We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect home-away-from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mermaid & The Alligator

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Key West
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Mermaid & The Alligator
Ranked #4 of 77 Key West B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chalfont, pa
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect home-away-from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed here in late September for four nights. It is no wonder this b&b gets such rave reviews.The beautifully decorated room (Royal Poinciana) was clean, comfortable and COOL - most welcome after walking around in the humidity of Key West. Breakfast was served in the gorgeous outside setting, food was excellent and we found delightful conversation with some of the other guests (the charming John and Jonathan). I would have liked to have posted this review sooner and with more detail but sadly, my mother passed away shortly after our return from Key West. We would gladly return to Key West and would not hesitate to stay again at The Mermaid & The Alligator. Thanks to all who made our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleencameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    45
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
695
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

We spent 4 nights at the M&A and could not have had a better time! From the delicious breakfasts (French toast & Banana Pancakes were fantastic) to the beautiful gardens, our relaxing room, and our afternoon glass of wine, our experience was top shelf! A great location, the M&A is minutes away from any activity in KW! Geri was so helpful in setting up excursions and/or reservations! We'd highly recommend the M&A to anyone looking to get away, relax, have some fun while staying in a slice of paradise wrapped in a touch of home!

Room Tip: Treetop suite was excellent and from chatting with other guests all rooms sounded delightful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

I treated my mom to a mother/daughter trip to Key West (our first visit) and we stayed in the Bamboo Room, which is located in a cottage behind the main house and among the beautiful gardens, small pool and various cozy seating nooks. The room was extremely clean and comfortable, and quiet since it's situated off the main road. Service was without fault - the owners gave us dinner recommendations as we set out each night, and Geri and Rebecca were always friendly and helpful and took time to chat and just generally made us feel welcome. Breakfast was delicious - pancakes, Belgian waffles, frittatas - yum! Plenty of opportunity to meet your fellow guests at breakfast each day. And best of all - the two adorable hostesses that are Havana and Caya - two of the sweetest, friendliest pups you'll ever meet. The location was about three blocks from Duval, so off the beaten path but a quick walk to all the fun. I will admit the walk seemed long sometimes in the heat and humidity (we did not have a car and it was much warmer than we expected!), but I would not let that keep us from staying here again during our next visit to Key West!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Islandgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

My husband and I eloped to Key West, and stayed at the Mermaid and Alligator Inn for 5 nights. We stayed in the Caribbean Queen room, which was gorgeous, comfortable, spacious, charming and it had a private veranda. Niche gardens surround the Inn, so there are many hiding places to relax and be lazy. The Inn feels very welcoming and trusting; we wandered about, viewing interesting art work and artifacts, and felt welcomed to do so. Two friendly dogs often wandered with us, or simply came over to curl up at our feet and keep us company. The breakfasts were delicious and we had choices to make. Wine was set out in the early evening, which was such a treat after a day of touring. The staff helps make connection for rentals and reservations. When we could peek at other rooms, they were all beautiful. You cannot go wrong with this Inn... a MUST see and stay place!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waretown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
179 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I had the great pleasure (and good luck) of being able to book 4 nights in the middle of our week-long Key West visit. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, we figured that 4 nights was better than none. That was the best decision we made! Perfect place to relax, have a great breakfast, enjoy a glass of wine in the afternoon, and brew a cup of coffee before bed! The property grounds provided little niches of privacy throughout. If pressed to state the best thing about the M&A, I would have to say that Gerri (the concierge) tops the list. She provided us with information invaluable to making the most of our time in this great location. We already made our return reservations (which I guess explains why it was so difficult this year to book closer to our stay)! Thank you everyone for making our week so enjoyable and stress free! See you next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sun Room. We liked being able to look down into the gardens from our little balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

My husband and I had a fabulous experience at The Mermaid & The Alligator. We loved the location - we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go and had bikes delivered so we could ride to the beach. We loved the look and feel of the B&B - it was very zen. Gorgeous decor and we loved the abundance of plants/greenery in the pool/breakfast area. Also, very clean and well kept. Our room (The Garden Room) felt private, the bed was comfortable and had a wonderful shower. All staff were extremely nice and helpful - we got great recommendations on places to eat, etc. I really cannot say enough good things. We will definitely return next time we are in Key West!

Room Tip: We were very happy in the Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I cannot say enough good things about this utterly welcoming and charming B&B. I would never even think about staying anywhere else if and when we visit KW again.

The decor of our room and the common areas of the house was impeccable. The garden area was lush and just absolutely gorgeous. I loved exploring the house and the grounds and admiring all of the art and thoughtful details. We stayed in the Audobon room (highly recommended) and our bed and linens were so incredibly comfortable.

Breakfast and coffee in the morning were wonderful (served in the garden). Wine was served in the evenings, which we looked forward to each day, and I also loved the late night cookies and fully stocked water/soda fridge available at all times.

We truly looked forward to coming back to the B&B each afternoon to relax before gearing up for the night and my husband especially loved his daily siestas in the giant hammock. There are many different cozy nooks in the gardens and we also highly enjoyed the plunge pool.

I could keep going, but as a final note, I have to mention the sweet and adorable house pups, Caya and Havana, who made our stay even more memorable.

Everything was just impeccable and I can't wait to return some day soon!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Key West hotels
0.2 mi away
Almond Tree Inn
Almond Tree Inn
#1 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Southernmost Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
The Gardens Hotel
The Gardens Hotel
#2 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Parrot Key Hotel and Resort
0.3 mi away
Orchid Key Inn
Orchid Key Inn
#3 of 51 in Key West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ambrosia Key West Tropical Lodging
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mermaid & The Alligator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mermaid & The Alligator

Property: The Mermaid & The Alligator
Address: 729 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040-6423
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Key West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Key West
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the casual elegance and style of a more relaxed age. Our beautiful circa 1904 Victorian Home, located in the heart of Old Town Key West, offers the warm hospitality of a traditional bed & breakfast while providing our guest a place to relax, enjoy the ambiance, and even shut out the rest of the world if you choose. Join us and feel at home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Mermaid And The Alligator
The Mermaid & The Alligator Hotel Key West
The Mermaid & The Alligator Key West, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing