We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambrosia House the best in Key West!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Ranked #10 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 December 2006

We just stayed at the Ambrosia House in Key West Florida for a week. Words that describe the property OUTSTANDING, BEAUTIFUL, FRIENDLY & ACCOMADATING!

First off we were traveling with my 24-year-old son that has Muscular Dystrophy. They went out of their way to help make his stay comfortable. The rooms are spotless, the gardens not the largest in Key West but well kept and beautiful. The morning breakfast very well done!

Located in the center of town close enough to shopping, sight seeing and nightlife. Yet just fare enough to be quite, peaceful and comfortable.

I’ve been to Key West a number of times and have stayed at a number of places and would go back to the Ambrosia without question!

1  Thank MarkandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,255 - 1,261 of 1,488 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2006

My husband and I recently stayed at Ambrosia in the Havana Cabana room for five nights. We really like to stay at nicer hotels and independent hotels when we have the opportunity. We were a little concerned about the room we had booked because there weren't many pictures of it on the web. Nonetheless, while the room wasn't the most posh that we have ever stayed in, it was really great. The king size bed, while really too big for the room, was beautiful and not something that you can get in a Marriott. The room, while a little small for our standards (and luggage), was still great and the bathroom was quite spacious. What really sets this place apart is the location and service. Ben is really great (read the other reviews and you will realize what a great commodity he is) and the breakfast is a nice touch. They recently added a hot breakfast (eggs, bacon, biscuits) which we enjoyed, especially given we were there during a bit of a 'cold snap' . That being said, we still spent some time in the pool which was heated and perfect.

As for dining, I highly recommend Cafe Marquesa, which is less than a block away. Great food, service and fantastic desserts.

I would not hesitate to stay at Ambrosia again, and I recommend it highly. The service is really what makes this place unique and worth the visit.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyrushing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

The Ambrosia Hotel in Key West is a Gem. We stayed for 3 nights in the Jungle Room and cannot fault anything. The entire hotel is equipped to a very high standard and spotless. Breakfast is excellent, loads of choice and served outside by the pool. Attention to the little things is obvious - they will even post postcards (and pay the postage for you!).

You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Its only a 5 minute walk to Duvall street and about the same to the marine. The hotel is in a very safe area and you can roam around at ease.

We went on a dolphin watching trip with the company that runs the catamarran sunset trip and this was also excellent, the staff went that extra yard to make sure that you saw as many dolphins as you could. - Well worth the $45 cost.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Chris_Halford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2006

This was our second stay at Ambrosia Key West. The first time was 5 years ago across the street in the Jungle Room at Ambrosia House. This trip we stayed in Bob's Place, a two story townhouse right next to the dip pool at Ambrosia Too with our own hammock on the second floor deck. I would heartily recommend both. Ambrosia is situated only 2 short blocks off Duval Street and a short walk to Mallory Square where most of the night time action is, but in a quiet, secluded area. The poolside breakfast features hot scrambled eggs, bacon and biscuits. There are fresh juices, cold cereal, bagels, sliced fresh fruit, yogurt, and coffee cake. Everything was delicious!
The 40' lap pool and smaller dip pool are both heated. We could walk outside our room and in just a few steps be in the dip pool.
The staff couldn't have been more friendly and accommodating. Complimentary bottles of water were placed in our refrigerator daily. There is also an iced bowl of complimentary water bottles poolside. Our townhouse was spotless. The bath towels were luxuriously thick and soft.
We consider Ambrosia Key West our own little bit of Eden. We will definitely be back.

Stayed: November 2006
Thank travelbug51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2006

My wife and I stayed at Ambrosia for 4 nights in mid-Nov. and have nothing but positives for this quaint inn. We were one of the first to experience the expanded menu for breakfast and we were very impressed (they added scrambled eggs and bacon to their sumptious array of carbohydrate heavy rolls, fruit, and other baked goodies).

Ben at the front desk was a big help on lining up excursions and making dining suggestions. The room (pool room at Ambrosia Too) was spacious and immaculate with a very comfortable bed and pillows. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained and really let you know that you are in the tropics. The location, a block and a half off of Duval was perfect. We did not move our rental car once during our stay.

Quick hits on activities/restaurants:

Snorkel excursion to Rock Key with Sebago lasted 3 hrs+ and icluded equipment and beer/wine on way back. This was a tremendous experience for only $38. Ben lined it up. A+

Lunch at Louie's backyard-pricey but quality and superlative view. B+

Dinner at Hot Tin Roof (Ocean Key Resort) recommended by Ben. Fabulous view and food. (I had grouper, wife snapper) Grade-A

Lunch at Blue Heaven-in all the guide books and it is well worth the trip. Reasonable prices and cool vibe. Grade A

Sloppy Joes and Hogsbreath-buy your t-shirts and leave-Grade C

Dinner at Fogarty's- outdoors right on Duval near Mallory Square- great location to people watch and solid food/price-Grade B+

Dinner at Antonio's on Duval- excellent Italian food-Grade A-

Salsa Loco- Mexican restaurant on Duval-Okay but I wish I would have tried something else-C+

Conch Train Tour-Seems hokey but you learn and see a lot-Grade- A

Hemingway House-Grade B+

Truman House- Grade A

Mel Fisher Maritime Museum A+

Pirate Soul-Grade D (go back to Mel Fisher again instead)

Fort Zachary Beach-Nice place to go swimming and lovely view just remember that you didn't come here for the beach-Grade B-

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank yannarelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2006

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. I still dream about how comfortable the bed was! It was like sleeping in a cloud...... PERFECT!!!!! The best hotel experience that I've ever had.

  • Stayed: May 2003, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gagadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2006

Ambrosia is my favorite place to stay in Key West! I've been to Key West more than a dozen times, and stayed at four "guest houses." All have been excellent, but Ambrosia is the best of the best. (Guest houses in KW are conceptually between hotels and B&Bs. They typically include one or more renovated original houses, sometimes including new construction with similar architecture. They have a front-desk staff during business hours, and include complimentary continental breakfast, but no restaurant or bar - as if you couldn't find those in Key West. The best have pool(s) and landscaped common areas. They are the BEST places to stay in KW. Much more fun and personal than the chain hotels.)

Ambrosia has THREE pools, beautifully landscaped and maintained grounds, and immaculately-restored architecture. Their location is ideal - just off Duval Street, avoiding the noise, but close enough to walk to anything you want to see or do. The immediate neighborhood is quiet and beautiful, but with fine dining and nightlife within a few blocks in any direction. Their breakfast is sumptious.

The rooms are spotless, well-appointed and nicely decorated. Most are suites, many with theme decorations (such as the famed "Jungle Room.") Check out the photos on their website - everything is even better than it looks!

But the best thing about Ambrosia is the staff. The other Guest Houses in KW are really nice and I'd stay there again, but only if Ambrosia was booked. The staff is truly special! Everyone, including the front desk staff, housekeepers, gardener, maintenance personnel - are helpful and efficient, but also friendly, personal, and casual. They will make you feel at home and part of this wonderful town!

When I win the lottery, I'm going to rent a permanent suite at Ambrosia. Please stay there - you won't be disappointed! And tell Tina and Ben we said "hi." We miss them already!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pickapeppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.3 mi away
Eden House
Eden House
#9 of 51 in Key West
1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,218 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chelsea House Hotel in Key West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Key West Marriott Beachside Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Southernmost House
The Southernmost House
#7 of 51 in Key West
762 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging

Address: 622 Fleming St, Key West, FL 33040-6826
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range: £175 - £478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, Pet Friendly B&B in the heart of Old Town Key West. The perfect getaway - one block from Duval, 2 blocks from the Historic Seaport - this Bed & Breakfast has 3 pools surrounded by lush gardens and is the ideal place for a relaxing retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Hotel Key West
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing