We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Key West Jewel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #5 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mill Creek, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Key West Jewel”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We couldn't have asked for more gracious, hospitable hosts. In just a few hours, we shook off the cares of the outside world as we immersed ourselves in the beauty of the lovely gardens. This was our first trip to Key West, and our hosts provided great suggestions for restaurants, activities, etc. We'd recommend to anyone who prefers "personal" touches to large-scale resorts.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    46
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
710
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We just returned from a 3 day stay at this extraordinary inn. The whole atmosphere is conducive to relaxation. The public areas are decorated very tastefully yet exotically and invite lingering. The lush tropical gardens contain burbling water fountains, comfortable seating areas, hammocks, caged Lovebirds, and a lovely small swimming pool. Our bedroom was spacious, beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean, and comfortable in every way. It opened onto a private wrap-around porch perfect for lounging. The breakfast is abundant and delicious. The staff is very accessible and helpful without being pushy. This excellent B&B will linger in our minds for a very long time.

Room Tip: Saw no other rooms. The whole property seems quiet and I'm sure all are equally clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katieherself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Had an emergency(according to the owner this isnt a real emergency) come up 4 days before my arrival and when I called to try to change my reservation they could care less and would not even let me explain before they were like no! "we have a 14 day cancellation policy" AND when I called back to try to explain I was chastised and lectured about taking responsibility as an adult in keeping with my reservation. I am literally at my desk floored and shaken... I have never been treated so rudely and spoken to in such a condescending manner.... it is borderline cruel. Not even checked in let and already clear it not going to be a good.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank SunflowerFara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MermaidAlligator, Owner at The Mermaid & The Alligator, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
*An important unstated fact is that this stay was won as a raffle prize consisting of a free 2 night stay at our inn with a value of over $500*.
As proprietors of a 9-room Bed & Breakfast, we can attest to the fact that last minute cancellations greatly affect small establishments such as ours. Therefore, we are not alone in having a cancellation policy that is fully disclosed on our website and in the e-mail confirmation we send all our guests upon booking. As policies go, ours is standard for most bed & breakfasts, inns and hotels worldwide—reservations are non-cancellable and non-changeable within 14 days of arrival, unless re-booked; many have strict 21-day or 30-day period.
Over the years, guests have had to cancel for a variety of reasons--medical emergencies, military leaves, even job losses. We are always compassionate towards their situations and will always try to work with them. 3 days prior to arrival of a long standing reservation the reason given for this cancellation; a change in date of a photo shoot, to us not an emergency and not a situation that warranted making an exception. However, regardless of the reason we will still always make the room available on line and always attempt to rebook the cancelled nights. In most cases, we succeed in doing so, and the guests are appreciative. Since this was a free stay there would not be a refund but if we were successful in re-booking the room she could then again used her free stay on other available dates. We even suggested that she give her free stay to a friend to use. This offer was not acceptable to this guest. Canceling 3 days prior to arrival and still being able to rebook for another date was to her the only acceptable option. If we made an exception for her on such short notice and were unable to rebook the room for the cancelled nights, we would be incurring a loss equal to the value of the original donation and then would be obligated to offer to additional nights doubling the cost to us. Asking us to incur such a sizable loss after making a heartfelt donation to a good cause was not reasonable to ask us to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We appreciated the exotic garden and environnement with several separate charming places and we almost felt at home ( warm welcome, limonade and cakes every time in the afternoon, ) .Our room had a hudge bed ,a little balcony and nice décoration ...
I loved to look at all those paintings on the walls all over the house !
It has been a very happy stay for both of us .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed here thru our 35 th anniversary. It couldn't have been more perfect. The whole staff was friendly and helpful without crowding us. The rooms are beautiful, updated and spotless. The breakfast was perfect and plentiful as well as the little extras, lemonade, chilled water bottles and bags/ towels for beach and more! The garden areas are private and it was nice to escape (fanasy fest hustle bustle) to dip in the pool or read a book in the hammock. Our key west trip was amazing, much of it was because of this excellent B&B, so worth the money.

Room Tip: Every room is amazing, we styled In two different ones (ours was booked for the last day and we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjkmaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlton
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The mermaid & the Alligator is the only place I will ever stay in Key west. The staff is AMAZING. They have thought of everything. You feel at home the minute you get there. The dogs are so well behaved and fun to play with. Gerri made some fabulous recomendations for us. Definitly worh the money!

Room Tip: The Bamboo room is removed from the main house...just steps away from the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexander City, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

The garden area is very nice which includes lots of plants, birds, and sitting area. The rooms were perfect. Overall, the experience could have been better if breakfast was extended and/or if lunch was served. It's better than staying in a DaysInn.

Room Tip: Location is key and if you don't want to stay in a hotel. Go in the off season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshyates1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
1,648 reviews
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#4 of 51 in Key West
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#2 of 51 in Key West
2,115 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coco Plum Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Property: The Mermaid & The Alligator
Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing