator Suite’s veranda is the perfect setting to catch up with old friends or family. Thank you for choosing Ambrosia and we look forward to greeting you on your return trip to Paradise. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Very accommmodating staff. Told us where to go, what to see,best happy hours for food and drink with a view. Suite was great. Right off Duval Street but not noisy. Lots of room with quaint outside seating.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our property. Sounds like our concierge service was right on target! They know all of the hot spots in Old Town to make your Key West experience a memorable one. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your accommodations. The Jungle Room is one of our most popular suites, I am sure you enjoyed being just a few steps away from our jacuzzi, it’s the perfect way to wind down after a day of exploring. Again, thank you for sharing your experience and we look forward to greeting you on your return trip to paradise. Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Greeted, by a very friendly and professional staff, with a cocktail and helped with our on street parking (they held a place for our car right in front of the house). Off to a great start, we were given an overview of the quaint property: lush landscaping, clean pool, and a gazebo that serves a fantastic breakfast every morning and iced tea and a snack during the day. There were three of us staying in the two story townhouse with a great front porch and balcony above and plenty of room to spread out. The decor is eclectic and homey. The full kitchen had all necessary utensils and equipment and there was a fantastic grocery store just a block away. The upstairs contained the master bedroom and full bath and I was on the pull out couch downstairs which was very comfortable as far as sofa beds are concerned. It was cleaned and were given fresh towels daily. The AC was so quite we actually had to ask if it was on...perfect! It's location, just a block and a half from Duval, is ideal and quite. The only downside to this wonderful place is the spiral staircase that is quite steep and narrow and the only bathroom is upstairs which is a little inconvenient when having to use it in the middle of the night but in an old Victorian it's understandable. All in all, this is one of the better places for the money in Key West that has charm and attention to detail and great customer service.

Room Tip: Great for a family that could put the kids downstairs. The elderly or anyone with knee problems migh...
See more room tips
Green Features: There are recycling bins in the kitchen that are emptied daily and there are bins out by the pool.
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenrbac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbrosiaKeyWestMGR, Manager at Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Jenny, thanks for sharing your experience! First impressions are important! Glad to hear Tina and Marilyn were able to assist you with a free parking spot and a frosty beverage at check-in. After a day of traveling, a cocktail is a perfect way to kick off your vacation in paradise!! As our guest, you stayed in Flemings Veranda, my favorite townhome! Beautifully appointed and equipped with all the comforts of home. This townhome has a great location overlooking quiet Fleming Street. I am sure you enjoyed some laughs on the balcony with Tracy and Tim. Thanks for giving our breakfast buffet two-thumbs up! Our breakfast has something for everyone: scrambled eggs, bacon, granola, sausage, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, juices, coffee, cereals, sausage and gravy, biscuits, artisan breads, bagels. Tina and Marilyn want you to hurry back soon! Thank you for being our guest! Best Regards, Tim and the Ambrosia Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.0 mi away
Marquesa Hotel
Marquesa Hotel
#6 of 51 in Key West
1,023 reviews
1.8 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.4 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,133 reviews
0.7 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Property: Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Address: 622 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Pet Friendly B&B in the heart of Old Town Key West. The perfect getaway - one block from Duval, 2 blocks from the Historic Seaport - this Bed & Breakfast has 3 pools surrounded by lush gardens and is the ideal place for a relaxing retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Hotel Key West
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing